Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Oven-Roasted Beef Short Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Oven-Roasted Beef Short Ribs

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2012

      Looks like a solid basic recipe, but the name is misleading. These are braised short ribs, not oven-roasted. Oven roasting is a dry heat method while this recipe calls for cooking in liquid. Just letting you know because the recipe is coming up in the wrong searches. People searching for braised short ribs should give this recipe a go.

      Take care...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      Without a doubt, the best Beef Short Ribs I've ever tasted/made! I must thank you for each wonderful, yummy rib. Ms. Kittencal, you just keep giving and giving. WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      I'm giving this 5 stars, but I actually made quite a few changes. Perhaps some of my changes may be helpful to others. Here's what I did: I used 2 packages of short ribs, 9 ribs total so I used only one large onion and about 1 tsp thyme (since I planned on adding rosemary also). The garlic, mushrooms and liquid measurements I used full amounts. I didn't have seasoning salt so in the flour mixture I put Santa Maria seasoning ~1tsp, garlic pepper ~1/2 tsp,and granulated garlic ~1tsp. I rubbed the ribs before dredging with Weber Roasted Garlic and Herb but didn't do that step ahead with enough time to let them sit with the rub. I had very little oil in the pot after browning the ribs, so I didn't drain any off. I put all the ribs in a single layer bone side up when I returned them to the pan, smooshed the halved (they were large) button mushrooms into the liguid as much as possible and laid 2 4-5 inch rosemary sprigs across the top. Cooking time was 2 1/2 hours where the smallest pieces were ready to fall off the bone. When I lifted the ribs out, the pan drippings were a greasy sludge with little liquid, certainly not enough for noodles or mashed potatoes. So I skimmed all the grease I could off, prepared a packet of mushroom gravy mix and then added the the "sludge", which included the mushrooms, back in. This made plenty of gravy for pasta or potatoes. The portions seem very large. Served with pasta as we did, 2 ribs per person was as much as we could eat (and we have healthy appetites!). This was yummy and quite easy to prepare, a definite do-again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      Another outstanding recipe Kittencal! We loved these short ribs, and I'm happy I bought another package of ribs to make sure I had enough - I now have another complete dinner! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      With the cooler weather, I was longing for the short ribs my mom used to cook. This recipe came the closest. I refrigerated them overnight so I could remove a lot of the fat. Served with mashed potatoes. Really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Outstanding! The aroma while the short ribs were cooking made me us so hungry we couldn't wait to eat the dish. This would be a great dish to make for company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      This is very good!! My hubby thanks you from the bottom of his heart :) My short ribs were very fatty so there was a ton of grease, next time I will try & trim them better. Tough to do on these tho. The left overs were yummy too, I managed to skim off more of the fat before warming so I enjoyed the second time around more. I did follow your recipe to the tee & am glad I did. Thanks for another top recipe Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      There are no words to describe how wonderful these ribs were. I feel bad for posting a rating as the DH and I made these over 2 years ago and quite often since then. Thanks Kittencal. You have really helped us break away from traditional BBQ!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Oven-Roasted Beef Short Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (617 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2518.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1857
    73%
    Total Fat 206.4 g
    317%
    Saturated Fat 89.6 g
    448%
    Cholesterol 430.9 mg
    143%
    Sodium 731.4 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 90.5 g
    181%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites