121 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a really great recipe. Thanks for sharing. This will definitely be my go to Marinara Pasta Sauce dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Talk of NJ September 17, 2013

Lordy, Girl, you sure made my Man Friend happy with this recipe. While he _likes_ my pasta sauce, he waxes rhapsodic over a pasta sauce made in his old home town. THIS is as close as it gets, he says, without being a direct steal. Fabulous. I made it with pureed tomatoes, chopped tomatoes and tomato paste. Slow cooked it all day. The notary who came by for me to sign the re-fi papers said "WHAT is cooking? It smells incredible in here!" Yep. Thank you!<br/><br/>Update: just made a huge batch - twelve quarts to be exact - added 1-2 T of bottle lemon juice to each quart and canned them. Yummmmmmmmyyyy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
One Happy Woman July 17, 2013

Great blend of spices... I've added ground round, mushrooms, peppers and other items to this recipe and it's always tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreganDunn March 31, 2013

This is one of the funnest things I've made in a long time. It smells like a great Italian restaurant here right now. It hasn't even finished simmering and I already love the taste. I did exactly as written using a can of Cento brand San Marzano tomatoes---oh, those are fantastic tomatoes for this! They were a $3.99 splurge, justified by the 2 Buck Chuck Cabernet Sauvignon I used (which tastes excellent in the sauce.). Thanks so much, Kittencal. You make me feel like a gourmet chef with this one. I've already been online looking for a bigger stock pot so I can double the recipe next time. :)

Update: I made this again, but using canned tomato puree and omitting the tomato paste for a milder flavor. I also used white wine (about 1/4 cup) and it was delicious. Both versions I thoroughly enjoyed and the simmering sauce aroma is divine. Couldn't stop tasting it while it cooked.....Incidentally, a family member (who is apparently crazy, I guess) prefers Ragu to homemade. I had the Ragu heating in one pan, and this recipe in another. I had to laugh out loud when I dip a spoon into the Ragu after tasting my finished homemade. What a stark contrast! The Ragu was like watered down tomato juice by comparison.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliadjulie March 01, 2013

Nice, easy recipe that had a full bodied flavour! Instead of adding the sugar, I added abut 1/8 to 1/4 tsp cinnamon which gave it a nice touch. I made this recipe primarily to added to other dishes that called for marinara sauce, so I am looking forward to seeing how they turned out. Going by the taste of this marinara sauce, they should be excellent!!! Kudos on a great posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl February 05, 2013

I'm surprised that I haven't made this before now since I have tried lots of different marinara recipes on this site. I made it today for meatball sandwiches and it turned out really well. Very easy to make and the flavor was really good. I had to add a fair amount of water to thin it to the right consistency as it cooked, but it didn't take away from the flavor. Simmered turkey meatballs in it after cooking for about 2 hours. Then served on baguettes with melted provolone cheese. Everyone in the family really like them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas January 15, 2013

This was a great marinara to make. I found the heat a bit much, so I'll cut down next time. Also would maybe thin it out a wee bit more. But it was yummy and I wanted it on spaghetti right away, but was using it on the four cheese spinach manicotti recipe. I actually didn't love it on the manicotti, think I would have preferred it just on pasta, nice and fresh! But will definitely make again. Used white wine, which was nice. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo December 19, 2012

This is an excellent recipe for marinara and there isn't one thing I would change about it. I used 5 large cloves of garlic 1/2 cup of red wine and only one 28 oz can of San Marzano tomatoes. However I also feel if you wanted to stretch out the number of servings an added can would work well. Don't forget to add in the sugar, salt and pepper at the end and your seasonings will be perfect. This makes a delicious nice and thick sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev November 13, 2012

Very tasty sauce and very easy to pull together! I doubled the recipe, and am glad that I did!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5 Mule Team May 03, 2012

Very tasty. I added a courgette, fresh tomatoes, and mushrooms. I kept half for me and added half to hubby's minced beef. I would make it again and make a massive batch for the freezer. It is nice and easy to make and the red wine defo adds to the richness. It would work best as a base for lasagne etc. I wouldn't have it again just with pasta. Having said that, lots of people in the reviews say it is better the next day, so I might try that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimensionally transcendental March 11, 2012
Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)