Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on May 15, 2007

      Yeah these were outstanding! I ate a few while cooking then wasn't hungry when the rest of my meal was done! They were super easy too, I will definitely be making these often. Thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      I've made this several times for company. I end up sharing the recipe every time. I go by the recipe but omit the green onion and sprinkle Tony's Chacheres (cajun seasoning) on top instead of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      Splurge of a recipe the way these absorb oil! However, it is not necessary to use much if you don't mind them being less crunchy. Be careful with substituting anything, this recipe is picky. I reccommend seasoning salts over normal salt. Thanks <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      Kittencal...I was looking for an interesting side dish to go along with grilled chicken sandwiches... my husband immediately requested a double batch hoping to snack on the leftovers...needless to say, they were a major hit...I had to use olive oil, because we didn't have any other on hand...I'm sure there is a good reason for not using it, but fortunately they cooked well, and tasted fine to us... I have a feeling this recipe is going to get a lot of use by our family...thank you for sharing this unique and wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      These remind me so much of onion rings. They make a nice snack. I will definitely try it with zucchini one day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      Delicious! We left out the green onion (didn't have one) and replaced a bit of the flour with masa harina (we've been adding it to almost everything lately). The two of us ate them all in no time flat. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      These are delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      having read all the reviews i decided to try this out,,,,OMG this was fantastic. as i did not have cayenne pepper, i used the red pepper flakes, and it worked fine. used regular salt and added some spices, worked fine. well when the finished product came on tho the dinner table. and there where 15 of us... not one did not want seconds....they loved it and the four pieces left are right in front of me and im finishing them off as i type this.... this is an outstanding recipe.. dont be afraid to try it , its easy and if you follow the recipe,,,,it will come out great....what a pleasure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      OMG! These are incredible! I made them tonight, and couldn't quit eating them....thanks for ruining my diet...I followed the recipe exactly...We have company coming over for finger foods/appetizers Sunday afternoon, and I'm going to make them again. Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Made these last night.... there was only one problem... We were full but wanted more! lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Had 2 problems with these..#1 didnt make enough..LOL..#2 and didnt allow to drain oil enough..both my fault not the recipes..Thanks again..served with catfish..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      These patties are DELICIOUS! Would make these again and again. Everyone loved it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      Not that this recipe needs another great review, but you are getting one anyways. I was a little iffy on the whole idea, but after reading all the reviews I had to try it. They were fantastic. I think next time I will dice them a little more, I didn't find them as crispy I thought, but I'm pretty sure its because I didn't chop them fine enough. Thanks again for the great new addition to my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      Excellant patties!! I used sweet mayan onions, and used less oil than called for...I just coated the bottom of the pan with the oil, and that seemed to be enough..added a bit more oil when I flipped it. When eaten with ketchup they tasted just like onion rings! I will make this again in the future....THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      This was amazing! And so easy and quick, I'd recommend it even if you're not hte biggest onion lover. Tanisa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      I made these a few times now, each time they turned out excellent. I scaled them down each time to use about a cup of onions. My mother said they tasted like onion ring patties. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      didn't fry them enough [not crispy brown, just lightly browned, like a pancake], but still delicious and devoured by the family - i only got to eat 2! tastes like really good hush puppies...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Great recipe! I own a school cafeteria and I'm always looking for tasty ways to introduce vegetable-based food into mexican youth. Easy to make, affordable and god, are they tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      I made these a few weeks ago with high expectations considering the reviews. They were okay just not what I was expecting. I could only eat 2 same for dh. My kids wouldnt even try them, although they do eat onions. Probably wont make again since the recipe makes so many and they were wasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Oh, these were great, absolutely loved the flavors and crispiness, kind of like onion rings but better. Served them with sloppy joes #82944.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.0
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    10%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 278.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes