121 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. Quick and easy. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn February 15, 2012

Very, very good sauce. I made this to go with your manicotti recipe and we loved it. I did add the wine and let it cook for about 3 hours (since I had the time) and it was flavorful, thick and absolutely delicious. I will ALWAYS use this sauce for manicotti, its so good. Thank you Kittencal for sharing your recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 30, 2012

Really lovely. I used ½ a cup of a rather expensice Shiraz and I added about ½ a cup of grated parmesan and a tablespoon of wine vinegar at the start of cooking. I mucked up the sugar and put 2 tablespoons instead of 2 teaspoons but it was still really nice. Then just before I served it I stirred through about ¼ of a cup of grated colby cheese. I cooked this for an hour then turned it off and left it to sit for the rest of the day before I turned the cooktop back up in the evening and cooked your meatballs (http://www.food.com/recipe/kittencals-italian-melt-in-your-mouth-meatballs-69173) into this. The family loved it. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*christie January 27, 2012

I made this recipe exactly as posted and I just don't know what happened. The only words I can find to describe how it tasted are: one-dimensional. I tried to rescue it by simmering it a really long time. I wound up adding a little more sugar, which helped, and I decided to cook meatballs in it, which also helped slightly. I am not a fan of oregano so unless you really like that spice, you may want to add only half the posted amount, and I think I would cut the amount of onions by 1/2 also. The problem could have been the brand or kind of canned tomatoes I used, as I know that's a variable that makes or breaks a sauce. I used San Marzanos, which I normally love and they always perform well. It's a mystery but I think it was the tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Farina November 30, 2011

This was delicious and light, not heavy like some spaghetti sauces....also......could someone PLEASE tell me what DH stands for in reviews???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gigipug November 26, 2011

This is soooo good!!! I made the sauce two days ago as recomended and tonight I served it over cheese filled tortellini with a salad and cheese bread. It was awesome! I used Muir Glenn organic tomatoes and sauce and went a little heavy on the Merlot. Thanks so much for posting. P.S. I can't imagine anyone rating this less than 5 stars...I wonder if they had substitued something else for the wine?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okitsme November 06, 2011

this is far from a marinara,to us its more like a tomato sauce ,not what i was looking for sorry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobybaloony November 04, 2011

Not quite sure how I feel about this. But, I can say it was edible, hence the four stars. Well, as I was making, I was concerned that this sauce was thicker than what I like and what I am used to. In general, I am not a big fan of tomatoes, and even on my pizza as well as pasta, I always request "go light" on the sauce. I let this simmer a long time, a very long time. During the simmering I did add quite a bit of water for two reasons, again, the sauce was much thicker than what I was hoping for, and to prevent "burning" the sauce, because again, I did let it simmer for quite some time. Now, in all fairness, I say it was a thicker sauce, but really it is a "chunky" sauce, with the onions and small chunks of tomatoes, makes for a chunkier sauce. I will admit I did freeze the rest for future use, hoping not to waste the left over. If I were to ever make this again, I would def use less tomato paste. But, I will probably not make this again, because it just wasn't what I was looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative October 23, 2011

I can't say anymore about this sauce than what was said. Excellent!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane S September 26, 2011

Once again a WINNER!! Thanks Kittencalskitchen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue's Kitchen September 14, 2011
Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)