Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2008

      This sauce is fantastic. My aunt who absolutely HATES red sauce thought it was wonderful the only thing i did different was when I doubled the sauce I used two cans of tomato sauce with the two cans of whole tomatoes for it to be less chunky and not quite as thick. This is definitely a crowd pleaser try her Low Fat Chicken Parmigiana too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Another excellent recipe here. I increased the garlic by quite a bit and used fresh herbs (basil and flat leaf italian parsley). I also used san marzano valley crushed tomatoes (the only tomatoes I use in my italian sauces/gravies). I kept the tomato amount the same and used only 1 can of tomato paste. Would have been WAY to thick for my taste had I used 2 as stated. I used a dry shiraz wine in the sauce and the flavor was incredible! Something so simple and tasted so heavenly. Will keep making this one for all my marinara needs. Thank you again Kittencal. You're really making me look like I know what I'm doing in the kitchen! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      This was a simple and easy recipe for marinara I made for 16 people on vacation! It had good flavor, however, next time I will increase the garlic and decrease the paste. I also like more basil than oregano in my sauce, so next time I will flip those as well! Thanks for a yummy, easy sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

    • on April 02, 2008

      A delicious, simple marinara sauce. This is a definite keeper. I made this sauce to pair with my home made ravioli today and it was certainly a hit. The only wine I had on hand was a home made red and it worked well. Thanks for sharing this wonderful gem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Wow! This fills the house with wonderful smells. My kids and I could not stay out of it while it was cooking. A loaf of french bread disappeared as we kept dipping into the sauce. They want me to try using pureed tomatoes next time....we shall see!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This is the Best marinara sauce!! I used this with Kittencal's recipe for eggplant parmesan. I had some left over and I'm going to have it for lunch today! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Kit I made this to go with your eggplant recipe Kittencal's Eggplant Parmesan (Vegetarian) well nothing less than 5 stars for all of your recipes, this one will be made many times again, thanks Kit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      This is an excellent marinara sauce. I used it make Kittencal's Spinach & Four Cheese Manicotti and for spaghetti and meatballs for the kids. It was a big hit. I wouldn't change a thing because it is perfect the way it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      this is my new favorite marinara! BF loved it. i let it simmer while i made meatballs (#69173) then threw them in after they cooked. what a great super simple delicious meal! :) definately using again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Thanks for sharing a wonderful sauce. A great way to use the tomatoes out of my garden. I used the sauce on boneless pork loin steaks; simmering them in a dutch oven on top of the stove. After the meat was tender I added mozzarella cheese on top of each steak, covered, and turned the stove off. Rave reviews from my whole family. I served it with rice and corn. Definitely a keeper; thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Used this in Kittencal's Stuffed Bell Pepper Kittencal's Stuffed Green Bell Peppers. Tasty indeed!! Will use this from now on for my Marinara Sauce. Thanks again, I am a real fan!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      This sauce is so good I could eat it just by itself. I followed the directions and ingredients exactly and wouldn't change a thing. I did puree it as I was using if for Vegetarian Lasagna and my kids don't care for any chunks, but other than that is was wonderful. I used a Mission Hill Sauvignon Merlot from British Columbia for the wine that DH bought at a duty free shop. That will be our little secret.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      We really liked this slightly spicy marinara sauce. I used this sauce in Olive Garden Stuffed Chicken Parmigiana. The leftovers made a good meatless topping for spaghetti. Thanks Kittencal. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      This is a great marinara sauce - the taste is very complex. I've never attempted to make my own sauce before and this recipe was so simple with great results, not to mention my house smelled SO wonderful while this was on the stove! I made a triple batch and froze it amounts perfect for dinner for 2. Sauce thaws quickly when the container is placed in warm water. Easy, tasty dinner! Thanks for the great recipe, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Really good. So easy to make and it smells nice too. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      Such an easy marinara recipe! I added 12 ounces of water, one more tbsp of sugar and, being the wimp I am, left out the cayenne pepper and tabasco sauce. I did add some red pepper flakes, however. I used the full amount of white wine and it is simmering now, smells wonderful. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      Great recipe, thanks! A much more complex flavor than store bought sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Very tasty sauce! Used it to make your Chicken Breast With Tomato Sauce and Mozzarella. Made as is but didn't use sugar. Basic sauce that I will use again and again and again! Thanks Kit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Every cook should have a staple recipe such as this one in their collection. I made a full batch in my crock pot, first sauteing the onions in a bit of vegetable broth. Everything else was quickly dumped in my crock pot and set on high for 3 hours and low for another 4. (Did not use the sugar.) The sauce was rather thick so I added about 12 ounces of water and still had a rich and delicious sauce. Half the sauce has gone into the freezer for later use. The rest was used along with Kittencal's Low-Fat Parmesan Turkey Meatballs and served on whole wheat penne pasta. Superb. Thanks Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)

    Serving Size: 1 (317 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.7
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    46%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 933.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes