65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A wonderful dark chocolate cake, not too different from the Hershey special dark cake on the cocoa box, but without having to boil the water (and also the ease of doing this one in one step!). I used 1/3 regular cocoa, 1/3 special dark. I also imbibed the cake with Kittencal's caramel glaze (from another recipe) and the dark chocolate and caramel were just exquisite together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mymankant November 28, 2009

This is a keeper beacsue it's so easy to make and the ingredients are always in my kitchen. Plus, the resulting cake is very light and moist and came out beautifully from a rather intricate cake mold I have. Will be making again today, with the frosting that hardens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefEmma October 22, 2009

I will be making this again! It was a yummy cake and easy too. I used OJ and yes it tastes like those chocolate oranges you can get during the holidays. I didn't use the streusal but plan on it next time. I used an orange chocolate glaze because I thought that sounded nice. It was. I am going to freeze half of this cake so I will come back and let you know if that works well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mt House mama August 04, 2009

I don't know how I could miss reviewing this recipe, since this is what introduced me to kitten's treasure trove of recipes. This cake also has the distinction of being endorsed by my mom for whose 50th birthday I baked this. You can not even imagine how 'BIG' that is considering that for the 49 years before that my mom had not so much as tasted a chocolate cake, let alone like or love it. Sometimes I like to bake this in individual ramekins at high heat like lava cakes The lava gives it a nice chocolate/orange taste a la Lindt thins. Somehow cooking the cake through totally dissipates the orange flavour and that is one thing I would like to fix. Maybe putting some orange rind or marmalade might help? Two thumbs up yet again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mulan400 July 30, 2009

OMG this is good! So simple to make and so moist, chocolatey and delicous! It stuck to my bundt pan like crazy, but I always have trouble with that pan. I also didn't have orange juice, so used orange sun quick drink I had in fridge. Tasted like one of those chocolate oranges! Another favorite recipe! Thanks for posting. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
byZula July 11, 2009

I made it 3 days ago in cupake molds. I made cut the sugar to 2 cups and the oil to 1 cup. I left them in containers out of the fridge just to see if they will bleed oil like some recipes do under normal temperature. Mind you, I live in a tropical country! Surprisingly, it kept well and look exactly like they were when first baked up. It has very intense chocolate taste which I LOVE and best of all, it does not appear greasy while retaining the perfect appearance of a very moist cake. I will bump up the coffee next time. DELICIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bonnie Victoria June 15, 2009

The best chocolate cake I've ever made!!! Thanks for sharing Kittencal...I'm a better cook because of you:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch March 31, 2009

Excellent and super moist. Based on other reviews I made a few changes; perhaps these made the recipe a bit healthier, too. I cut the sugar to 1-1/2 cups and the oil to 3/4 cup; I then added 1/2 cup of unsweetened apple sauce to replace the missing oil. I left out the streusal but I might try it next time.The flavor of the orange juice stands out, great for those who like orange and chocolate combined! I had to use a 9 x 13 pan and the cake was cooked in 40 minutes. Everyone enjoyed this with a tasty vanilla frosting; next time I might try chocolate. Thanks Kittencal, I love your recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieGT March 19, 2009

Another Kittencall success! This is a very moist and chocolaty cake.I baked in a bundt pan.Followed the recipe almost exactly. I use 3 quarter cup leftover coffee and 3 quarter cup water. Baked for 40 minutes , used Chocolate glaze Recipe 250111 as I was out of chocolate chips. This combination will be my recipe for Chocolate Cake now!! Kittencal ,you never let us down.Another great recipe!Thank you! Did not use struesal filling this time ,and I never attempt to bake anything without using your recipe for Pan Release !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cats Creations March 07, 2009

I followed the recipe to a tee and I got a wonderful cake. Very moist, lots of flavor and I doubt if I will have any left over after dinner tonight. This is a recipe I will definitely make again. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom March 05, 2009
Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake