Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Old Fashioned Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Old Fashioned Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2013

      OMG Kitz you did it again!!! I always know when looking for a recipe if you have one in the catagory to make that first. I didn't have the Aborio Rice but did have Calrose Short Grain, No evaporated milk so substituted Heavy Cream which I pretty much always have a quart or two of... no raisins??? Used dried cranberries instead. Was a tad bit concerned since my old recipe of Rice Pudding was made with eggs... but figured what the heck you know what you are doing... so went with it. Am I ever glad I did, this is really a very nice rich, but not too rich pudding that will make a wonderful dessert with tonights meal and because I doubled it ( I do love rice pudding) I will have plenty for snacks and treats this week. Thank you for another Kittencal wonderful and delicious recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      Wow, this was awesome! I loved that it didn't have eggs in it at all. Smooth and creamy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      I wasn't sure about the evaporated milk ethier and it was the first time for me to cook with Arborio Rice as I have eaten Risotto but not Arborio Rice Pudding. Well, I'm a convert to Arborio Rice Pudding but the verdict is still out on the evaporated milk, I will have to tinker with that still! I made the rice pudding according to instructions and I just had some ice cold this morning {I never eat Rice Pudding warm} absolutely yummy with a tiny bit of cream! Anyone wondering as I did about the 3 Tablespoons of cornstarch it does not affect the taste in any way. Thanks again for posting this timeless recipe which will go to my Heirloom Cookbook, Kittencalskitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Perfect! This is so rich and creamy with just the right amount of sweetness. I don't normally cook with evaporated milk and came upon this recipe to try to use it up. I bought the arrborio rice to use for this and I think that's what I'll always use. There's a reason this has been around for 20 years - it's fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Wow! After the first bite, I never even saw them chew. They just handed me back empty bowls. Thanks yet again Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Nom nom nom! This rice pudding was fabulous! It is SO rich and creamy and so easy to put together. I used medium grain rice, skim milk, low-fat half-and-half, low-fat evaporated milk, and Splenda to save on calories. I added 1/2 a cup of raisins to half the batch and sprinkled cinnamon on the top to fill in a small heart-shaped cookie cutter. My boyfriend said this was awesome, and said he couldn't wait to enjoy it ALL. I had to secretly steal some to take home with me ;x I found it a little runny several hours after chilling; however, it definitely thickens in the fridge overnight. I enjoyed this warm and cold. Note to the impatient: Do NOT leave this baby unattended while cooking! I thought I could let it simmer while I took a quick shower and I discovered an erupted mess. If you must multi-task, make sure you're in the kitchen ;]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      As usual, your recipes never fail Kittencal! This is deliciously creamy and has a perfect sweet flavor. I used 1.5 cups cooked rice and halved the rest of the recipe (looking at the pictures compared to mine, I will use a 1 to 2 ratio for uncooked vs. cooked rice next time instead of a 1 to 4 in order to get the right consistency). Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Even when altered, this is a fantastic recipe! I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup honey, cut the milk down to three cups, used a 12oz. can of evaporated milk, and added the reserved juice from a can of mandarin oranges, about 1/2 cup. This made a LOT of pudding and I ended up simmering for about 20 minutes longer because it wasn't thickening up quickly enough. But it turned out SO GOOD! Was delicious hot a few hours ago and I'm eating it now chilled. Next time, I may add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

    • on June 21, 2008

      I know this is going to be wonderful. It is exactly what I was searching for. Sounds like what my Mother use to make. Many, Many thanks, Nanilani

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Even making it wrong, it turned out so right. A true sign of a really chef-friendly recipe. Good flavor, DH gives it 5. TY for your posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      You are right! This is the best rice pudding! Your taste buds must be the same as mine! I did however use Natural whole grain brown rice, brown sugar, and added 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract. Very good! Thanks for another good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      I tagged this thinking I had aborio rice, but when I looked I had 1/2 the amount so I added brown rice. I used Lavender Sugar With Vanilla but any variation of Flavored Sugar or Splenda would be yummy as well. My can of low fat evaporation milk was 12 ounces with no less riches in end results. I also used equal amounts of non fat milk and 1/2 and 1/2. I did use raisins that I soaked to plump and topped with cinnamon. I wish you all can inhale the aroma of my rice pudding! Just truly lovely! Thanks for a rich and so creamy pudding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Very nice and creamy! I used no fat half and half and a cup of raisins after soaking for a few minutes to plump them. This pudding is so creamy and rich and makes at least 1 1/2 quarts of pudding, personally, I would say this recipe would serve closer to 8-10. Thanks again, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I just made the recipe and it tasted amazing!! Very creamy and rich, full of flavour.I'll be looking this recipe up next time i make rice pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      This is a keeper...my third try to find a rice pudding as good as the store bought stuff. I fiddled with the cooking time & amounts since I cut the recipe in 1/3, but some of the ingredients I guessed on the right amount for the smaller batch. I should have used a little less sugar and vanilla, but it wasn't the recipe's fault. If I had made a full batch I'm sure it would have come out perfect. I used Pearl rice (short grain from the Mexican section), half & half and Evaporated Milk instead of store bought evaportated milk, and skipped the raisons. The corn starch thickened this up wonderfully. I just ate a warm bowl and can't wait for it to chill so I can have some tomorrow. Wonderful! UPDATE - Cold it is amazing. Tastes just like the rice pudding from the store, only healthier! And 50% of your calcium in 1 serving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      I normally make rice pudding with medium grain pasta but was having a "sweet attack" and only had Uncle Ben's Long Grain on hand. I also used one percent milk and two percent evaporated milk. It was rare that I didn't have any half n half or fuller fat milk on hand, but I called this a "low fat" pudding and could eat twice as much! I had never seen the cornstarch mixture added at the end before and liked the effect. The evaporated milk gives the taste that there are eggs in the pudding. This was VERY creamy and delicious! Thanks Kitten for ANOTHER great recipe! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

    • on January 16, 2004

      I tried this recipe last night, it is simply the most dreamy rice pudding I have tasted yet, except for my grandmother's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Old Fashioned Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (471 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 591.7
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    25%
    Total Fat 16.6 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 62.9 mg
    20%
    Sodium 265.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 93.4 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 37.5 g
    150%
    Protein 17.1 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites