164 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! My family just gobbled them up, and asked for more! (I made another type of latke at the same time - sweet potato - which was also very good, but this won the contest hands down.) Thanks so much for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BookPub December 13, 2007

Loved this recipe, thanks for sharing. Will be making often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingbee November 30, 2007

These are great! I cooked them on low heat for a couple minutes per side so the onions were cooked all the way through. I served them with sour cream on the side. I will double the cayenne next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa28 November 29, 2007

Yummy! I used one sweet and one yellow onion (BIG ones) and the green onion. Followed everything else to the letter (used regular salt instead of seasoning salt). So crispy and easy to chomp on. Big hit for the Sunday football game too. Next time, I will most likely increase the cayenne to 1/4 or maybe even 1/2 teasp - just personal preference. Thanks for the great "keeper"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb & James November 20, 2007

Oh, my! These are sweet, tasty, and absolutely scrumptious. I used white onions, low-fat milk, regular salt, double the cayenne and everything else as listed, frying the patties in vegetable oil. I'm guessing I got around 30 patties, but I was eating them as they were coming out of the pan so I'm not sure. I cooked them for around 5 to 6 minutes per side. They were a little hard to flip, but after tasting the first one I got better at it as I couldn't wait to have more. Quite filling, but then most things are if you eat enough of it. :) Delicious cold from the fridge, too. Thanks for an amazing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soobeeoz November 06, 2007

Totally delicious!!! A definite keeper. My husband could not stop eating them! He wants me to make them again tonight :) They were wonderful with a dab of sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Palmtreesbend October 30, 2007

We are onion FIENDS so we loved these! I think next time I'll use a little less oil, but they browned up nicely and are they ever addicting! Thanks for the treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Felina October 28, 2007

OMG!!!! Kit! These are out of this world! I have had this recipe in my "try this" cookbook for ever so long, and I finally made them. Outstanding just as they are, but the possibilities here are endless!! Thanks for another GREAT recipe!! Just an additional note, I made these again, adding left over mashed potato to the batter, until it was a nice thick consistency, and YUM! Just perfect! Next... mashed sweet potato!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueguitargirl1985 October 27, 2007

Flavor was wonderful but I think I used too much oil. Will try again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ursie October 27, 2007

I feel awful having to only give one star after all of the rave reviews. I followed the recipe to a T and they just were not liked by my family. My batter was not thick at all and they were very soft inside. I dont know what I could do to fix that, but I dont think I'll be trying. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buckeye Mom October 19, 2007
Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes