16 Reviews

My kitchen sure smells real good today. This soup is absolutely fantastic. Delicious blend of flavors. All I can say is Wow Kittencal. I love your recipes. I followed the recipe except I had about 1/2 cup frozen corn and added that, and I added a bit extra broth. The meatballs are wonderful. I made 40 meatballs with the amount of meat mixture and added them all to the soup. This is a scrumptious soup, thanks so much Kittencal. I hope you never stop posting recipes you are wonderful.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny December 14, 2008

WOW!! I consider myself really good at making soup and I think this is the best soup I have ever made. My DH agrees, such depth of flavor. I sauteed the onions slowly while I peeled the carrots and celery and then added them with the onion and sauteed them. I always do this longer than recipes call for. I thought 2 hours seemed excessive to cook everything but decided who am I to argue with Kitten so I did it and wow am I glad I did it is truly amazing. I did add the green beans in the last 20 min and spinach at the very end. I doubled the recipe and used half tomato sauce and half crushed tomatoes like the recipe suggests. I wasn't sure what to use for the tomato sauce so I used Presidents Choice organic basil and tomato, it is fairly bland. Not sure most people would need to double this recipe it makes a lot but I am glad I did. Oh also used extra broth and it was still not a thin soup. Thanks so much for this recipe. LOVE IT!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen September 11, 2011

Omitted the zucchinis and though 5star even without, it needs the liquid. Cant wait to try with zucchini! THX!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovebunsen February 04, 2010

I've made this soup once or twice to good reviews but the meatballs are what I love most. I've used them in numerous recipes and they are especially great in spaghetti sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gizmom August 21, 2011

Unbelievable!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy RN March 28, 2011

Excellent Soup! I have made this recipe 2 times now, it has gotten rave reviews from family & friends both times. With this last batch of soup, my intention was to freeze some for another meal...we didn't have any left to freeze! Thanks for the great recipes Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PB & J October 06, 2010

I've been told that anything by Kittencal is amazing. This soup certainly fits the bill. It was a little more time consuming to prepare than I prefer, but definitely worth it. This is a great recipe for making on my day off. I omitted the zucchini (small town grocery store...didn't look too good.) I only added the pasta to half the soup so I can save the rest. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
China Mom February 02, 2010

Great soup! I took this to a family dinner and everyone loved it. I did make a couple substitutions - I used fire-roasted crushed tomatoes (what I had on hand), and I used ground turkey breast for the meatballs. I also used cannelini beans because thats what I had. This is a really versatile, hearty soup, great for these cold damp days. Will make often, thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalija October 11, 2009

This was fantastic! I doubled the recipe for leftovers for freezer food (hope it freezes well). Had my sister-in-law and her husband over for dinner and they enthused as well (my DH doesn't feel soup is suitable for dinner, even on a zero-degree night). I just about quadrupled the veggies by adding a head of cauliflower and 12 brussell sprouts (split in half), some extra carrots, extra zucchini and extra green beans. I used fresh oregano since I didn't have dried. I don't think it matters, really, what you put in. I also used wholemeal pasta sprials as the base, which added a nutty flavour. The kids LOVED this! Kittencal, you've done it again! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieD Oz June 13, 2009
Kittencal's Mini Meatball Minestrone Soup