Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Old Fashioned White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Old Fashioned White Bread

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2013

      I had been looking for a bread recipe that resembled Grandmas for years and this was it. My family and I loved the fresh homemade taste. Fluffy and light it was absolutely wonderful. Best bread hands down!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Great bread recipe. I have been making my own bread for a very long time now and love trying out other recipes besides mine once in a while. I tried a bread machine a long time ago and was not impressed with the results, so I went back to the old fashioned way, well with the exception of using my Kitchen Aid stand mixer to mix and knead the ingredients. To warm up all my bread making tools, I simply placed them in my over the stove top microwave which has had the light on for a while, it makes the inside nice and warm. Then I followed the given instructions. As for ingredients, the only thing I did different was use bacon drippings instead of shortening, just because I love the added flavor it gives to bread. I love bacon drippings, lol.. It turned out wonderfully! Thanks for the lovely recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      Great bread, soft and light. Excellent recipe, your suggestions are most helpful :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      Great recipe and instructions, I've give the bread only a 4.5 little to salty in my opinion but your instructions are top notch. So I had to give the 5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      I learned to cook white bread 2 years ago with my husband's Granny. Her bread was always perfect. I spent days in her kitchen making it with her but as soon as I tried in my own kitchen, by bread would always not be right, even if I did everything exactly as we did together. So Since every recipe from Kittencal is PERFECT I searched for a white bread with her name on it. I followed the directions except I didn't have lard so I used butter. This was the BEST bread I've ever made. Even though the recipe was different it still tasted just the same as Granny's bread. My husband came home from work and had a few slices of it and then said, "Finally after 2 years we get homemade bread that is awesome!" Thanks so much Kittencal!!! I owe you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      INCREDIBLE BREAD!! I get asked all the time to make this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      KITTEN - OH MY!!! This bread is beyond FANTASTIC!!! I have not had success with yeast in the past. It has been really hit and miss, but you really laid out the instructions in this recipe. I did use milk instead of water, I don't know if that made any difference. This is truly the BEST bread I have ever eaten EVER! I used your oven method for letting the bread rise. BEST BREAD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Old Fashioned White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1012 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2413.0
     
    Calories from Fat 439
    18%
    Total Fat 48.8 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 3574.3 mg
    148%
    Total Carbohydrate 426.5 g
    142%
    Dietary Fiber 17.2 g
    69%
    Sugars 34.8 g
    139%
    Protein 61.3 g
    122%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites