67 Reviews

This really is one of those dump-it-all-in-at-the-same-time one-bowl cake wonders that is impossible to goof up. The colour is beautifully rich and deep with a flavour to match. I use 1/2 cup strong coffee as part of the water, and omit the juice and orange flavouring just because of a citrus allergy. I like the Hershey's premium extra special cocoa.
One time I tried using 1/2 cup less oil as an experiment and the cake was quite dry for my taste, so the oil in the cake really is necessary for its moist texture. Kittencal knows best.
Being such a reliable, super quick and easy bundt cake, it is one of my go-to's for funerals, and club events. It is mind bogglingly yummy topped with Kittencal's chocolate glaze!
I always bake mine in a much used, well greased and floured heavy-weight dark cast Nordic Ware bundt pan and reduce the temperature by 20 degrees (which happens to work best in my oven). Cooled on the rack for 10 minutes, and it falls out effortlessly every time.
One little trick I use is to 'drop' the batter filled pan on the countertop once or twice (only a distance of 1 inch!) to get rid of the largest bubbles just before popping it in the oven. With my really fancy patterned Nordic Ware pans, I find that this particularly helps with the detail. Sometimes some of those highly detailed pans do require a little coaxing around the edges with the fingertips to 'break the suction' and get them out in one piece and is true whatever recipe you use.
This cake is a masterpiece. Thank you again to our wonderful and always reliable Kittencal!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csgeddes February 04, 2013

Just adding my voice to the chorus here.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holly Mercer December 12, 2012

I have made this many times and every time it comes out perfectly. It is incredibly decadent and moist and gets rave reviews. Also, super easy to make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmt36 June 28, 2011

Recipe is straight forward, quick and cooking times pretty much spot on. I'm not the best in the kitchen but I've made this three times now and it's a keeper so many thanks. First time, I made the bundt cake with just a dusting of icing sugar on the top and it went down a storm. This time I'm trying it with the recommended Glaze and it's looking good. I use all water in the cake mix but next time I'll try the orange juice to see how that turns out. As yet I haven't tried adding the streusel since I'm not a nut fan. Being from the UK, I use organic Rapeseed Oil which I believe is the same as Canola oil and de-caff coffee granules as I have a caffeine intolerence. I also tried halving the recipe and made cupcakes with a variety of frostings atop which went down really well as a birthday gift. The only time I had a problem was, when making the cupcakes, I initially tried to use a silicon mini-bundt mould and I found the cake mix just too moist to work with silicon. (However, the 'broken' cakes made a great sponge base for individual trifles allowing me to use up some stewed fruit from the freezer with a chocolate custard topping.) I use a well greased metal 12 cup bundt pan or paper cases for the cupcakes and this works great. Lastly, so far I haven't experienced the 'greasy' or over coffee'd problem that Candace Michelle suffered and usually if anything can go wrong, it will go wrong for me so I hope you have better luck next time, Candace.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perskeet February 21, 2010

Delicious! I altered the recipe by using 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar and adding 1 cup of brewed decaf instead of the water and orange juice. Topped it with a quick chocolate glaze. Family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larryjill98 October 22, 2015

So easy to make! Instead of the instant coffee granules and the 1 1/2 cups OJ or water I just used 1 1/2 cups of hot coffee. SO delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daniw413 October 21, 2015

Really good! Rich and moist. The coffee and orange juice gives it a more complex flavor. This one is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchencastaway August 07, 2014

Easy to make with things you probably have in the cupboards. I buttered and floured the pan and it popped right out. It didn't when I tried it with spray.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 26, 2013

This cake was easy to make. I love that it only took one bowl. Like other reviewers, I reduced the sugar (to 1 1/2 cups) and the oil (to 1 cup). The cake still came out moist, and I didn't have any trouble with it sticking to the pan. I wish I had been able to try it with the orange juice....maybe next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka June 12, 2013

Made this last night in hopes to take this to our football fundraiser sweets table. Once again, it didn't come out in one piece. I waited the 15 minutes and even used my NordicWare Cathedral bundt pan instead of the last one I used. I made the pan release stuff and really covered the whole inside well with it. I think I need to let the cake cool a lot longer for it to release from the pan? Any ideas? Pound cakes come out fine, it's these moister cakes I have problems with. I don't want to give up because it is a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mishykrum November 02, 2012
Kittencal's Moist One-Bowl Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake