Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2013

      Lordy, Girl, you sure made my Man Friend happy with this recipe. While he _likes_ my pasta sauce, he waxes rhapsodic over a pasta sauce made in his old home town. THIS is as close as it gets, he says, without being a direct steal. Fabulous. I made it with pureed tomatoes, chopped tomatoes and tomato paste. Slow cooked it all day. The notary who came by for me to sign the re-fi papers said "WHAT is cooking? It smells incredible in here!" Yep. Thank you!<br/><br/>Update: just made a huge batch - twelve quarts to be exact - added 1-2 T of bottle lemon juice to each quart and canned them. Yummmmmmmmyyyy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Great blend of spices... I've added ground round, mushrooms, peppers and other items to this recipe and it's always tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      This is one of the funnest things I've made in a long time. It smells like a great Italian restaurant here right now. It hasn't even finished simmering and I already love the taste. I did exactly as written using a can of Cento brand San Marzano tomatoes---oh, those are fantastic tomatoes for this! They were a $3.99 splurge, justified by the 2 Buck Chuck Cabernet Sauvignon I used (which tastes excellent in the sauce.). Thanks so much, Kittencal. You make me feel like a gourmet chef with this one. I've already been online looking for a bigger stock pot so I can double the recipe next time. :)

      Update: I made this again, but using canned tomato puree and omitting the tomato paste for a milder flavor. I also used white wine (about 1/4 cup) and it was delicious. Both versions I thoroughly enjoyed and the simmering sauce aroma is divine. Couldn't stop tasting it while it cooked.....Incidentally, a family member (who is apparently crazy, I guess) prefers Ragu to homemade. I had the Ragu heating in one pan, and this recipe in another. I had to laugh out loud when I dip a spoon into the Ragu after tasting my finished homemade. What a stark contrast! The Ragu was like watered down tomato juice by comparison.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      Nice, easy recipe that had a full bodied flavour! Instead of adding the sugar, I added abut 1/8 to 1/4 tsp cinnamon which gave it a nice touch. I made this recipe primarily to added to other dishes that called for marinara sauce, so I am looking forward to seeing how they turned out. Going by the taste of this marinara sauce, they should be excellent!!! Kudos on a great posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      I'm surprised that I haven't made this before now since I have tried lots of different marinara recipes on this site. I made it today for meatball sandwiches and it turned out really well. Very easy to make and the flavor was really good. I had to add a fair amount of water to thin it to the right consistency as it cooked, but it didn't take away from the flavor. Simmered turkey meatballs in it after cooking for about 2 hours. Then served on baguettes with melted provolone cheese. Everyone in the family really like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      This was a great marinara to make. I found the heat a bit much, so I'll cut down next time. Also would maybe thin it out a wee bit more. But it was yummy and I wanted it on spaghetti right away, but was using it on the four cheese spinach manicotti recipe. I actually didn't love it on the manicotti, think I would have preferred it just on pasta, nice and fresh! But will definitely make again. Used white wine, which was nice. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      This is an excellent recipe for marinara and there isn't one thing I would change about it. I used 5 large cloves of garlic 1/2 cup of red wine and only one 28 oz can of San Marzano tomatoes. However I also feel if you wanted to stretch out the number of servings an added can would work well. Don't forget to add in the sugar, salt and pepper at the end and your seasonings will be perfect. This makes a delicious nice and thick sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      Very tasty sauce and very easy to pull together! I doubled the recipe, and am glad that I did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      Very tasty. I added a courgette, fresh tomatoes, and mushrooms. I kept half for me and added half to hubby's minced beef. I would make it again and make a massive batch for the freezer. It is nice and easy to make and the red wine defo adds to the richness. It would work best as a base for lasagne etc. I wouldn't have it again just with pasta. Having said that, lots of people in the reviews say it is better the next day, so I might try that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      Very good. Quick and easy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Very, very good sauce. I made this to go with your manicotti recipe and we loved it. I did add the wine and let it cook for about 3 hours (since I had the time) and it was flavorful, thick and absolutely delicious. I will ALWAYS use this sauce for manicotti, its so good. Thank you Kittencal for sharing your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Really lovely. I used ½ a cup of a rather expensice Shiraz and I added about ½ a cup of grated parmesan and a tablespoon of wine vinegar at the start of cooking. I mucked up the sugar and put 2 tablespoons instead of 2 teaspoons but it was still really nice. Then just before I served it I stirred through about ¼ of a cup of grated colby cheese. I cooked this for an hour then turned it off and left it to sit for the rest of the day before I turned the cooktop back up in the evening and cooked your meatballs (http://www.food.com/recipe/kittencals-italian-melt-in-your-mouth-meatballs-69173) into this. The family loved it. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      I made this recipe exactly as posted and I just don't know what happened. The only words I can find to describe how it tasted are: one-dimensional. I tried to rescue it by simmering it a really long time. I wound up adding a little more sugar, which helped, and I decided to cook meatballs in it, which also helped slightly. I am not a fan of oregano so unless you really like that spice, you may want to add only half the posted amount, and I think I would cut the amount of onions by 1/2 also. The problem could have been the brand or kind of canned tomatoes I used, as I know that's a variable that makes or breaks a sauce. I used San Marzanos, which I normally love and they always perform well. It's a mystery but I think it was the tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This was delicious and light, not heavy like some spaghetti sauces....also......could someone PLEASE tell me what DH stands for in reviews???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      This is soooo good!!! I made the sauce two days ago as recomended and tonight I served it over cheese filled tortellini with a salad and cheese bread. It was awesome! I used Muir Glenn organic tomatoes and sauce and went a little heavy on the Merlot. Thanks so much for posting. P.S. I can't imagine anyone rating this less than 5 stars...I wonder if they had substitued something else for the wine?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      this is far from a marinara,to us its more like a tomato sauce ,not what i was looking for sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      Not quite sure how I feel about this. But, I can say it was edible, hence the four stars. Well, as I was making, I was concerned that this sauce was thicker than what I like and what I am used to. In general, I am not a big fan of tomatoes, and even on my pizza as well as pasta, I always request "go light" on the sauce. I let this simmer a long time, a very long time. During the simmering I did add quite a bit of water for two reasons, again, the sauce was much thicker than what I was hoping for, and to prevent "burning" the sauce, because again, I did let it simmer for quite some time. Now, in all fairness, I say it was a thicker sauce, but really it is a "chunky" sauce, with the onions and small chunks of tomatoes, makes for a chunkier sauce. I will admit I did freeze the rest for future use, hoping not to waste the left over. If I were to ever make this again, I would def use less tomato paste. But, I will probably not make this again, because it just wasn't what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      I can't say anymore about this sauce than what was said. Excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      Once again a WINNER!! Thanks Kittencalskitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      Simply the best sauce ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)

    Serving Size: 1 (317 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.7
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    46%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 933.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites