Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's No-Fail Buttery Flaky Pie Pastry/Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's No-Fail Buttery Flaky Pie Pastry/Crust

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2009

      Great Pie crust I did mine also in the food processor and it rolled out great! Was nice and flaky and had great flavor...here's a tip for all you pie bakers out there. Bake your pies on the bottom shelf of your oven that way the bottom crust won't seem raw it will actually be cooked when the pie is done and that way the crust around the edges doesn't seem to get as dark either which can be a problem sometimes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      Wonderful pie crust!! I am definitely not an expert pie crust maker, and usually have to roll each crust out twice before I can line my pie dish with it (darn dough always sticks to my surface no matter how much I flour it - any dough, not just this one), and despite probably being a little over-handled, turned out light, flakey and has a lovely buttery flavour! Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      I love to bake but was always afraid of making piecrust. Not any more! This dough turns out wonderful! It`s easy to handle, rolls out well, and the taste and texture are fantastic! Kittencal is fast becoming my go-to girl for great recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I hate making pie crust, but this recipe has changed that. It's perfect as long as you don't over handle the dough and make sure everything stays cold. I made two 9 inch pie crust with this and still had some dough left over. I believe this recipe is the one and only I'll ever use. The search is over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      As usual, Kittencal comes through with a fabulous recipe...again! I've been intimidated by the thought of making a pastry for awhile now, even though the desire has been there. And I gotta say, this was pretty easy, and turned out excellent! Although I used only AP flour and had to add a little more water (1-2 T more), it still turned out flaky and tasty for my chicken pot pie. I'm officially no longer a pie crust noob...thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Chalk up another satisfied customer. Finally I can cross "Roll your own pie crust" off my bucket list. Thanks so much. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      I used this recipe to make a chocolate cream pie. It turned out great. Ive been on recipezaar long enough to know that Kittencal has some MEAN recipes, and I mean that in the best way possible Thank you. P.S. I also froze a batch. I will repost when I use it and let you know how it turned out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This is the most incredible pie crust. It was amazingly easy to work with, and I had to refrigerate my dough for 24 hours cause I ran out of time to make pies the day i made the crust. It was easy to roll out in spite of that. I made some cinnamon sugar strips with the leftover dough, and my husband said they tasted like danish pastry dough......or cookies :) Everyone who had the pies I made with this dough, loved them! thanks for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      Oh my goodness Kitten, you've done it again!! The buttery aroma from the kitchen as my apple pie baked in the oven drove me wild - and the flaky pastry tasted even better. My butter was salt-free & I substituted Crisco Golden All-Vegetable shortening for the lard. Since I prefer crumb topped pies, I froze half of the pastry for another day. I've editted this review to say that another day has come & the pastry I froze was just as good as the day I made it! Thanx for another winner Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      I swore I would never make a pie crust again, but my go to pie crust, pillsbury refrigerated, keeps getting more expensive, so I bought some lard and set out to find a crust recipe. Kittencal has never failed me yet with a recipe, so I chose this one. I will NEVER buy a crust again. I used the food processor method, and it was simple and easy. The crust rolled out like a breeze, and was easy to handle to transfer to the pan. So light and flakey, crust was perfect!!! I'm making up batches today to keep refrigerated for Thanksgiving morning in a few days. Thanks for this recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      I was no good at making pie crusts from scratch until I found this recipe. They were usually a disaster in a pan. I made my first apple pie from scratch using this crust and it not only came out edible but absolutely delicious! Very tender and flaky. The dough was easy to roll out and held together well. With other recipes, the dough would crumble. I'll be making a lot more pies now. Great recipe Kittencal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Another winner from Kittencal's amazing stash of recipes! My Thanksgiving pies were the best ever, thanks to you, Kitten.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      This was so, so good. I used 2 3/4 cups all purpose flour and 1/4 cup cornstarch instead of the pastry flour and used cream instead of lard. And thank you ever so much for the tip on how to avoid soggy bottom. I've been trying to rectify this problem forever and this is the most easiest and helpful tip I've found yet. As always another winner from kittencal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Wow!! I've only pastry a few times and it's been less than an exciting process and result. This was easy (I used the food processor), yummy, flaky and tender. I used shortening instead of lard (no pork in our family) and it turned out great. I made butter tarts and they were fantastic!! Thanks so much, I'll be keeping this recipe forever!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      Wow! I just made a turkey pot pie with this recipe (well, slight variation...I had no lard so used all butter), and it was the best pot pie and the best piecrust I've ever had! This is my new standard. I ended up having to use more water than specified, but no biggie. Great crust!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      I have made many pies over the years, but have always stuck to my mother's 1-2-3 pie crust, although I have tweaked it a bit, by adding butter; however, it is not always easy to work with and often ends up looking a bit patched together. Kittencal's, however, is AMAZING!!! I used it to make my apple pie and got fantastic results. Other than a slight issue with it sticking to the rolling pin, which is normal, it rolled out beautifully and I was able to place each part into the pie plate as one piece. I will be using this recipe for all my pie crusts from here on. Thank you, Kittencal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      I make this crust for pies and for "pasty" recipes. It's just great, flakey and tender. Thank you so much for this pie crust that works with so many things. I do not keep my lard (shortening) cold and it still worked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      I thought I reviewed this when I made it several months ago but I must have forgotten. This is the best pie crust I've ever made. It's everything a pie crust ought to be: flaky, flavorful and easy to prepare. I used my trusty old Quisinart DLC-7, circa 1984, and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      I've made pies every year for several decades and this is the best pie crust recipe I've ever used. More flakey and more buttery then any I have tried. And I love the food processor tip! What a time and effort saver! Thanks! I was a little afraid to leave in the processor too long so took my first 3 batches out while they were still separated and crumbly then worked by hand. I found taking out that early left big chunks of butter still that I had to work out. The last batch I left in until the dough started to hold together and that was far less work for me after - plus the quality of the dough didn't suffer at all. Thanks for another great recipe Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Fantastic! 1/2 of the recipe was plenty of dough for a deep pie crust. Now I have an excuse to make a second pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's No-Fail Buttery Flaky Pie Pastry/Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (47 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.5
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    55%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 36.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 149.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites