7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had been looking for a bread recipe that resembled Grandmas for years and this was it. My family and I loved the fresh homemade taste. Fluffy and light it was absolutely wonderful. Best bread hands down!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bowhntngbabe March 02, 2013

Great bread recipe. I have been making my own bread for a very long time now and love trying out other recipes besides mine once in a while. I tried a bread machine a long time ago and was not impressed with the results, so I went back to the old fashioned way, well with the exception of using my Kitchen Aid stand mixer to mix and knead the ingredients. To warm up all my bread making tools, I simply placed them in my over the stove top microwave which has had the light on for a while, it makes the inside nice and warm. Then I followed the given instructions. As for ingredients, the only thing I did different was use bacon drippings instead of shortening, just because I love the added flavor it gives to bread. I love bacon drippings, lol.. It turned out wonderfully! Thanks for the lovely recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice June 02, 2010

Great bread, soft and light. Excellent recipe, your suggestions are most helpful :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kleaston April 18, 2014

Great recipe and instructions, I've give the bread only a 4.5 little to salty in my opinion but your instructions are top notch. So I had to give the 5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheCharbroil July 04, 2013

I learned to cook white bread 2 years ago with my husband's Granny. Her bread was always perfect. I spent days in her kitchen making it with her but as soon as I tried in my own kitchen, by bread would always not be right, even if I did everything exactly as we did together. So Since every recipe from Kittencal is PERFECT I searched for a white bread with her name on it. I followed the directions except I didn't have lard so I used butter. This was the BEST bread I've ever made. Even though the recipe was different it still tasted just the same as Granny's bread. My husband came home from work and had a few slices of it and then said, "Finally after 2 years we get homemade bread that is awesome!" Thanks so much Kittencal!!! I owe you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachelii January 16, 2011

INCREDIBLE BREAD!! I get asked all the time to make this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitKat824 December 23, 2007

KITTEN - OH MY!!! This bread is beyond FANTASTIC!!! I have not had success with yeast in the past. It has been really hit and miss, but you really laid out the instructions in this recipe. I did use milk instead of water, I don't know if that made any difference. This is truly the BEST bread I have ever eaten EVER! I used your oven method for letting the bread rise. BEST BREAD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 November 30, 2007
Kittencal's Old Fashioned White Bread