Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2006

      Oh my goodness, made these tonight for dinner and by the time we sat down to dinner I was full. I had to make sure they were good. :-) My hubby who doesn't like onions still gave them a 4 stars. I made a few changes, I did the onions in my little food processor so I had to add more flour and didn't use any cayenne. I can't wait to take some of the leftovers to my sisters house. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      Have made these with regular onions and with half regular and half sweet onions (vidalias). Both very good and something different .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Girl!!! These are incredible!! I made them every day this week. My father BEGS ME to make these. The taste kind of reminds me of an onion ring but much much better..thanks so much for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      Will make these often to keep my daughter happy!!Great taste. A real keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      I have made these a few times now and they are sooooooo good and sooooo addicting! Its very hard to not eat all of the while you are cooking them. Thanks Kitten for great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      Yummy! The idea of onion patties weren't very appealing to me, but from the moment they were out of the pan, I just couldn't stop popping them into my mouth. I used some garlic salt in place of regular salt, and added quite a bit of paprika because I didn't have any cayenne, but they turned out really good. My only gripe would be that they DO soak up quite a bit of oil - which made them all the yummier of course ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      You know that sound Homer Simpson makes when he's thinking about food? That's the only way I can describe these!! I made the mistake of making them on my griddle and they turned out soft, like pancakes. After my husband and I had eaten half the batch that way, I threw the rest into my cast iron frying pan and re-cooked them to their rightful crispiness. Interesting how that extra little bit of grease can make them taste even better!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Easy to make, perfect with out 4th of July holiday BBQ meal. I forgot the sugar but I think they were superb as they were without it. I also added just a touch more cayenne pepper because we like it so much. My 7 year old son, who loves onions, couldn't get enough of these! Thanks! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      We will make these again,they are good.I just put very little oil in the pan and it worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      if you like onions, these are wonderful! perhaps due to the fact that i used a food processor to chop the onions, which actually makes them so small it is almost a sauce, my batter was to thin when i followed the recipe. when i added more flour though it turned out perfectly. GREAT side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      These were great! Make sure you keep a constant temperature on your pan. I will make these on my electric griddle next time. Great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      WOW!!! I am kicking myself that I did not make these sooner! They are fantastic and simple to boot! I used three green onions, the optional garlic and black pepper. Of course I used the seasoned salt. My family went nuts! I am definitely going to invest in a chopper so we can have these more often. Dh said they reminded him of something his granny used to make. All I can say is the flavor and texture is fantastic!!! I have a feeling I will be making these ALOT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      I just used PAM spray with no other oil in a non-stick pan. Worked out fine. Great flavor and was well received by my family. I do think it needs a sauce (beyond ketchep which wasn't bad) of some sort to add a finsihing elegant touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      The recipe was so simple yet the taste was very good. These were best eaten hot out of the pan. When they sat and became cold, they tended to be a little greasy. Hmmm, maybe next time I will try them hot from the pan topped with dollop of chilled apple sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      Great sidedish, hosted a party of 3 adults and 3 kids, and they were devoured in no time!! Far surpassed a dish I had tried from a fine cooking magazine. Used the vidalia onion, provided a nice sweet taste, not overly strong. Guests left with the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Oh wow. There is a reason these are currently in teh top 20 recipes for all of zaar. These are excellent. I used sweet vidalia onion (1 huge one), whole wheat pastry flour, and skim milk. I used cooking spray on a griddle and we ate them with my homemade applesauce. So fabulous! Even the picky 6 year old ate one. Enough said!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      Absolutely loved them! As a garlic lover, the only thing I did differently, was to mince fresh garlic in with the onions. A real keeper! Thanks, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      These were GREAT, Kittencal! Onion-loving hubby really loved these! I got about 16 3-4 inch patties with this recipe. I used 1% milk and used cooking spray on a nonstick griddle pan so we could enjoy these and not feel so guilty afterwards! :) This worked well and, like other reviewers have said, they are like onion rings without all the work! Thanks for a definite "keeper", Kit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      Oooh - these are really good. I used fresh chives from the garden as I didn't have any green onions - otherwise, I made them as written. My DH was delighted - he thought they were terrific too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      These taste great without a doubt! But I had no flour (silly me) so I used a baking mix and I used the same measurements as for the flour and my patties didn't hold together very well, so I had a hard time making these at first, so I added in more baking mix and that seemed to help them stay together.And I think you really have to be careful in how much oil you use to fry these as they do take in A LOT of oil when cooking like Kittencal warns so I had to remove some of the oil with the first batch. I was eating them as I took them out of the pan they were delicious. Also I dont know about everyone else but it took me a while to chop up all those onions and I think it would have made it a lot easier if I had a food chopper type thing, so I don't know if I would make these all the time but they would be a great treat once in a while. I have to say I just found this site a couple day's ago and I think it is the best recipe site on the web. Thanks Kittencal for all of your great recipes ( I have made quite a few of yours already).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.0
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    10%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 278.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes