124 Reviews

Not quite sure how I feel about this. But, I can say it was edible, hence the four stars. Well, as I was making, I was concerned that this sauce was thicker than what I like and what I am used to. In general, I am not a big fan of tomatoes, and even on my pizza as well as pasta, I always request "go light" on the sauce. I let this simmer a long time, a very long time. During the simmering I did add quite a bit of water for two reasons, again, the sauce was much thicker than what I was hoping for, and to prevent "burning" the sauce, because again, I did let it simmer for quite some time. Now, in all fairness, I say it was a thicker sauce, but really it is a "chunky" sauce, with the onions and small chunks of tomatoes, makes for a chunkier sauce. I will admit I did freeze the rest for future use, hoping not to waste the left over. If I were to ever make this again, I would def use less tomato paste. But, I will probably not make this again, because it just wasn't what I was looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative October 23, 2011

I can't say anymore about this sauce than what was said. Excellent!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane S September 26, 2011

Once again a WINNER!! Thanks Kittencalskitchen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue's Kitchen September 14, 2011

Simply the best sauce ever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisis30 August 17, 2011

This was so simple and yet so delicious! I followed the recipe exactly using only one can of tomato paste and 6 cloves of garlic because we love garlic. I served it with Kittencal's Layered Eggplant Parmesan (Vegetarian)#320093, whole wheat spaghetti and a simple green salad. DH could only go yum yum as he ate. As always, Kittencal you never let me down. Thank you for a wonderful sauce which I will use over and over! UPDATE: Made this again (not realizing I had already made it before) and added some homemade turkey meatballs to the sauce after it had simmered about 1 1/2 to 2 hours...DH loved it not realizing he had turkey meatballs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf August 07, 2011

This is ABOLUTELT The Best Marinara Sauce I have ever tasted! I served it along with a Zucchini Frittata. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) July 29, 2011

My husband called this "the best tomato sauce I've ever tasted." We really enjoyed it and I have made it twice now. We prefer not to use canned anything, so I halved a bunch of the small tomatoes that are grown locally where we live, and are about cherry tomato size. Threw those in once the onions and garlic were starting to get soft. Did use the wine. It made an incredibly flavorful sauce. I will make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meliska July 12, 2011

Yummy! I made a double batch. Wish I would have made more to store in the freezer. I added wine and more garlic.This was so easy and so much better than store bought sauce. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 24, 2011

I have NEVER had a complaint with Kittencal's recipes, however, this is the 1st recipe I had to alter a bit. Still ABSOLUTELY sensational but I added an extra can of tomato sauce (against my will) because I felt the sauce was too chunky to top the Spinach & Cheese Manicotti (by Kittencal). I had to up the seasonings to make up for the extra sauce and it turned out amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weyerswife May 17, 2011

This was a very good marinara sauce. I don't like big chunks of tomatoes in my food, so I used petite diced tomatoes. I used red wine, but didn't like the odd, dark red color it gave it. I did like the flavor. Might try half red wine, half white wine next time. I will also add some water, as suggested in the recipe. I simmered mine quite a while and it was a little dryer than I like. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F May 07, 2011
Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)