146 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice garlic bread. I used a combo of fresh Italian parsley, oregano, and chives because I have all 3 growning right now. I love the idea of freezing for later. I am going to make several batches to freeze just to be able to take advantage of the fresh herbs I have right now. Thanks for your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retired and Glad! September 05, 2008

Very tasty, but not as wonderful as I expected. The filling was a little too soggy for me, and I had to run the bread under the broiler to really crisp it up. I will try this again, but will use the method photographed by Coot226. Instead of making the slices throughout the loaf, I will slice the bread horizontally and spread the mixture on the two halves. I think this will be absolutely wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! September 02, 2008

Easy and Decadently Delicious! Didn't have any french bread, so we used refrigerated biscuit dough. We just piled on the garlic-cheese mixture, baked as directed the biscuit cannister, and voila! Garlic Cheesy Biscuits that were so very yummy. This recipe is a keeper - and I look forward to making it with french bread! Also, I had tons of leftover topping but it's because I didn't use a big loaf of french bread as written in the recipe. You may want to keep that in mind if you don't have the big french loaf bread on hand. Thanks Kittencal for sharing such a yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maeby August 31, 2008

We don't get Texas Toast here in Aus. so I bought a crusty load and sliced it thick and with the flavoured butter and baked in the oven this was great with our individual pizza's for lunch. Thank you Kittencal, made for ZAAR STARS TAG GAME.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 29, 2008

its my nephew's birthday today and i decided to make something different. instead of buying the ready made garlic bread i followed your recipe and voila! it came it really good... i also did your italian melt-in-your-mouth meatballs it's really awesome everybody liked it... thank you so much!!! hands down to you kittencal...more recipes to come :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BuTtAhPhLy August 27, 2008

Delicious!!! Will never buy store brand again...this was easy to make and SO MUCH BETTER! I make extra spread and freeze it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pear Tree August 17, 2008

This was excellent Garlic Bread. I did lightly toast the open faced loaf in the oven before I spread on the mixture.Crunchy all the way through this way. I also simply baked it open faced on a cookie sheet for ten minutes and a low broil for 1 1/2 minutes for color. Hands down the highlight at the dinner table exceeding the reviews on the Spaghetti sauce I spent two days making !! Oh yeah,I did'nt see the Oregano in the instructions so I still added it.Wow......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodieman June 27, 2008

I made this bread to go with Linda's Spaghetti Pie. Loved the flavors of the garlic and butter on the bread. I used 1 T. of garlic and it was good, but I may up it to 2 T. next time for even more flavor. The mayonnaise was really a nice touch also. Will be making this again soon! LOVE this one Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImACookingDiva June 21, 2008

Incredible. I really dont have much more to say than that. I made this with my goulash (which everyone raves about, its a favorite of everyone I cook for), and this bread stole the show. I've never gotten so many complements on something so simple and easy to make. So thank you, your recipe is perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave Oh June 13, 2008

Just Yummy! When picky DS asks for more, you know you've got a winner on your hands! LOVE IT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angel91805 June 08, 2008
Kittencal's Parmesan Garlic Bread or Garlic Toast