65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Okay Kitten . . . I don't know how you do what you do but babe you DO IT! At this point I've actually stopped searching through recipes that aren't yours. This was another EPIC WIN! I didn't have any instant coffee so I did do 3/4 c orange juice and 3/4 c prepared coffee. Other than that I followed the recipe to a tee and was not disappointed. Extremely moist and oh so succulent. Absolutely luscious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktenille March 03, 2009

This cake was super easy and overall great (as is any recipe from Kitten!) though for us, there was a bit too much orange flavor with the full 1 1/2 cups of OJ. Next time (and there will be a next time!) I am going to use a bottle of stout instead of the OJ. I "frosted" this with a ganache and will do so again. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie January 04, 2009

This was a vey good, moist dark chocolate cake, which was just short of "Wow" from DH. Kittencals' Pan Release, Professional Pan Coating (Better Than Pam Spray!) 78579 ensured easy release from the Bundt pan. This cake improved with the addition of frosting, provided from 2Bleu's Chocolate Hazelnut Spread (Mock Nutella from Gale Gand) #328709, and shown in one of my photos. I made the streusel included in the directions, but it was dark and did not offer much visual contrast to the cake's presentation (it sure tasted good, though!). Made for Kittencal's Cook-a-thon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL December 07, 2008

Made this last night and it turned out soooo good and moist, WOW! I subbed applesauce for the oil ( trying to cut down on fat ) and as I didn't have any Orange juice I used leftover brewed coffee. It was delicious!!!! As suggested I used the Chocolate Glaze for Cakes. Thank you for another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 December 01, 2008

I made it, following the recipe to a t -- the cake was very oily without too much flavor. Definitely will not make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucy #3 November 21, 2008

This was delicious!! Recipe was so easy and the cake turned out very moist. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keyla September 28, 2008

This was absolutely delicious. I used water b/c I didn't have OJ. My kids are normally not big cake fans, but they gobbled this up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tricial August 27, 2008

I do not care for chocolate cake, but the rest of my family loves it and enjoyed this for dessert very much. It was very simple to put together and I had no trouble with the cake sticking to the pan. I drizzled a runny chocolate icing over the cake. Thanks for posting an easy recipe that is now very popular with my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee May 30, 2008

This is a yummy cake, very moist and fluffy. Personally, I would like less of an orange flavor, but I also didn't have the coffee granules to add. I am guessing the coffee would downplay the orange and make the cocoa pop! I used SunnyD because I didn't have any OJ. I made a simple glaze of 10x sugar, milk and pure vanilla. I just brushed it on top. This is a good easy cake and I highly recommend. It is a Kittencal recipe, you can't go wrong!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth May 30, 2008

There are simply not enough words to describe how wonderful this cake is; it was unbelievably moist and delicious and that is without the streusel filling. I am officially getting rid of my current chocolate birthday cake recipe as this is my new one from now on. I added two tsp. of vanilla extract and I did put a chocolate glaze on top but it was probably completely unnecessary. As far as the problems some seem to have with their cakes sticking I highly suggest everyone look for parchment paper (available in art stores in the decorating section or at your supermarket); it'll become your new best friend! I can't bake without it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan May 29, 2008
Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake