Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2009

      These were very good. I didn't have any green onion so I didn't put that in. As I was making it, I realized that I was pretty much making onion rings except the onions were chopped up and not in rings. I will never make onion rings again, cause these were much easier and faster - yet tasted the same. I also made a spicy dip to go with them by mixing Miracle Whip, horseradish, and cayenne pepper together. It tasted like the sauce at the restaurants for their onion blossoms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      These were quite good a little pancake like another reviewer mentioned but probably that was because of how much batter was used in relation to onion. They still didn't get as crispy as I would have liked but again I think that may have been the amount of batter. I made them gluten free using Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour Mix #1. I think the green onion would have been good in these and would add it if I make these again. I used regular white/yellow cooking onions, white sugar, gf baking powder, garlic salt, pinch cayenne, plain rice milk, & canola oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      Great recipe; I tried popping these in the oven as another reviewer had suggested (15 minutes on one side, then 10 minutes on the other). To my dismay, the batter felt thin when I spooned them onto the cool, oiled baking sheet. Upon turning them, I found that the oil hadn't been absorbed and rather clung onto the patties, which felt more like crepes with their thin edges. Once the patties were done cooking, I popped them onto a hot skillet; that helped a bit with the texture. As I would like to limit the calorie intake in my household, I think I'll try the baked version again but up the flour content and shorten the baking time and finish cooking on a skillet next time. Also, I found the patties a tad sweet for my taste (I did not use sweet onions - not easy to find in my new home above the Arctic Circle) so I might lower the sugar by 1/2 a tablespoon next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Been meaning to try this recipe for years. Glad I finally did.
      I fried heaping teaspoons of the batter an they came out more like little fritters. Added a pinch of cayenne. They taste like onion rings or maybe an onion blossom. Next time I will maybe serve them with some kind of creamy dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      Very good!! Made a bunch and put them in the freezer ...... looking forward to seeing how they taste warmed up. Will be making these again, many times! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      I'm not going to rate stars for this. I cannot seem to get over the baking powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      YUM!! I am not Jewish, but was invited to a Hanukkah celebration and needed a traditional dish that not everyone else would bring. I thought these looked yummy and very easy to make. These were amazing! And, so easy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      I know you don't need another 5 star review, but I couldn't let it go without thanking Kitten for ANOTHER great recipe!! Because of all of the people who thought the batter was a little thin I went with 2/3 cup milk as a precaution but I don't think it would have been necessary. I will note that I made a few for us to taste to see if we were even going to like them...obviously we did...then waited another 1/2 hour or so to make the rest. It did seem like the batter was a little thinner after sitting awhile. Perhaps this was the problem some of the reviewers had. I served with Blooming Onion sauce # 70382. We'll be doing this again and again!! I'm anxious to see if they reheat as well as everyone says they do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      anything fried is good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      We love these. The only problem is getting them to the table. It's hard not to keep eating them all up while cooking the batches. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Just made w/fresh seasonal Vidalia onion - did add a little "Simply Potatos" hash browns - they crisped nicely - so glad the FIRST Vidalias of the season are now out

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I made these over the weekend. I yielded about 15. By the time it came to serve them, I had three left! OMG!!! Addicting and fabulous. Followed the recipe EXACTLY as written. Kitten, you are amazing. Thank you for yet ANOTHER magical recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Wow these were amazing . We couldnt stop eating these. Thanks x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Absolutely delicious!! Definitely a new favorite. Just as good out of the freezer as out of the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      We made these with steaks and cauliflower for dinner and they were delish! My husband tried to get me to use olive oil, but I told him we ought not mess around with Kittencal's detailed instructions - and thank goodness we didn't! These were definitely fantastic - I would love to find a way to lighten them up though, maybe using a light cooking spray instead of oil? Anyway - great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      As usual another fabulous recipe. I made some for my daughter and her husband. When I asked how they liked them she told me she loved them but didn't know if he did. Then she confessed, she had eaten them all so he didn't get a taste. lol. I'm doubling the recipe today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      very good everyone loved. left me with a tad bit of bad breath after wards, I may try frying the onions for just one or two minutes before adding to the batter next time. This makes an excellent side to fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      I thought my DS14 was going to come right out of his skin when he took his first bite of these wonderful latkes last night! LOL. When he finally stopped raving on and on about how very good they were, I asked him what he wanted to rate them. In a very passionate voice (one that's also changing with his age) he says, FIVE HUNDRED and SIXTY-FIVE!!! And if that weren't enough...hubby comes home from a late meeting and I make a fresh round of latkes. He proceeds to go on and on at about the same rate as son had done and firmly "suggests" that I will be cooking more of these wonderful gems in the near future! (-: Made for ZWT 5. Could have been easier or yummier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      OMG! These are way crispier and tastier than any potato latke I've ever made. I used brown rice flour, 1/2 teaspoon of guar gum, 1 tablespoon of sugar, no green onion, cashew milk and an egg and they were absolute perfection. I would think, if you're not successful with them, your pan isn't hot enough. Thanks for sharing Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I love so many of Kittencal's recipes, but this one just did not work for me at.all. I followed the recipe to a T and measured the onions with a measuring cup since I had large onions. They fell apart in the pan like CRAZY and then when I went to clean the pan, oh my was it a disaster. When they were done they tasted really mediocre, probably because they fell apart and didn't cook in patties like they're supposed to. Anyway this recipe just didn't work for me, but I do definitely still love Kittencal's recipes -- thank you for posting!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Onion Patties/Latkes

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.0
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    10%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 278.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites