70 Reviews

Easy to make with things you probably have in the cupboards. I buttered and floured the pan and it popped right out. It didn't when I tried it with spray.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 26, 2013

This cake was easy to make. I love that it only took one bowl. Like other reviewers, I reduced the sugar (to 1 1/2 cups) and the oil (to 1 cup). The cake still came out moist, and I didn't have any trouble with it sticking to the pan. I wish I had been able to try it with the orange juice....maybe next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka June 12, 2013

Made this last night in hopes to take this to our football fundraiser sweets table. Once again, it didn't come out in one piece. I waited the 15 minutes and even used my NordicWare Cathedral bundt pan instead of the last one I used. I made the pan release stuff and really covered the whole inside well with it. I think I need to let the cake cool a lot longer for it to release from the pan? Any ideas? Pound cakes come out fine, it's these moister cakes I have problems with. I don't want to give up because it is a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mishykrum November 02, 2012

Like this needs ANOTHER raving review, but... it is awesome. This was one of the moistest, lightest bundt cakes I've ever had. I also loved the level of chocolate-- not a bamby-pamby light chocolate, but not so dark/bitter that my youngest wouldn't eat it. Spot on! I topped it off with my great-grandmother''s hard chocolate glaze recipe== delicious. After everyone finished their initial "Mmmmm"s, I simply stated, "Kittencal" and they understood why it was so awesome. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RealFoodie2 October 18, 2012

This cake was A-MAZ-ING! I just got a new skull mold pan and was worried the cake would fall apart while i was trying to put the two halves together but it held up beautifully and wonderfully moist. It tastes similar to the hershey's cake recipe on the back on the can, minus the milk. This one is definitely a keeper. Also, love the fact that it's cheap to make no milk, and has pantry staples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nika The Mad Baker September 18, 2012

We inaugurated our brand new bundt pan with this cake! I discovered that it was a 6 cup (not a 12 cup) pan, so I halved the recipe. The only change I made was to reduce the sugar from 1 to 3/4 of a cup, and it was still plenty sweet for us. Also, I used 2 eggs, and only 1/2 cup canola oil to compensate. I omitted the streusel, and topped it with an easy chocolate glaze (14 oz sweetened, condensed milk, 3 oz unsweetened chocolate, 3 oz semisweet chocolate, and 1 tsp vanilla heated together, and allowed to cool).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K January 01, 2012

Oh so good. I really loved the touch of orange in this cake. We opted to use the struesel in this cake and it was wonderful. I then glazed with your chocolate glaze that hardens and it was a wonderful duo. THank you for sharing this moist delicious cake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 15, 2010

This was an awesome cake!! Easy, and repeatedly requested! I added the dark chocolate glaze (also Kittencal), and it was soooo easy and good! The only thingI changed was that I used about 1 1/2 tsp of orange extract added to water instead of juice, as I was out. Very rich and moist! Loved the ease!! Thanks again, Kittencal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pawsfurthought March 29, 2010

Very delicious moist cake. This will be my only chocolate cake recipe from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sarita in Austin Texas March 10, 2010

I really love this recipe and it has become a favorite. Not too sweet and delicious on its own without icing. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heidibaar February 20, 2010
Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake