86 Reviews

This was only good the first day. Afterthat it got soggier and soggier. Strawberry Sweetheart Streusel Muffins - Recipe 283073 is way better.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes June 13, 2011

I have been looking for a good blueberry muffin recipe for months. It finally dawned on me today to search "Kittencal Blueberry Muffin". Why did I not think of that sooner?! This recipe is great, just like all of her others. Perfect texture, just right sweetness, looks beautiful, and has that just right blueberry muffin flavor. Thanks Kittencal for doing all the dirty work so the rest of us can look like geniuses when we bake!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chellynae June 10, 2011

These were delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and couldn't imagine changing a thing. I used the milk/vinegar trick for buttermilk and cannot believe it hurt the recipe in any way. I used fresh blueberries. I don't own a jumbo muffin pan so I used my square muffin pan. This made 24 regular-sized muffins, there was plenty of streusel and they baked up perfectly at 14 minutes. I can't wait to try this with blackberries. Yum.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen May 29, 2011

My advice on these muffins is DO NOT SUBSTITUTE! I waited until my third try on this recipe before I felt it was fair to write a review. The first time I substituted 2% milk for buttermilk - bad idea. Then I substituted lemon juice for lemon zest - very bad idea. Finally I *followed* the recipe (though I left out the zest as I have no lemons) and they were delicious. I'll be making them again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emcquaid July 01, 2010

I've never written a review here but I just had to. After so many failed muffin attempts with other recipes, I finally have a winner. At first, I thought I was doing something wrong. 4 1/4 cups of flour seemed a lot and the whole thing was really dense and thick, and there was a lot of it. But I trusted Kitten and put in my frozen blueberries and popped it in the oven. 25 mins later, the most beautiful muffins turned up. These were big, and fluffy and a beautiful shape! (mine always came out pointy). And then when we ate it, yummmy! I think the lemon zest definitely added a little extra kick. I also made some with frozen strawberries and blackberries.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1029899 June 10, 2010

I do think jumbo is the way to go with blueberry muffins, because more of the juicy berries get into each muffin. I loved these. I can't quite give stars because I altered the recipe a little. I used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour (next time would only use up to 1/3), and doubled the lemon zest. I also used goat milk and fresh lemon juice rather than buttermilk. I did like the sweetness level...just right for morning. I also thought the method was not any harder than others. I will probably omit the streusel next time (leaving in the 1/2 c mixture and perhaps adding a few more T's liquid). I used vanilla last time but can't wait to try these again with almond. Since I am a hard-core blueberry addict, I will probably up the berries to 3c...I like mine to be falling apart from warm berries. Thanks, Kittencal, your stuff is always great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise April 07, 2011

Not that good for the extra time of cutting circles ect, not a lot of flavor (bland), topping no flavor, maybe adding something will help. Will not make again, I have better recipes for and will go back to one of those

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnanddee369 January 27, 2011

I will NEVER again make another blueberry muffin. These taste great and they ALWAYS look absolutely BEAUTIFUL. I have subbed applesauce for half the oil... whole wheat pastry flour for half the white...used canola instead of butter... dried blueberries instead of frozen or fresh... it's ALL GOOD!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prvrbs31gal January 24, 2011

I found there was too much cinnamon in this recipe for my personal taste. I also found that for a streusal topping there wasn't as much flavour as others I've used. I would probably either skip this step or make a brown sugar topping which I find has a better flavour. Other than that very nice texture and baked perfectly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
olisa January 09, 2011

An easy muffin recipe and just the right amount of sweetness but prefer a more cake like texture. If followed exactly, this recipe works out perfectly but if you make your own substitutions then you can only expect less than good results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 August 20, 2012
Kittencal's Muffin Shop Jumbo Blueberry or Strawberry Muffins