Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2009

      OMG! These are way crispier and tastier than any potato latke I've ever made. I used brown rice flour, 1/2 teaspoon of guar gum, 1 tablespoon of sugar, no green onion, cashew milk and an egg and they were absolute perfection. I would think, if you're not successful with them, your pan isn't hot enough. Thanks for sharing Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I love so many of Kittencal's recipes, but this one just did not work for me at.all. I followed the recipe to a T and measured the onions with a measuring cup since I had large onions. They fell apart in the pan like CRAZY and then when I went to clean the pan, oh my was it a disaster. When they were done they tasted really mediocre, probably because they fell apart and didn't cook in patties like they're supposed to. Anyway this recipe just didn't work for me, but I do definitely still love Kittencal's recipes -- thank you for posting!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Loved them! Oh they were sooo good. Will definitely make them again. I didn't have any problem with the batter. Crispy is definitely better for these so don't be afraid to let them cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      OH THESE are GOOD! I have kept forgetting to try these but they are worthy of 5 stars for sure. The only change I made was to double the cayenne pepper. Thank you. For anyone that is finding the batter runny, I suggest that you measure the onions in a cup than just relying on 3 onions as our onions sizes vary. I did this the second time and all the other times after actually measuring them.And also, listen to Kittencal, if you try to make them bigger than a tbsp. they do not taste the same. Live &learn!(lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Kitten, I have made several of your recipies and have raved about them all but to my surprize I can't about this one. I made it to the letter of the recipe and the batter was not thick it was runny.I used three onions as recommended and when I fried them they fell apart when flipping them. Sorry I can't give you five stars on this one as I have on everything else of yours that I've tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Yet another great recipe! We tried baking these, but it didn't work out. I think our batter was too thin. I did pan fry them. I only regret that my BF's friends pop in and I only got one for all my hard work. They got rave reviews thou. Thank you very much for post Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Delicious, but soaked up a ton of oil. Made the insides of the patties very mushy. The outsides were nice and crunchy however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      AWESOME. If I had any this good throughout my youth, I sure don't remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      These were good. A little more Pancakeyer than I thought...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      When I told my teen daughter what I was making she was dubious but after one bite was hooked! These are very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Wonderfully, decadently, naughtily scrumptious! And very easy to follow instructions. I minced my onion in a mini processor, used only one tablespoon of (brown) sugar, omitted the cayenne pepper (wouldn't have been able to eat these with it in!), used fresh minced garlic, grindings of black pepper and low fat milk. And I fried them in peanut oil. Great recipe, KITTENCAL: thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Heaven on earth if you ask me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Loved the oniony flavor! I halved the recipe and it made part of a nice dinner. Thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Added in a bit of curry powder too. My man gives this 5 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      These are great! everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Made these to go with our burgers for dinner. Quite a few of them were gone even before the burger patties. Even my 6 year old loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      WOW! I usually make potato latkes but these are sooooo much better. This is definitely a keeper! I bought some of that onion ring sauce that has the horseradish in it from the store and these are absolutely amazing! Thanks kitten! Linz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

    • on July 21, 2008

      I used the suggestion to replace 1/4 c milk with an egg and it was great. I was a bit nervous that these would come out tasting like raw onions and was skeptical to try it out. After going back to this recipe a few times I decided to give it a try. The onions cooked beautifully and did not taste raw at all. My husband requested that I make these on Hannukah instead of traditional potato latkes. I used much less oil than recommended and they came out delicious. I sprayed the pan with Pam and just used a bit of oil with each batch. I froze the leftovers and then reheated them in the toaster oven and they were just as good as the day I made them. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      i looove onion and that was ok but wont do it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.0
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    10%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 278.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites