Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2007

      Delicious! My family just gobbled them up, and asked for more! (I made another type of latke at the same time - sweet potato - which was also very good, but this won the contest hands down.) Thanks so much for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      Loved this recipe, thanks for sharing. Will be making often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      These are great! I cooked them on low heat for a couple minutes per side so the onions were cooked all the way through. I served them with sour cream on the side. I will double the cayenne next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Yummy! I used one sweet and one yellow onion (BIG ones) and the green onion. Followed everything else to the letter (used regular salt instead of seasoning salt). So crispy and easy to chomp on. Big hit for the Sunday football game too. Next time, I will most likely increase the cayenne to 1/4 or maybe even 1/2 teasp - just personal preference. Thanks for the great "keeper"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      Oh, my! These are sweet, tasty, and absolutely scrumptious. I used white onions, low-fat milk, regular salt, double the cayenne and everything else as listed, frying the patties in vegetable oil. I'm guessing I got around 30 patties, but I was eating them as they were coming out of the pan so I'm not sure. I cooked them for around 5 to 6 minutes per side. They were a little hard to flip, but after tasting the first one I got better at it as I couldn't wait to have more. Quite filling, but then most things are if you eat enough of it. :) Delicious cold from the fridge, too. Thanks for an amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Totally delicious!!! A definite keeper. My husband could not stop eating them! He wants me to make them again tonight :) They were wonderful with a dab of sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      We are onion FIENDS so we loved these! I think next time I'll use a little less oil, but they browned up nicely and are they ever addicting! Thanks for the treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      OMG!!!! Kit! These are out of this world! I have had this recipe in my "try this" cookbook for ever so long, and I finally made them. Outstanding just as they are, but the possibilities here are endless!! Thanks for another GREAT recipe!! Just an additional note, I made these again, adding left over mashed potato to the batter, until it was a nice thick consistency, and YUM! Just perfect! Next... mashed sweet potato!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Flavor was wonderful but I think I used too much oil. Will try again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I feel awful having to only give one star after all of the rave reviews. I followed the recipe to a T and they just were not liked by my family. My batter was not thick at all and they were very soft inside. I dont know what I could do to fix that, but I dont think I'll be trying. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      yuum, thank you! i tried frying and baking them, and preferred the less oily baked ones which had a nice crispy scent too. i think i prefer tempura onions which are a bit lighter and crispier...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

    • on September 11, 2007

      I cannot believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet! Let me start by saying that my family and I don't even like onions. For some strange reason, however, this recipe appealed to me and I just had to try it. Am I ever glad I did! We managed to scarf down each and every crisp, delicious patty - with the exception of the few I reluctantly shared with my MIL. I have brought these to several family functions just so I could sit back and revel in the raves and compliments. heheh Of course, I do humble myself just enough to let everyone know that it isn't MY recipe. I have found that by using my electric griddle, I am better able to control how much oil is absorbed by these patties - plus I am able to make much more at one time. This is especially helpful seeing as how they are otherwise gobbled up as soon as they are cool enough. Using the griddle, I am able to enjoy seeing a pile of them, if only for a moment. Thank you for posting this dangerously delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      These are beyond fabulous!! Could not stop eating them! The batter seemed a little thin, so we just added a bit more flour - that worked perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      With so many rave reviews I was really looking forward to having these, but I seemed to have the same problems that AndreaVT96 did. 1) The batter seemed very thin 2) They really soaked up the oil. The taste was pretty good; I used Vidalia onions. But they were much too greasy for my tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      Oh my! These were amazing!! I made them just for myself (as dh doesn't like onions) & froze some for later. I had friends come over & popped them in the oven 375 for a few minutes & they were still wonderful! One bite & my friend just had to have the recipe. This is one of my all-time favorite recipes so far from zaar. Thank you again & again kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      After so many high ratings, I'm not sure why this recipe didn't work for me. My husband and I love onions, and I was really hoping it would work. The taste was not an issue, they did have a good taste. I followed the directions exactly, however once all mixed, my mixture was not especially thick. It just slid off the spoon into the oil. And I followed the directions of only adding a bit of oil at a time, however they soaked up a tremendous amount of oil and even when drained on paper towels, they just never were crispy, just full of oil. If I could have found a way to get them to fry without so much oil and could make them crispy, then I would have rated these much higher.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Oh wow! Kittencal, you are my hero! These were great, and my boyfriend gobbled them up like candy. They are VERY filling though and probably very fattening right? So I would recommend to everyone to have them as a decadent fat-rich side for an otherwise low-fat meal. Oh, I have to confess. As a new cook, I am always making mistakes, and this time I made a big one of frying these patties in olive oil instead of vegetable. DO NOT USE OLIVE OIL. It does not turn out well. I threw the oil out and started over, and then they were delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      These are good, but I would like to add something to spice them up for additional flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      Just wanted to add my two cents here. Absolutely wonderful! I've had a horrible week, the kids are in bed, and I was hungry but for what I wasn't sure. So I fried up some of these, and they ended up being my whole dinner. Just a note to those trying for the first time...small ones are better. For some reason, when I made a larger patty, it didn't come out the same. Other than that, wonderful! Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.0
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    10%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 278.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites