71 Reviews

I really love this recipe and it has become a favorite. Not too sweet and delicious on its own without icing. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heidibaar February 20, 2010

I dont know if maybe I did something wrong but this just turned out to be a disaster, and a bit too coffee flavored for me. Fell apart when it came out of the bundt pan.I cooked it almost 40 minutes longer than stated and it overflowed from my bundt pan! Very moist but grease just dripped off it. I am going to give it another try just because the reviews were so wonderful, I have to believe I missed something somewhere!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace Michelle February 08, 2010

We love this cake! So easy to put together and a dessert that everyone enjoys! I've made this with and without the streusel. I would say take the few extra minutes and add it! You'll be glad you did! Thanks Kitt! I know this is a cake I'll be making for many years to come! Made for Chef's Pick Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom January 20, 2010

A nice chocolate cake, I used 1 1/2 cups cold coffee (instead of water) because I didn't have the instant coffee, worked out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather's Hungry January 18, 2010

This cake is a winner for sure! I was feeling a little adventureous and took some marshmallow creme (from a jar)and mixed some walnuts and special dark chips into it, then I poured that around the batter half way through. I then poured the rest of the batter on top. It was a little gooey, lol, but sooo good! I made this for KK's Kittencals Top 25 Chef's Picks Event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER January 02, 2010

Made for KK's Kittencals Top 25 Chefs Picks Event. Kitz my dear once again another easy peasy no fail cake...with which I am fast becoming MDSIL's #1 favorite Mom!!! I did not make the stuesal as DSIL doesn't care for nuts and I am not huge fan of coconut. But next time I make this cake I am gonna put a ganache in place of the stuesal and lock in my placing as Daves #1 MOM>>>LOL> Thank you for a family pleaser!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 December 23, 2009

A wonderful dark chocolate cake, not too different from the Hershey special dark cake on the cocoa box, but without having to boil the water (and also the ease of doing this one in one step!). I used 1/3 regular cocoa, 1/3 special dark. I also imbibed the cake with Kittencal's caramel glaze (from another recipe) and the dark chocolate and caramel were just exquisite together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mymankant November 28, 2009

This is a keeper beacsue it's so easy to make and the ingredients are always in my kitchen. Plus, the resulting cake is very light and moist and came out beautifully from a rather intricate cake mold I have. Will be making again today, with the frosting that hardens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefEmma October 22, 2009

I will be making this again! It was a yummy cake and easy too. I used OJ and yes it tastes like those chocolate oranges you can get during the holidays. I didn't use the streusal but plan on it next time. I used an orange chocolate glaze because I thought that sounded nice. It was. I am going to freeze half of this cake so I will come back and let you know if that works well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mt House mama August 04, 2009

I don't know how I could miss reviewing this recipe, since this is what introduced me to kitten's treasure trove of recipes. This cake also has the distinction of being endorsed by my mom for whose 50th birthday I baked this. You can not even imagine how 'BIG' that is considering that for the 49 years before that my mom had not so much as tasted a chocolate cake, let alone like or love it. Sometimes I like to bake this in individual ramekins at high heat like lava cakes The lava gives it a nice chocolate/orange taste a la Lindt thins. Somehow cooking the cake through totally dissipates the orange flavour and that is one thing I would like to fix. Maybe putting some orange rind or marmalade might help? Two thumbs up yet again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mulan400 July 30, 2009
Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake