Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2011

      Oh. My. Lord. THIS SAUCE! I had no plan in mind for a dish, when I decided to make it. I needed a sauce to just 'have on hand,' and this seemed simple enough. I'll admit, whilst I was making and tasting, I was not happy with it. I made it with the wine, not the best (but not the worst) 'chunky' crushed tomatoes (with garlic and basil), and about a can and a half of tomato paste. Simmered a good long while, but near the end .. I felt it missed that last little 'finish.' I dispatched a bit into a small bowl, and tried it with a bit of red wine vinegar. That helped. Then, the "AH HA!". I added about 1/3rd to 1/2 a cup of grated parmesan, and that was that.
      BUT. The real deal was sealed the next day, after it had time to sit. THIS SAUCE IS SO [expletive deleted] SENSATIONAL! The depth with the wine, I can't even believe I made THIS sauce, it's so good. I'm eating it cold, out of the jar. I'm eating it as a dip, for my potato chips, I CAN NOT EAT THIS ENOUGH.
      Make this sauce, indefinitely. But, my biggest advice is to MAKE THIS SAUCE, AHEAD, and give it a good few hours AT LEAST to let the flavors involve themselves fully with each other. You won't be sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Very good and easy. I've made this recipe with wine & it was very good. Tonight I didn't have wine on hand so I added about 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar which gave the sauce a nice depth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      My husband and I always make a double batch of this and keep it frozen in easy to use sizes. I usually freeze 15oz for the two of us, sometimes it is too much but it is never too little. On pasta night I start a big pot of water and another with one of these frozen containers plopped in and four meatballs. Everything is warmed and ready when the pasta is. It is a real weeknight time saver.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      I have made this before several times, and only got around to reviewing it today! YUM!!!! If you make just as written it is wonderful...I should say that I never add the wine and sub water or broth instead tho. Today I altered this one and loved the result! I added one can of tomato sauce, and omitted the sugar since I do not like a sweet taste. I also added 3 fresh basil leaves instead of dry. I chopped up green bell pepper really small and sauteed with the onion, I also added a can of mushrooms, YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Wonderful flavor!! I used fresh tomatoes which I dropped in hot water for 30 seconds, let cool, then peeled and squeezed the seeds out and then chopped them. I made the recipe as stated but didn't use the full amount of the red pepper flakes. I did add cooking wine. You can't taste the wine, it just improves the flavor. I used just a dash of sugar and a dash of salt. Very yummy!! Great way to use up all the tomatoes I have been given.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      WOW, Kittencal! I don't know how I missed this one! This smelled sooooooooooo good! I have changed up my diet to Nutritarian, so left out Oil, Salt, Wine (replaced with 2 T Red Wine vinagar). I have already cheated and put over my zucchini squash, I had prepared with my Spirooli , yummmmmmm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This sauce was so good that I'm making it again tonight. I used it with eggplant parmesan last week and tonight I'm using it in my spincach lasagna. I don't know if I can go back to jar sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      I have made this twice and waited to write a review until trying some changes. With my changes, this is a definite keeper in my book! The first time I used 1/2 the amount of onion you recommended, and it left a bad aftertaste. This time I left out the onion and used more tomato paste. This was the perfect flavor and consistency for us, I loved the thickness from the extra tomato paste! Thanks for another great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      As always another fantastic recipe by Kittencal. I am using this sauce tonight to make the spinach manicotti and can't wait to taste these two recipes together. I made this exactly as listed and it tastes fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      Made this today with the manacotti. Delicious! Sauce was thick though. Used an extra can of tomatoe sauce which was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      As always, a fantabulous offering from Kittencal! I have made this several times now, and even made two gigantic pots for a church dinner, and it is always thick, flavorful--perfect, in a word! I cooked the onion in the oil and wine first so that all of the alcohol would evaporate--which it did--and used diced tomatoes instead of whole. I don't like spicy things much, but the red pepper flakes are essential and don't add as much heat as I thought they would. My daughter said her friends were still talking about it at church a month later, and think I am the best cook in the world. I'm not, but you make me look good! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      One can always trust Kittencal's Recipes even if you've never made them before!! I've never made homemade marinara sauce before and this was just delicious!! I omitted the wine, used 1/2 the amount of tomatoes and 1 1/2 times the amount of the tomato paste. This was a great sauce that I will make everytime i want marinara sauce. I served it with Ravioli (Dough and Choice of 4 Fillings). Thanks Kittencal! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2014

      the best!! My Nonna would also give this 5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      This is delicious - I paired it with Kittencal's meatballs and it all came out wonderfully! I used San Marzano tomatoes (2 28oz cans). I am embarrassed to say I have never made homemade meatballs and I am so pleased. I was disappointed at Publix they did not have ground pork so I had to settle for mild italian sausage. I kept everything else the same - even the spices. Next time I'm going to hold out for ground pork to follow exactly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      An incredibly easy, fast recipe to make. The only change I made was to add thyme and marjoram (fresh) to the mix. Everything else was as directed. I let it cool completely, then reheated and simmered another 10 minutes. The result is a thick tasty sauce that is full of flavor. A definite keeper. Thanks for yet another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      WOW!!! This is the best! I'll never buy pasta sauce again. I have made this several times and each time I keep making larger and larger batches. I freeze it in quart size bags and use over roast vegetables or chicken as I don't eat carbs. This has provided a great new option for eating all my veggies!! Thanks Kittencal - you never disappoint in your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      Awesome sauce! I make a big batch in my slow cooker and can it so I can use it whenever! Thank-you Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Excellent marinara sauce. I made this to go with kittencal's meatballs, which are also top notch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      I made this last night in conjunction w/ Kittencal's meatballs. Both were a hit. The sauce simmered while the meatballs cooked. Yum! Thanks. Omitted red pepper for young children's preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      This is a really great recipe. Thanks for sharing. This will definitely be my go to Marinara Pasta Sauce dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)

    Serving Size: 1 (317 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.7
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    46%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 933.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes