Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)

    Average Rating:

    121 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 121

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2009

    • on September 03, 2009

      Very nice sauce! I didn't have canned roma tomatoes, so I just used a large can of diced tomatoes. I also added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of sugar. No red pepper flakes onhand, but will try next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Another GREAT recipe from Kittencal! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      As always, can rely on Kittencal for great recipes. This sauce is soooo simple and soooo delicious! Added Kittencal's parmesan meatballs for a wonderful dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Awesome. I used this sauce for Kittencal's Stuffed Green Bell Peppers. I was so excited I forgot to take a picture of it. I will use this recipe again. I did have to use water since I used fresh roma tomatoes instead of canned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Love the addition of the wine! That's really the only difference between this and more normal recipe, and that difference has made this my new normal recipe. I doubled the recipe and added the called for amount of sugar and the full cup of wine. It was a bit thick, so I did add just about a half cup of water. Thank you for posting your great recipes! Can't wait to try more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Great! I ran out of jarred sauce....and I needed an easy, quick recipe. I made the sauce with extra garlic ( browned first) and extra red wine (more like 3/4 cup). I did add the 2 tsp of the sugar. After letting this sauce simmer for a while I added my meatballs ( my own recipe for Italian Meatballs) and simmered the whole thing for an addional hour. I served it all over al dente spaghetti with hand grated Romano cheese. Thanks Kittencal for anothjer great recipe -I will definately make again. I made this again tonight-lots of kids-little in the pantry - I made his recipe exactly as directed ( doubled it) and then I made my italian meatballs-I simmered the whole thing for 2 hours, then I served it over linguine and with abm rolls-Everyone loved this and wanted to know " what brand of sauce this is' Thanks again Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I love the way you cook. When I'm searching recipes I always go to yours first. Thanks! This was wonderful as I knew it would be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      This was PERFECT in every way. Like all of Kittencal's recipes... I served it with #200296 Kittencal's Easy and Delicious Ranch-Parmesan Chicken. Wonderful meal! Big thumbs up from the whole family. Tomorrow night I plan to take the leftovers and make chicken parmigianna sandwiches. Thanks once again, Kittencal, for a superb recipe--you make me look like such a good cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Absolutely another delicious recipe. Made this afternoon for a diner for during the week. Couldn't stop myself sampling it all the time while it was cooking. Made it as you have written. I added about 6 cloves of garlic...yummy ... and 2 cans of roma tomatoes. And of course I added the wine..the whole 1/2 cup, what is a sauce without wine? As well I added the pepper flakes, perhaps more than the 1/2 tsp and some brown sugar. I had it simmering for a little over 2 hours and didn't add any water to it. This sauce is such a versatile sauce for so many things. Perfect consistency for me. I love it and that is without pasta...wait till I add that. Oh this is going to be such a lovely diner this week, can hardly wait. Kitten can I ask why you are not a chef in your own restaurant. I would be visiting your restaurant all the time. Thanks so much for this post. You are fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Excellent marinara sauce. I also added about 8 oz of water to thin it some. After 2 hours it got very thick and the water seemed to fix that. Thanks Kitz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      This is, hands down, the best marinara sauce I have ever eaten! I made it as instructed for pasta and it was a huge hit with the family. I used it again for chicken parmesan the following week, using a large can of diced tomatoes instead of the crushed and the tomatoes held their shape, which was good with that dish. This is a restaurant worthy recipe. Thanks for posting this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      This was very good. I knew it would be since it was a recipe from Kittencal. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Awesome sauce, Kittencal! I used it for Eggplant Parmigiana - and it was the perfect sauce. (I combined this recipe with "Oven Fried Eggplant (Aubergine)" and it was fantastic! Just added a little shredded mozzerella to the eggplant during final minutes of cooking and served with spaghetti and this fan-tab-u-lous sauce!) Thanks for another great one Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Excellent sauce. I overserved the better half by accident and when I set it down on the table I knew he would never be able to finish. My shock and surprise when he entered the kitchen holding a completely clean plate! He has NEVER finished a plate of spaghetti. Next time I will quadruple the recipe and freeze in single serve containers. Looking forward to utilizing this sauce in lasagna, chicken parmigiana, and I think I'm going to try it on a pizza with roasted garlic, mushrooms, onions, and green peppers. Sorry Prego and Ragu, you've lost my business forever. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      Was pretty simple (I always thought that making your own pasta sauce would be more difficult, but using some prepared items from the store like the canned tomatoes made it easy), but can't say that it was my favorite. I'm thinking maybe I would add some water to thin it out a bit in the future. The flavor seemed okay, just a bit too thick for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This is restaurant grade marinara! I doubled the recipe so that I could have some extra for other dishes, but used it on My Chicken Parmigiana. I added a little more extra garlic and I couldn't find roma tomatoes canned, so I used diced regular. I used some cheap red wine, and everything turned out perfect. I would highly recommend to not omit the wine to anyone, I think it added so much to the sauce. Thanks for posting Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Very nice marinara, Kittencal! I usually don't use paste and I was surprised that I liked the thickness. I used merlot wine and added a sugar cube. This is a great "all-purpose" sauce. Thanks for another great recipe! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      I made this to top Chicken Parmesan - Aaron Mccargo, Jr's Masterpiece!. My husband kept grabbing spoonfools of the sauce to eat after dinner it was so good. I asked him if he wanted me to put it on a pizza sometime and he said, "I want you to put it on EVERYTHING!"- So, I think he liked it. I wasnt paying attention and I thought it was 1 full cup of wine instead of the 1/2 and was afraid it wouldnt turn out right. Even with my mistake it was still amazing. Simmered for 2 maybe more hours. It went well over Polenta Parmesan too. I knew it would be amazing because all your recipes are. Thank you Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I needed a quick recipe for some plain spaghetti sauce for some company that came over ( I thought they did not like italian sausage in it) I knew to go to one of Kittencal's recipes. Everyone chose this marinara sauce over the one with italian sausage. My husband even came up to me later without being prompted and told me "That sauce really was good!" that means this is a winner! My kids loved it too. So simple, I threw it all together and then left it for about 1 hour or less and we loved it!! Thanks again for another great recipe! Oh and I used some frozen tomatoes from my garden instead of canned. I also did not have chili pepper flakes so used chili powder instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)

    Serving Size: 1 (317 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.7
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    46%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 933.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes