164 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very good. I didn't have any green onion so I didn't put that in. As I was making it, I realized that I was pretty much making onion rings except the onions were chopped up and not in rings. I will never make onion rings again, cause these were much easier and faster - yet tasted the same. I also made a spicy dip to go with them by mixing Miracle Whip, horseradish, and cayenne pepper together. It tasted like the sauce at the restaurants for their onion blossoms.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrandiNDJ January 18, 2009

These were quite good a little pancake like another reviewer mentioned but probably that was because of how much batter was used in relation to onion. They still didn't get as crispy as I would have liked but again I think that may have been the amount of batter. I made them gluten free using Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour Mix #1. I think the green onion would have been good in these and would add it if I make these again. I used regular white/yellow cooking onions, white sugar, gf baking powder, garlic salt, pinch cayenne, plain rice milk, & canola oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 14, 2010

Great recipe; I tried popping these in the oven as another reviewer had suggested (15 minutes on one side, then 10 minutes on the other). To my dismay, the batter felt thin when I spooned them onto the cool, oiled baking sheet. Upon turning them, I found that the oil hadn't been absorbed and rather clung onto the patties, which felt more like crepes with their thin edges. Once the patties were done cooking, I popped them onto a hot skillet; that helped a bit with the texture. As I would like to limit the calorie intake in my household, I think I'll try the baked version again but up the flour content and shorten the baking time and finish cooking on a skillet next time. Also, I found the patties a tad sweet for my taste (I did not use sweet onions - not easy to find in my new home above the Arctic Circle) so I might lower the sugar by 1/2 a tablespoon next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FuzzyKiwi June 17, 2009

I needed to find a way to use up masses of green onions I chopped for anther recipe, but didn't use. I've made these exactly as written before and have them 5 stars. Decided I could use kittencals recipe as a base. So, used all green onions, and all I had was rice milk, so that's what I used. I had a little cold white rice in the fridge, so just sprinkled 1/4 cup in too. Followed the rest of the recipe as written. It was great. Might just use rice milk again and save a few calories! Hee hee..not that a few calories will matter in this wonderful fried recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall June 28, 2014

Update: Still delicious. Thick thick batter, I am not sure why a few have difficulty with it, use dry and wet measuring cups and the milk is just enough to moisten the batter. oh were these good. (are..im still eating them lol) Thanks so much for the recipe. Made for the zaar cookbooks game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba June 14, 2014

Been meaning to try this recipe for years. Glad I finally did.
I fried heaping teaspoons of the batter an they came out more like little fritters. Added a pinch of cayenne. They taste like onion rings or maybe an onion blossom. Next time I will maybe serve them with some kind of creamy dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clean Plate Club March 05, 2013

Very good!! Made a bunch and put them in the freezer ...... looking forward to seeing how they taste warmed up. Will be making these again, many times! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
govt45 December 17, 2012

I'm not going to rate stars for this. I cannot seem to get over the baking powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delenn August 03, 2012

YUM!! I am not Jewish, but was invited to a Hanukkah celebration and needed a traditional dish that not everyone else would bring. I thought these looked yummy and very easy to make. These were amazing! And, so easy! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette NC December 23, 2011

I know you don't need another 5 star review, but I couldn't let it go without thanking Kitten for ANOTHER great recipe!! Because of all of the people who thought the batter was a little thin I went with 2/3 cup milk as a precaution but I don't think it would have been necessary. I will note that I made a few for us to taste to see if we were even going to like them...obviously we did...then waited another 1/2 hour or so to make the rest. It did seem like the batter was a little thinner after sitting awhile. Perhaps this was the problem some of the reviewers had. I served with Blooming Onion sauce # 70382. We'll be doing this again and again!! I'm anxious to see if they reheat as well as everyone says they do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrirod June 29, 2011
Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes