146 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I knew this would be excellent - as everything I've tried by you, Kittencal, has been marvelous. In order to get to the 2 tablespoons of fresh minced garlic you recommend it took 8 good sized cloves unlike some of the reviews who stated they only used three - perhaps where I live they make them smaller:) At any rate, there will be no other garlic bread paste used in our home from this day forward. Thank you again Kittencal for ALL your fantastic recipes.
7/16/11 Update - I prepared this for my DD and her husband tonight - I couldn't use garlic so instead used shallots and in place of parsley used fresh rosemary, what a completely different twist on this bread - as good as with garlic & parsley (if not better).

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo July 16, 2011

Really great garlic bread! I used only butter, didn't use salt because all we had was salted butter (as a pastry chef, this drives me nuts!), added some fresh rosemary (because we have a shrub that grows like crazy), a few splashes of lemon juice, and a pinch of pepper.

I mixed the spread 2 days before I needed it. I didn't want to store it in a plastic container because it would be ridiculous to get the garlic smell out of it. So I put the spread in a quart-sized freezer bag, pushed it all into a corner, and a put a twist-tie around bag at the top of the spread (what I do with all my pastry bags). When it was time for the bread, I snipped the corner, piped the spread, and smoothed it over with an offset spatula. I spread a thin layer on each side.

I like my garlic bread to be pretty toasty, so I baked my slices at 400 degrees, for about 4-5 minutes on each side. Then I put them under the BROILER for less than minute on each side. Crunchy and delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caffeine junkie January 06, 2013

Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MerelyMarie September 23, 2010

There is a very good reason why this recipe has 130 reviews, all 5 stars.........it is delicious and so easy to make! I used a very fat pain (French bread) and we both gobbled it up with our soup today for lunch.............naughty but VERY VERY nice! I made it exactly as posted and used fresh parsley from the garden with fresh local butter, divine thanks Kitten! Merci encore for another wonderful recipe. (Photos to be posted, here with watermarks or on your blog) :-) Karen/FT

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart August 10, 2010

This was delicious! I actually made it with 1/3 less fat margarine because my boyfriend has high cholesterol, and it was still fantastic. I can only imagine how much better it is with butter! Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SalsaGirl78 May 11, 2009

Very good. We reduced the amount of parmesan for our taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes January 19, 2015

Kittencal, you are a legend on this site! I am going through a number of your recipes to print off and make a cookbook of all your gems! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dtalarowski August 08, 2014

Excellent - loved the amount of garlic and the addition of the parmesan. Will be using this spread from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug March 31, 2014

Made mine as garlic toast using a loaf of Italian bread from the bakery. Garlic butter spread is delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj November 17, 2013

Will never use any other kind of garlic butter again. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzeeQ October 26, 2013
Kittencal's Parmesan Garlic Bread or Garlic Toast