164 Reviews

OMG! These are way crispier and tastier than any potato latke I've ever made. I used brown rice flour, 1/2 teaspoon of guar gum, 1 tablespoon of sugar, no green onion, cashew milk and an egg and they were absolute perfection. I would think, if you're not successful with them, your pan isn't hot enough. Thanks for sharing Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef# 616082 May 11, 2009

I love so many of Kittencal's recipes, but this one just did not work for me at.all. I followed the recipe to a T and measured the onions with a measuring cup since I had large onions. They fell apart in the pan like CRAZY and then when I went to clean the pan, oh my was it a disaster. When they were done they tasted really mediocre, probably because they fell apart and didn't cook in patties like they're supposed to. Anyway this recipe just didn't work for me, but I do definitely still love Kittencal's recipes -- thank you for posting!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annissa April 22, 2009

Loved them! Oh they were sooo good. Will definitely make them again. I didn't have any problem with the batter. Crispy is definitely better for these so don't be afraid to let them cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiger7lady February 08, 2009

OH THESE are GOOD! I have kept forgetting to try these but they are worthy of 5 stars for sure. The only change I made was to double the cayenne pepper. Thank you. For anyone that is finding the batter runny, I suggest that you measure the onions in a cup than just relying on 3 onions as our onions sizes vary. I did this the second time and all the other times after actually measuring them.And also, listen to Kittencal, if you try to make them bigger than a tbsp. they do not taste the same. Live &learn!(lol)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellbee February 07, 2009

Kitten, I have made several of your recipies and have raved about them all but to my surprize I can't about this one. I made it to the letter of the recipe and the batter was not thick it was runny.I used three onions as recommended and when I fried them they fell apart when flipping them. Sorry I can't give you five stars on this one as I have on everything else of yours that I've tried.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy Jase February 05, 2009

Yet another great recipe! We tried baking these, but it didn't work out. I think our batter was too thin. I did pan fry them. I only regret that my BF's friends pop in and I only got one for all my hard work. They got rave reviews thou. Thank you very much for post Kitten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre January 03, 2009

Delicious, but soaked up a ton of oil. Made the insides of the patties very mushy. The outsides were nice and crunchy however.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew Mollmann December 23, 2008

AWESOME. If I had any this good throughout my youth, I sure don't remember.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrairieHarpy December 21, 2008

These were good. A little more Pancakeyer than I thought...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rennug November 28, 2008

When I told my teen daughter what I was making she was dubious but after one bite was hooked! These are very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phantambantam November 07, 2008
Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes