Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Pan-Seared Steak, Stove Top-To-Oven Method Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Pan-Seared Steak, Stove Top-To-Oven Method

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2013

      Excellent recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      I made this for my DH and I last night. They turned out perfect. I seared them in a cast iron pan then placed the entire thing in the oven . Sauteed some mushrooms and red onions to go along with the steak. Perfection!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Typical. Absolutely Typical. First of all my steak was a New York steak and it turned out superb. With the "typical" part that refers to many experiments tried using Kittencal's recipes that end up turning out spectacular. I bought this steak on sale at the store but kind of regretting it later knowing I don't have a gril but just a standard oven. This turned out as tender as a Fillet and was spectacular. Many thanks again for saving me Kittencal! My steak turned out tender and restaurant quality in my eyes thanks to your expertise. This is yet another "keeper" I'll be saving from you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Decided to make steaks some other way than grill. I forgot to add the pepper and garlic powder while the meat was sitting out so I did this right before frying. Cooked in a nonstick frying pan and when it came time to transfer to the oven I placed the steaks in a greased glass dish. My mini thermometers did not work for some reason, so I guessed on the time. Even though they were well done (I like medium rare) these still had great flavor for only using oil, butter, garlic powder, and pepper. Served with Balsamic Sauteed Mushrooms. Made for Saucy Senoritas Family Picks ZWT5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2014

      My DH loves prime steaks. It is something he only eats in a fine restaurant the specializes in steak. This recipe has changed everything. Now I can make the meal we used to cost us $150. Steaks from Costco (they carry prime beef now) and a great bottle of wine. So nice to be able to cook this at home. My DH and the whole family LOVED IT! Thank you again Kittencal. I looked at my top 10 recipes and 5 or from you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      Just what we were looking for!! After trying this recipe, I bought my daughter an iron skillet and here's the reason for my review - you need to know ahead of time that it's SMOKY when you're searing the steak and that is looks BURNT... but NEVER FEAR because it all turns out succulent in the end! I don't know if it's the resting under the foil... but it's magical and moist and our "go to" when the weather doesn't allow cooking outside! Kittencal, I've tried a few of your recipes, and, Girl, you got it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      As always, knew I could count on Kittencal for advice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      just did this and wow so juicy ,i had 3 bacon wrapped tenderloins one was prev cooked rare and frozen and defrosted the other two fresh no one could tell the difference. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I made this the other day and it was the best tasting steak ever, including what I have had in restaurants! I am not a cook by any means, and even I didn't screw it up. My 7 year old hates steak but when she tried this, she said "yum! How did you get it so juicy?" I am making it again for my sister tonight! I added some onions to the pan when I flipped the steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Very good and easy to make. I added freshly picked chives to my butter before topping my steak with it. Had left over scallop potatoes from the night before and made some fresh creamed peas. Thanks for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      This is an excellent way to prepare steak! I used my cast iron frying pan to prepare my steaks. It was a great choice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This is the way they often cook steaks in restaurants, and it is a great method. Previous poster talked about leaving steak out. FYI: Food doesn't start to develop bacteria until it is at room temperature for 2 hours, not 1 hour. By the time your steak is out for 2 hrs. it will be at room temperature so there is no need to worry about bacteria or food poisoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      WOW! Is this ever good! I used 2 New Yorks. Now I understand why I would leave the steaks out for so long. It allowed the meat to be the same temp.all over, not colder in the middle, as when I usually pan fry a steak. Sometimes the steaks that you buy are maybe a little thicker in the middle. It seared so beautifully.It was delicious, that's all I care about. Thanks Kitten, for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      While this recipe is quite delicious , I must admit that I shudder at the thought of leaving a piece of beef out at room temperature for an hour and a half. The max amount of time that ANY food should be in the "danger zone" is one hour and I'd rather not even get too close to that. I added garlic and onion powder with the pepper according to our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Pan-Seared Steak, Stove Top-To-Oven Method

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.0
     
    Calories from Fat 226
    10%
    Total Fat 25.1 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 101.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boneless beef steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes