15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Typical. Absolutely Typical. First of all my steak was a New York steak and it turned out superb. With the "typical" part that refers to many experiments tried using Kittencal's recipes that end up turning out spectacular. I bought this steak on sale at the store but kind of regretting it later knowing I don't have a gril but just a standard oven. This turned out as tender as a Fillet and was spectacular. Many thanks again for saving me Kittencal! My steak turned out tender and restaurant quality in my eyes thanks to your expertise. This is yet another "keeper" I'll be saving from you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seashorewalker January 24, 2010

Just what we were looking for!! After trying this recipe, I bought my daughter an iron skillet and here's the reason for my review - you need to know ahead of time that it's SMOKY when you're searing the steak and that is looks BURNT... but NEVER FEAR because it all turns out succulent in the end! I don't know if it's the resting under the foil... but it's magical and moist and our "go to" when the weather doesn't allow cooking outside! Kittencal, I've tried a few of your recipes, and, Girl, you got it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MacGuyver of the Kitchen February 07, 2014

Excellent recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norfolk08 March 24, 2013

I made this for my DH and I last night. They turned out perfect. I seared them in a cast iron pan then placed the entire thing in the oven . Sauteed some mushrooms and red onions to go along with the steak. Perfection!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook September 25, 2011

Decided to make steaks some other way than grill. I forgot to add the pepper and garlic powder while the meat was sitting out so I did this right before frying. Cooked in a nonstick frying pan and when it came time to transfer to the oven I placed the steaks in a greased glass dish. My mini thermometers did not work for some reason, so I guessed on the time. Even though they were well done (I like medium rare) these still had great flavor for only using oil, butter, garlic powder, and pepper. Served with Balsamic Sauteed Mushrooms. Made for Saucy Senoritas Family Picks ZWT5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Cherry Blossom June 10, 2009

This is the way they often cook steaks in restaurants, and it is a great method. Previous poster talked about leaving steak out. FYI: Food doesn't start to develop bacteria until it is at room temperature for 2 hours, not 1 hour. By the time your steak is out for 2 hrs. it will be at room temperature so there is no need to worry about bacteria or food poisoning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wholelottagall February 15, 2009

First of all you need to know that we have only ever cooked steaks on a grill...until now. My husband who is the self proclaimed "grill King" said "I like this better than on the grill. It is not as dry". If that's not a reason to make this, I don't know what is!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 04, 2015

My DH loves prime steaks. It is something he only eats in a fine restaurant the specializes in steak. This recipe has changed everything. Now I can make the meal we used to cost us $150. Steaks from Costco (they carry prime beef now) and a great bottle of wine. So nice to be able to cook this at home. My DH and the whole family LOVED IT! Thank you again Kittencal. I looked at my top 10 recipes and 5 or from you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chugar63 September 28, 2014

As always, knew I could count on Kittencal for advice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Psalmsome August 27, 2013

just did this and wow so juicy ,i had 3 bacon wrapped tenderloins one was prev cooked rare and frozen and defrosted the other two fresh no one could tell the difference. Thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattim4044 May 30, 2013
Kittencal's Pan-Seared Steak, Stove Top-To-Oven Method