164 Reviews

yuum, thank you! i tried frying and baking them, and preferred the less oily baked ones which had a nice crispy scent too. i think i prefer tempura onions which are a bit lighter and crispier...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lightawake October 17, 2007

I cannot believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet! Let me start by saying that my family and I don't even like onions. For some strange reason, however, this recipe appealed to me and I just had to try it. Am I ever glad I did! We managed to scarf down each and every crisp, delicious patty - with the exception of the few I reluctantly shared with my MIL. I have brought these to several family functions just so I could sit back and revel in the raves and compliments. heheh Of course, I do humble myself just enough to let everyone know that it isn't MY recipe. I have found that by using my electric griddle, I am better able to control how much oil is absorbed by these patties - plus I am able to make much more at one time. This is especially helpful seeing as how they are otherwise gobbled up as soon as they are cool enough. Using the griddle, I am able to enjoy seeing a pile of them, if only for a moment. Thank you for posting this dangerously delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaM-M September 11, 2007

These are beyond fabulous!! Could not stop eating them! The batter seemed a little thin, so we just added a bit more flour - that worked perfectly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babygirl0109 August 14, 2007

With so many rave reviews I was really looking forward to having these, but I seemed to have the same problems that AndreaVT96 did. 1) The batter seemed very thin 2) They really soaked up the oil. The taste was pretty good; I used Vidalia onions. But they were much too greasy for my tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mailbelle July 24, 2007

Oh my! These were amazing!! I made them just for myself (as dh doesn't like onions) & froze some for later. I had friends come over & popped them in the oven 375 for a few minutes & they were still wonderful! One bite & my friend just had to have the recipe. This is one of my all-time favorite recipes so far from zaar. Thank you again & again kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej July 23, 2007

After so many high ratings, I'm not sure why this recipe didn't work for me. My husband and I love onions, and I was really hoping it would work. The taste was not an issue, they did have a good taste. I followed the directions exactly, however once all mixed, my mixture was not especially thick. It just slid off the spoon into the oil. And I followed the directions of only adding a bit of oil at a time, however they soaked up a tremendous amount of oil and even when drained on paper towels, they just never were crispy, just full of oil. If I could have found a way to get them to fry without so much oil and could make them crispy, then I would have rated these much higher.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaVT96 June 28, 2007

Oh wow! Kittencal, you are my hero! These were great, and my boyfriend gobbled them up like candy. They are VERY filling though and probably very fattening right? So I would recommend to everyone to have them as a decadent fat-rich side for an otherwise low-fat meal. Oh, I have to confess. As a new cook, I am always making mistakes, and this time I made a big one of frying these patties in olive oil instead of vegetable. DO NOT USE OLIVE OIL. It does not turn out well. I threw the oil out and started over, and then they were delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexis L Sutter June 27, 2007

These are good, but I would like to add something to spice them up for additional flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizmk21 June 26, 2007

Just wanted to add my two cents here. Absolutely wonderful! I've had a horrible week, the kids are in bed, and I was hungry but for what I wasn't sure. So I fried up some of these, and they ended up being my whole dinner. Just a note to those trying for the first time...small ones are better. For some reason, when I made a larger patty, it didn't come out the same. Other than that, wonderful! Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katlinn May 18, 2007
Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes