121 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW, Kittencal! I don't know how I missed this one! This smelled sooooooooooo good! I have changed up my diet to Nutritarian, so left out Oil, Salt, Wine (replaced with 2 T Red Wine vinagar). I have already cheated and put over my zucchini squash, I had prepared with my Spirooli , yummmmmmm.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis July 27, 2012

As always another fantastic recipe by Kittencal. I am using this sauce tonight to make the spinach manicotti and can't wait to taste these two recipes together. I made this exactly as listed and it tastes fantastic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom S. September 29, 2010

As always, a fantabulous offering from Kittencal! I have made this several times now, and even made two gigantic pots for a church dinner, and it is always thick, flavorful--perfect, in a word! I cooked the onion in the oil and wine first so that all of the alcohol would evaporate--which it did--and used diced tomatoes instead of whole. I don't like spicy things much, but the red pepper flakes are essential and don't add as much heat as I thought they would. My daughter said her friends were still talking about it at church a month later, and think I am the best cook in the world. I'm not, but you make me look good! Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenEyed Precious May 03, 2010

One can always trust Kittencal's Recipes even if you've never made them before!! I've never made homemade marinara sauce before and this was just delicious!! I omitted the wine, used 1/2 the amount of tomatoes and 1 1/2 times the amount of the tomato paste. This was a great sauce that I will make everytime i want marinara sauce. I served it with Ravioli (Dough and Choice of 4 Fillings). Thanks Kittencal! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's October 04, 2009

This made a lovely, rich, thick sauce and we really liked the flavour. I left out the red wine and crushed red pepper flakes as our toddler was having some but it still had a good flavour to it. Really easy to make too! I didn't feel the need to add sugar and cut the oil to 2tbsp so it was Weight Watcher friendly too. A good all-rounder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud January 17, 2015

the best!! My Nonna would also give this 5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmarianetti November 03, 2014

This is delicious - I paired it with Kittencal's meatballs and it all came out wonderfully! I used San Marzano tomatoes (2 28oz cans). I am embarrassed to say I have never made homemade meatballs and I am so pleased. I was disappointed at Publix they did not have ground pork so I had to settle for mild italian sausage. I kept everything else the same - even the spices. Next time I'm going to hold out for ground pork to follow exactly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kenkel22 September 20, 2014

Awesome sauce! I make a big batch in my slow cooker and can it so I can use it whenever! Thank-you Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssummary February 09, 2014

Excellent marinara sauce. I made this to go with kittencal's meatballs, which are also top notch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryltoo January 02, 2014

I made this last night in conjunction w/ Kittencal's meatballs. Both were a hit. The sauce simmered while the meatballs cooked. Yum! Thanks. Omitted red pepper for young children's preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buschways November 12, 2013
Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)