20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was my first attempt at a meringue. It came out GREAT! I researched meringues a bit and it said to be sure the humidity is at a minimum, be sure to use a glass or metal bowl, and bake no hotter than 325. That is the only variation to the recipe I used. I baked at 325 for 25 minutes. Perfection! Also, my cornstarch mixture never turned clear, but it didn't affect the outcome. I'll be using this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chance January 07, 2010

For those who are still getting a watery pie can I sugest a little tip of mine... For every 6 egg whites add 2tsp of white vinegar and 1/4tsp cream of tartar ( or tartaric acid) to the egg whites BEFORE you start beating them. This mix stabilises the whites. Hope this helps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeeJaye December 15, 2009

This did not work for me. It ruined my chocolate pie with weeping. I have tried several other of your recipes and they all turn out fantastic so I don't know what happened- I followed the recipe exactly. I've since read that cream of tarter stabilizes the egg whites and also to never bake above 325 to brown. I may try that next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prttylip September 07, 2009

Well I am giving you a 5 star b/c I just love ALL your recipes!!! Mine turned out watery for some reason...but it was my first ever attempt at meringue, so I am saying user error! It tastes SOOOOOO yummy! I left it on the pie..we'll eat it anyways lol The method for preparing it was simple and I will definintely try this again..it's insanely hot and humid in Savannah so I am thinking that might have something to do with it as well! Thanks for all of your amazing recipes Kittencal! :) Oh, I also loved that the chocolate pie I made used 3 egg yolks..so this was perfect for using the whites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley S. August 14, 2009

My husband loves Lemon Meringue Pie so I promised him I would make it. I had come across your recipe some time ago and saved it to try. The photo of the cut slice is from the following day, and as you can see, the meringue is still in place and not watery or fallen. My only suggestion would be to put a note in the directions with regard to how long you can whip the egg whites once the cornstarch has been added. I think I could have whipped them longer to get a higher meringue, but I was afraid I might ruin the whites. Thx Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word April 06, 2009

Very easy to make and tasty too. I made a chocolate meringue with graham cracker crust and it was delicious. Although it wasnt as light and airy as I usually like, the "no watery" mess more than makes up for that difference. Pie was enjoyed by all! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy in da South December 20, 2008

great recipe as per usual kitten dee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. November 26, 2008

Great recipe! The texture isn't as light and fluffy as an original meringue but the added life you get and the fact that it turns out perfect makes up for that! The taste is wonderful and stood the test of time without a watery mess!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Priceor63 November 02, 2008

I can only give this recipe three stars, though it tasted and looked beautiful I had the same problem as cookinpotter. I followed the ingredients and directs to a "T" but ended up with a lot of liquid around the crust area. I made sure to put it all around the edges to seal it but it didn't seem to make a difference!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahcw80 October 13, 2008

Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FiggyDuff August 10, 2008
Kittencal's No More Watery Meringue