Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's No More Watery Meringue Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's No More Watery Meringue

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2010

      This was my first attempt at a meringue. It came out GREAT! I researched meringues a bit and it said to be sure the humidity is at a minimum, be sure to use a glass or metal bowl, and bake no hotter than 325. That is the only variation to the recipe I used. I baked at 325 for 25 minutes. Perfection! Also, my cornstarch mixture never turned clear, but it didn't affect the outcome. I'll be using this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      For those who are still getting a watery pie can I sugest a little tip of mine... For every 6 egg whites add 2tsp of white vinegar and 1/4tsp cream of tartar ( or tartaric acid) to the egg whites BEFORE you start beating them. This mix stabilises the whites. Hope this helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This did not work for me. It ruined my chocolate pie with weeping. I have tried several other of your recipes and they all turn out fantastic so I don't know what happened- I followed the recipe exactly. I've since read that cream of tarter stabilizes the egg whites and also to never bake above 325 to brown. I may try that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Well I am giving you a 5 star b/c I just love ALL your recipes!!! Mine turned out watery for some reason...but it was my first ever attempt at meringue, so I am saying user error! It tastes SOOOOOO yummy! I left it on the pie..we'll eat it anyways lol The method for preparing it was simple and I will definintely try this again..it's insanely hot and humid in Savannah so I am thinking that might have something to do with it as well! Thanks for all of your amazing recipes Kittencal! :) Oh, I also loved that the chocolate pie I made used 3 egg yolks..so this was perfect for using the whites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      My husband loves Lemon Meringue Pie so I promised him I would make it. I had come across your recipe some time ago and saved it to try. The photo of the cut slice is from the following day, and as you can see, the meringue is still in place and not watery or fallen. My only suggestion would be to put a note in the directions with regard to how long you can whip the egg whites once the cornstarch has been added. I think I could have whipped them longer to get a higher meringue, but I was afraid I might ruin the whites. Thx Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Very easy to make and tasty too. I made a chocolate meringue with graham cracker crust and it was delicious. Although it wasnt as light and airy as I usually like, the "no watery" mess more than makes up for that difference. Pie was enjoyed by all! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      great recipe as per usual kitten dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Great recipe! The texture isn't as light and fluffy as an original meringue but the added life you get and the fact that it turns out perfect makes up for that! The taste is wonderful and stood the test of time without a watery mess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      I can only give this recipe three stars, though it tasted and looked beautiful I had the same problem as cookinpotter. I followed the ingredients and directs to a "T" but ended up with a lot of liquid around the crust area. I made sure to put it all around the edges to seal it but it didn't seem to make a difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      This deserves 10 STARS. What a winner! There are many happy people in Hattiesburg, Ms who now can have non-wheeping Meringue Pies. :-) Thanks, Koechin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I have always been afraid to try meringue but made a key lime pie today and wanted to top it with meringue. Your recipe sure came in handy and worked perfectly. I have conquered meringue thanks to you kittencal!! Thank you~you must be a goddess!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Never made meringue and was kind of scared being it was for Easter dinner. It turned out wonderful, couln't be any easier. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      i'm not going to rate this right now until i have a chance to try it again. i ruined a beautiful pie w/ this meringue, but i also accidently put in more salt than called for so hopefully that was the problem. the meringue was beautiful, but a couple hours later i poured about a cup of liquid out of the pie. by the next day the filling ended up turning to soup (it was a very thick custard pie) and the crust turned into mush. i ended up tossing the whole thing. i HOPE it's the extra salt i added. i'll try it again soon and will add stars when i see how it works.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Used this for my Lemon Meringue pie. No weeping at all, and the taste was good. Thanks, Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I made this meringue to go on my chocolate pie (#110397). I've never been able to make a good meringue. This was so easy and good! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      I was asked to make a chocolate cream pie for someone's birthday, and the topping was meringue. This was my third attempt at making the meringue for the topping, and it was perfect! The first two were samplers for the family. This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      My hubby wanted a lemon meringue pie yesterday but my time was limited. But, being the "dutiful" wife (LOL), I pulled out a pre-made store-bought pie shell and a package of Sherriff Lemon Pie Filling. Your wonderful meringue gave me the opportunity to use my new Kitchen Aid and produce the "crowning glory" for my "home-made" pie! I checked the fridge this morning & its still holding up well. Thanx Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      I agree, this is the best meringue I ever tasted. Thanks for an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      This makes the best meringue! It stands up tall and proud just like the meringue on bakery pies. I will use this recipe again and again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's No More Watery Meringue

    Serving Size: 1 (349 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 441.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    66%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 323.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.0 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 89.6 g
    358%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites