Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Oven-Baked Brown Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Oven-Baked Brown Rice

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2014

      I have never been a person to like brown rice but this changed my mind. I loved it! I made 1/2 of the recipe and it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Loved this:) I cut recipe in half- should have made the full amount because we could have eaten every bit!! I had Swanson Thai flavor chicken broth in the cupboard so I used that. Thanks Kittencal- this will be a regular recipe here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      Kittencal hits another home run! This simple recipe is my new go to for brown rice. It actually is a Pilaf recipe. I was worried about the scarcity of water, but it turned out perfectly, light, fluffy, and flavorsome. I used a Corningware casserole dish. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      I got some Red Cargo Rice and didn't know how to cook it, but figuring it's similar to brown rice I tried this. It worked really well, didn't come out gummy or anything. Now if I could just figure out how to make it taste better lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Yummy! I love brown rice but have not had the best of luck cooking it with great results. This turned out perfect - I'm thrilled. I followed the recipe exactly. I will be making this recipe many more times. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This rice turned out fantastic. I've never prepared brown rice before, but always heard it was tedious to do over the stove. Now I never even have to try! I'll be using this method often. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      Another great recipe Kittencal! My husband likes the idea of eating brown rice, since it's healthier but it can be difficult to prepare. This turned out perfectly & it had a nice flavor. I will 'make again!'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      This was fantastic. I've always had problems with the rice being under done, and frankly, not very tasty. This is an excellent base for what ever your needs, I've used it with Asian dishes as well as a side for steak and tomato gravy. I can't recommend this enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I was about to give up on brown rice. I've tried to make it twice and I never cooked it long enough or I had lots of liquid and still crunchy grains. This was PERFECT! It made the whole house smell great. I didn't have a bay leaf and used Vegeta for my seasoning salt, using only 1 tsp as Vegeta can be rather salty. The rice was (is) so yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Very good! I also used vegetable broth. Thanks for the posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      Perfect brown rice!!! Used vegetable broth and 2 large bay leaves. Loved this!! Thanks Kit! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Oven-Baked Brown Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.2
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    19%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 88.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites