Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Method for Oven Cooked Bacon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Method for Oven Cooked Bacon

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2011

      No more grease all over the stove & bacon cooks up nice & flat. While on vacation, I even cooked a batch the night before so we could enjoy it for a quick early breakfast. I stopped spraying the foil & the bacon still lifts up easily. I found draining the grease before putting a new layer of bacon on the tray, reduces burning & mess in the oven. I strain the grease then pour it into an ice cube tray & once frozen, transfer it to a freezer bag. I freeze bacon to crumble into salads, roasted veggies, BLT sandwiches, etc... My son-in-law thought it wouldn't taste the same but I served it to him for New Year's brunch & he couldn't tell it was previously frozen. I reheat it on a plate in the microwave with paper towel over top. Now we have bacon whenever we want. Many many thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      This was awesome. It worked perfectly. Thick-cut Bacon was crispy after 20 minutes, turned over at 10. We like ours limp, so we'll try 17 next time. Clean up was a snap with tin foil covering the pan. I made a huge batch and cut the strips in half with a pair of kitchen scissors after they were cooked, layed them 4 strips at a time between layers of wax paper, sealed them in a plastic freezer baggie, and now whenever we want bacon, I just pull a few out, 20 seconds in the microwave and viola! No bacon smell permiating the entire house, and no greasy spots all over my clothes and favorite apron. I'll never make it the old-fashioned way again! Thanks again, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      I've been cooking bacon this way for more than 35 years...never thought about the freezing and storing for later use issue, but it's a great idea. I use a grill 'pan' that has small holes for drainage, rather like an old-style broiler pan. I don't use foil... What I like best about this method is that the bacon is less salty and doesn't cook in it's own fat....and it's just plain easier than standing over a grease-spitting frying pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This deserves more than 5*'s! I must admit I burned my first batch, but it was totally my fault. I set the timer for the second half of cooking time, but stepped away and did not hear the timer. Oh boy, what a waste LOL! However, the second batch was a winner by far. I lined my pans with foil, using the fatty ends of the bacon that I had cut off, to rub on the foil instead of nonstick spray. The bacon cooked perfectly, with much less shrinkage that cooking on the stove and it was perfectly crispy. I plan never to cook bacon on the stove again. Lining the pans with foil is just as important to the ease of this recipe as cooking it in the oven. Clean up such a breeze. I had nice bacon drippings to save with no muss or fuss! Drained on paper towels, put some in the freezer and some in the fridge to add to salads, etc. Thanks Kittencal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      This was so much easier to make then cooking it on the stove. I used turkey bacon and this only took five minutes to cook in my oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      the only way to make bacon in my opinion. it stays flat and gets nicely crisp. I drain the grease half way through cooking. save yourself some clean up and use foil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      Awesome awesome awesome!!! I will never ever ever make bacon in the microwave or stovetop again (well, maybe in the hot summer :) I was worried about splatter and mess inside my oven - or that the grease might catch fire - but this was perfect! Thank you Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      So easy!! No more burns and hardly any mess! Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Perfect bacon. I made last week and aside from the few pieces that I ate after they were done, I did freeze. I made this last week and tonight I made an omelet and used a couple of frozen strips of bacon with that recipe. The bacon tasted fresh and gave the dish a lovely flavor. You are an awesome cook, Kittencal, and thanks for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Kittencal - You've done it again! Tried this today - worked beautifully! What a time saver - and no heavy smoky smell throughout the house. Thanks soooooo much for a great tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      I must have forgotten to review this, but the other reviews say it all. Simple, crisp, easy, and oh-so-good. Kittencal rocks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Excellent! And best of all... no popping grease from the frying pan. My poor hubby loves bacon and I won't buy it because I hate to fry it. After trying this recipe, hubby will now get his bacon again. Thanks Kittencal for another winning recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Why did I ever cook bacon any other way? This is great! No mess, no spatter, no strangely curled slices, just nice, crisp, flat bacon with minimum effort and cleanup. I lined my pan with foil, but did not spray it--no problem! I think I may reduce the time slightly next time. This is another winner! Thanks, Kittencal! Made for KK's Chef's Pick Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Not sure what took me so long to try making bacon in the oven; perhaps it was this morning when I was frying it, stovetop, and saw the "mess" I had. So, I stopped frying and baked the rest, following your directions, and Viola! the very best bacon ever. Should have known. Thank you once again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Will never fry bacon again! No splatter, no sting from hot grease and nice crispy bacon. No fuss clean up so that is a big plus too. Also drained my bacon on paper towels before serving. Thank you sweetie for the tips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      I gave this recipe 5 stars. I love my bacon done this way! It's wonderfully crisp just like you get in the restaurants. I only make my bacon this way now as it's so easy! The only difference is I cook my bacon for 15 minutes. I love the fact that my shirts don't get stained from grease splashes and I don't get grease burns. I'll try lining my pan w/foil next time for easy clean-up. I too also drain my bacon on paper towels to soak the extra grease. Thanks for the freezing & microwave tip! I will for sure make my bacon this way again! Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      My husband complains I always burn the bacon. Yeah, yeah, yeah...whatever! I used your method Saturday morning and it was fantastic! No mess! I loved it. Oh, and he didn't complain! Will be doing bacon this way from now on! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I have been doing my bacon this way for years. It was especially great when my kids were still in school. I stored it in the freezer with wax paper between them and just took out what I needed, zapped it in the micro and we had breakfast! Although my kids are grown I still do my bacon this way so it is available always for salads, burgers or breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

    • on July 30, 2009

      First time I've ever tried to make bacon in the oven and I wasn't disappointed! No stove top mess to clean up and I didn't smell like bacon for the rest of the day! WOO HOO!! I used my Pampered Chef bar pan and upped the oven to 425 degrees to make it go a bit faster. Only about 2/3 of a pound of bacon would fit on my pan so I did three batches to get a full two pounds cooked for BLT's for dinner (with some left over for breakfast the next day). I didn't drain my grease or anything between batches, simply removed the cooked bacon and layed out the raw bacon on the hot pan in the drippings; just be careful not to tip your pan as you're taking it in and out of the oven! You won't be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Method for Oven Cooked Bacon

    Serving Size: 1 (681 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3116.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2758
    88%
    Total Fat 306.4 g
    471%
    Saturated Fat 102.0 g
    510%
    Cholesterol 462.6 mg
    154%
    Sodium 5667.6 mg
    236%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 78.9 g
    157%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites