Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2013

      This really is one of those dump-it-all-in-at-the-same-time one-bowl cake wonders that is impossible to goof up. The colour is beautifully rich and deep with a flavour to match. I use 1/2 cup strong coffee as part of the water, and omit the juice and orange flavouring just because of a citrus allergy. I like the Hershey's premium extra special cocoa.
      One time I tried using 1/2 cup less oil as an experiment and the cake was quite dry for my taste, so the oil in the cake really is necessary for its moist texture. Kittencal knows best.
      Being such a reliable, super quick and easy bundt cake, it is one of my go-to's for funerals, and club events. It is mind bogglingly yummy topped with Kittencal's chocolate glaze!
      I always bake mine in a much used, well greased and floured heavy-weight dark cast Nordic Ware bundt pan and reduce the temperature by 20 degrees (which happens to work best in my oven). Cooled on the rack for 10 minutes, and it falls out effortlessly every time.
      One little trick I use is to 'drop' the batter filled pan on the countertop once or twice (only a distance of 1 inch!) to get rid of the largest bubbles just before popping it in the oven. With my really fancy patterned Nordic Ware pans, I find that this particularly helps with the detail. Sometimes some of those highly detailed pans do require a little coaxing around the edges with the fingertips to 'break the suction' and get them out in one piece and is true whatever recipe you use.
      This cake is a masterpiece. Thank you again to our wonderful and always reliable Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      Just adding my voice to the chorus here.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      I have made this many times and every time it comes out perfectly. It is incredibly decadent and moist and gets rave reviews. Also, super easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Recipe is straight forward, quick and cooking times pretty much spot on. I'm not the best in the kitchen but I've made this three times now and it's a keeper so many thanks. First time, I made the bundt cake with just a dusting of icing sugar on the top and it went down a storm. This time I'm trying it with the recommended Glaze and it's looking good. I use all water in the cake mix but next time I'll try the orange juice to see how that turns out. As yet I haven't tried adding the streusel since I'm not a nut fan. Being from the UK, I use organic Rapeseed Oil which I believe is the same as Canola oil and de-caff coffee granules as I have a caffeine intolerence. I also tried halving the recipe and made cupcakes with a variety of frostings atop which went down really well as a birthday gift. The only time I had a problem was, when making the cupcakes, I initially tried to use a silicon mini-bundt mould and I found the cake mix just too moist to work with silicon. (However, the 'broken' cakes made a great sponge base for individual trifles allowing me to use up some stewed fruit from the freezer with a chocolate custard topping.) I use a well greased metal 12 cup bundt pan or paper cases for the cupcakes and this works great. Lastly, so far I haven't experienced the 'greasy' or over coffee'd problem that Candace Michelle suffered and usually if anything can go wrong, it will go wrong for me so I hope you have better luck next time, Candace.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2014

      Really good! Rich and moist. The coffee and orange juice gives it a more complex flavor. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      Easy to make with things you probably have in the cupboards. I buttered and floured the pan and it popped right out. It didn't when I tried it with spray.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      This cake was easy to make. I love that it only took one bowl. Like other reviewers, I reduced the sugar (to 1 1/2 cups) and the oil (to 1 cup). The cake still came out moist, and I didn't have any trouble with it sticking to the pan. I wish I had been able to try it with the orange juice....maybe next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      Made this last night in hopes to take this to our football fundraiser sweets table. Once again, it didn't come out in one piece. I waited the 15 minutes and even used my NordicWare Cathedral bundt pan instead of the last one I used. I made the pan release stuff and really covered the whole inside well with it. I think I need to let the cake cool a lot longer for it to release from the pan? Any ideas? Pound cakes come out fine, it's these moister cakes I have problems with. I don't want to give up because it is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      Like this needs ANOTHER raving review, but... it is awesome. This was one of the moistest, lightest bundt cakes I've ever had. I also loved the level of chocolate-- not a bamby-pamby light chocolate, but not so dark/bitter that my youngest wouldn't eat it. Spot on! I topped it off with my great-grandmother''s hard chocolate glaze recipe== delicious. After everyone finished their initial "Mmmmm"s, I simply stated, "Kittencal" and they understood why it was so awesome. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      This cake was A-MAZ-ING! I just got a new skull mold pan and was worried the cake would fall apart while i was trying to put the two halves together but it held up beautifully and wonderfully moist. It tastes similar to the hershey's cake recipe on the back on the can, minus the milk. This one is definitely a keeper. Also, love the fact that it's cheap to make no milk, and has pantry staples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      We inaugurated our brand new bundt pan with this cake! I discovered that it was a 6 cup (not a 12 cup) pan, so I halved the recipe. The only change I made was to reduce the sugar from 1 to 3/4 of a cup, and it was still plenty sweet for us. Also, I used 2 eggs, and only 1/2 cup canola oil to compensate. I omitted the streusel, and topped it with an easy chocolate glaze (14 oz sweetened, condensed milk, 3 oz unsweetened chocolate, 3 oz semisweet chocolate, and 1 tsp vanilla heated together, and allowed to cool).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      Oh so good. I really loved the touch of orange in this cake. We opted to use the struesel in this cake and it was wonderful. I then glazed with your chocolate glaze that hardens and it was a wonderful duo. THank you for sharing this moist delicious cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      This was an awesome cake!! Easy, and repeatedly requested! I added the dark chocolate glaze (also Kittencal), and it was soooo easy and good! The only thingI changed was that I used about 1 1/2 tsp of orange extract added to water instead of juice, as I was out. Very rich and moist! Loved the ease!! Thanks again, Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Very delicious moist cake. This will be my only chocolate cake recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I really love this recipe and it has become a favorite. Not too sweet and delicious on its own without icing. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I dont know if maybe I did something wrong but this just turned out to be a disaster, and a bit too coffee flavored for me. Fell apart when it came out of the bundt pan.I cooked it almost 40 minutes longer than stated and it overflowed from my bundt pan! Very moist but grease just dripped off it. I am going to give it another try just because the reviews were so wonderful, I have to believe I missed something somewhere!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      We love this cake! So easy to put together and a dessert that everyone enjoys! I've made this with and without the streusel. I would say take the few extra minutes and add it! You'll be glad you did! Thanks Kitt! I know this is a cake I'll be making for many years to come! Made for Chef's Pick Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      A nice chocolate cake, I used 1 1/2 cups cold coffee (instead of water) because I didn't have the instant coffee, worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This cake is a winner for sure! I was feeling a little adventureous and took some marshmallow creme (from a jar)and mixed some walnuts and special dark chips into it, then I poured that around the batter half way through. I then poured the rest of the batter on top. It was a little gooey, lol, but sooo good! I made this for KK's Kittencals Top 25 Chef's Picks Event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Made for KK's Kittencals Top 25 Chefs Picks Event. Kitz my dear once again another easy peasy no fail cake...with which I am fast becoming MDSIL's #1 favorite Mom!!! I did not make the stuesal as DSIL doesn't care for nuts and I am not huge fan of coconut. But next time I make this cake I am gonna put a ganache in place of the stuesal and lock in my placing as Daves #1 MOM>>>LOL> Thank you for a family pleaser!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 467.2
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    47%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 367.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.4 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 36.0 g
    144%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites