Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2008

      This is the BEST chocolate cake I have ever made! I was skeptical because of the OJ, especially since I only had pineapple/orange in the house...but it turned out fantastic! Moist and tasty! The children of my neighborhood thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      I can't say this cake was a huge hit in my house, mainly because we found it much too oily. This was likely due to a combination of the quantity of oil in the recipe and the fact that I liberally applied the recommended Pan Coating after reading all the reviews about sticking. My cake didn't stick but the surface was not very firm. Also, this was too much batter for my bundt pan and it spilled over while baking. Lastly, I could taste the orange juice in the cake after it was baked, which could be bad or good, depending if you like the flavour of orange with chocolate. Probably not a recipe I'd try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      This cake was very moist with a good chocolate taste and enjoyable streusel. I used a NordicWare Bavaria Bundt pan which had too many ridges for this moist cake and had trouble removing it - my bad! However, we felt that this cake had too strong an oily aftertaste from all the canola oil. Perhaps vegetable oil would be better? In the future, I think I will stick to butter-based cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      Can I give this 10 stars? I made this today for my husband's birthday, and it couldn't have been a more perfect cake. Like the previous reviewer I also used a Nordic Ware bundt pan with lots of decorative ridges -- but mine slipped out perfectly (I followed Nordic Ware's instructions, which said to allow the cake to cool EXACTLY 10 minutes in the pan before removing it to cool.) I found the cake to be moist, but not at all oily -- my husband kept commenting on how light and lovely it was. I used fresh orange juice, Dutch unprocessed cocoa, and made the streusal exactly as you said (included the coconut) -- I used the highest grade of cinnamon that Penzey's had. This was a superb cake, and you're right -- I'll make it again and again! Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Wow, this recipe is fantastic! I used Tropicana OJ, reduced the sugar by half a cup, and insluded the Streusal Filling with coconut, Nestles Chcoclate/white chocolate chips (no nuts) and I was so happy with the cake. I made it for dinner guests and they asked me for the recipe. I baked it at 350 degrees for 55 minutes and it was moist and perfect. I think this recipe definitely wants to be tweaked with to make it your own. You can probably add anything you like to the center and it'd be great. I'd like to try something with caramel (I'm obsessed with caramel). This is going to be my go-to chocolate bundt cake recipe forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      I made this cake using the recipe for the PAN RELEASE BETTER THAN PAN SPRAY! and half the cake stayed in the pan - I was SO mad - I've never had that happen before. I hated to throw the nasty looking remaining half out(but I was making the cake for a co-workers birthday) - my husband, who doesn't eat many sweets said he had a taste for a chocolate rum cake. So instead of throwing the cake out, I mixed up a simple syrup with a dash of butter and a 1/2 cup of dark rum and poured it over the top of the cake and then let it sit for 6 hours.(He said he didn't care what the cake looked like, as long as it tasted good!) The result was an indescribably delicious cake - I didn't use the streusal filling, but incorporated a cup of bittersweet chocolate chips - it's only one day and the cake is almost gone!!!!! Next time I'll use the pan release with a little sprinkling of sugar - thanks for another great recipe - with a happy ending!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      I think this is really the best chocolate cake! I have made it on several occasions and it was a hit every time, even though I cut back on the oil and on the sugar and used only egg whites! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Cooked this cake for 70 minutes because I used the filling. Turned out dry on the outside, but was moist inside. Didn't have instant coffee, so I used 1/2 tsp of ground coffee. Turned out pretty tasty! Family enjoyed this cake! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Very easy to prepare. Absolutely delicious to eat. I did cut down on the sugar. I used 1 1/4 Cups. I followed the recipe including the streusel to the letter other than that. I did not frost it but I offered Ice cream with it for those guests who wanted it. Thanks for a terrific recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      Oh my goodness, I can't begin to tell you how much I loved this cake! This was actually the first chocolate cake I've ever made, and I was blown away with how delicious it was. I baked it in a 9x13" pan since I wanted large squares rather than slices and it turned out perfectly. I also skipped the coffee and it was still amazing without it. The cake is so incredibly chocolatey, moist and dense without being too heavy. The streusal filling is *wonderful* and was like a nice little surprise for everyone that tried it! I also made a quick chocolate sauce to pour over the cake at the end, and the cake actually soaked it all up so it turned out even MORE moist and chocolatey! It's actually been weeks since I made this cake and I can still taste it and still daydream about it because it was just that good! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      One of the best cakes I've tried in a while. The only changes I made were to use only 1 cup of sugar and I used 3/4 cups egg whites instead of whole eggs. It turned out just great. This will be one of my regular recipes from now on. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      I just made this and presliced it for a potluck at work and just from crumb sampling I know it's going to be a hit. I was a bit leary about the oj but its not even noticeable. I did omit the coconut and added chopped Heath bars to the struedel and pecans instead of walnuts. I also just put all the struedel in the center. Next time I will cook for about 45 min since my oven runs hot. The glaze I used was 3 T cocoa powder, 1 c 10x powdered sugar, 2 T melted butter and 2-3 T hot water mixed until smooth. Thank you again for such a great cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      I made this cake a 3rd time and only baked it 40 to 45 minutes and it was then more moist and much better in texture than the last 2 cakes which I believed may have been overbaked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      Great cake!! Didn't add the streusel layer. Made the cake with fresh squeezed orange juice and added 1 1/2 cups of choco chips to the batter. mmmmMMmm good!! Meant to add a glaze but didn't get around to it cause we started eating it while it was warm! Thanks for a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      Very delicious and moist cake. No trouble with it sticking in the pan. Made exactly as directed with mini chocolate chips in the struesel. Would most definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      You are so right, this is the best! Made this last night for hubby's birthday and boy, was he happy! Made it with the streusal filling and your Really Easy and Good Glaze (Kittencal's Easy Creamy White Glaze). It cooked for 65 minutes and I had no problems with it sticking to the bundt pan. Thanks so much for sharing- I'm sure that they'll be requests for this cake for many more birthdays to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      I have to agree this is definatly the Absolute Best Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake - However i actually baked it in a 9/13" pan as i dont own a bundt cake tin, it took exactly 60 mins. left out the streusal filling this time but will try it next time. Fantastic...cut into squares it makes the idea lunch box cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      I made this cake twice in the same week. It was easy and luscious. The baking time was perfect for my oven. I buttered and floured my teflon bundt pan carefully just in case and the cake popped out easily. It got rave reviews, too. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2005

      This cake disappeared faster than you can say "YUM"! I topped it with a simple vanilla glaze, and did not use nuts in the filling. I think I would use less cinnamon next time, but otherwise, I will definitely make it again! I reduced my cooking time by 10 mins when I read the other reviews, but then the knife test made me add the 10 mins back on at the end, so my cooking time was about the same as listed. Thanks for a yummy, simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      What an absolutely marvelous moist chocolate cake this is! it really does taste like an oreo cookie, so I sliced it in two, and filled it with your wonderful buttercream frosting recipe, instead of the streusel mix. WOW this is chocolate heaven! I can't believe how easy this is cake is to make, I just dumped all the ingredients into a huge bowl and then mixed it with my beaters, I was a bit concerned as the batter was very thin, but it baked out so high. This chocolate cake recipe is by far the best and easiest to make for me, there will never be another chocolate cake recipe, this one is the best! KITTENCAL, another winning recipe, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 467.2
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    47%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 367.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.4 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 36.0 g
    144%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites