12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very yummy. I used my homemade taco seasoning instead of the store-bought packet and reduced the crushed red pepper to 1/2 tsp. I also subbed corn for the olives. Thanks for the terrific recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
betka November 18, 2012

This was a 5 in my book. For my husband a 4. We chose to use brown rice, so be sure to add extra liquid if you use brown rice and adjust the cook time. We had to add 1c. water extra and at least a half hour. It took forever for the brown rice to soften. Even so...absolutely loved the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl May 10, 2010

This was really easy and really great. I used the peppers I had on hand, a red, green chile, and a jalepeno. I also garnished with chedder cheese and sour cream. This would be great with corn tortillas or corn chips. I will make this one again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Abstract October 16, 2009

This is an easy and tasty dish. However, I feel something is missing in the flavor. I'm not a good enough cook to figure out what is missing, but the flavor just feels incomplete. That being said, I enjoyed this dish. I added hot sauce to my bowl, shredded cheese, and some crumbled tortilla chips. Eating the leftovers, I thought it might be good rolled up in a tortilla, which it was. So many different ways to eat this. I need to make this again and see about adding something...maybe a can of green chilies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BKBroiler October 06, 2014

Good flavoe, easy prep, great family one dish meal. Since I try to eat only whole grains I par cooked brown rice in microwave then added it in to finish along with a little extra broth. Subbed ripe olives for green to reduce sodium. Thanks Kittencal for another never miss recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen R. March 17, 2012

Whenever I want Mexican food at home and I'm tired of tacos & nachos, I go to this recipe. Easy to prep, cooked in one pot, and filling and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caprimom February 29, 2012

This recipe was very nice.
I liked that it was cooked all in one pan.

Reminded me of the stuffing for stuffed peppers.

I really like your tested and proven recipes Kittencal.

Cheers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewEnglandCook March 18, 2011

Why are my reviews not being posted??????? .. I review this at least a week ago.. It is delicious.. DH is not to keen on rice, however said the flavor of this was perfect and I totaly agree..The only ingredient i didn't use was the olives. It is a very easy to prepare recipe. thank you kitten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl October 18, 2010

This was really easy to throw together. I made it exactly as posted, using black olives instead of green. If you like tacos, you will like this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! August 16, 2010

This was incredible! The rice was so fluffy and moist and the dish had incredible flavor! This is a keeper. Kittencal - your recipes are always fantastic! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Henley2010 May 06, 2010
Kittencal's Mexi Ground Beef and Rice