121 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh. My. Lord. THIS SAUCE! I had no plan in mind for a dish, when I decided to make it. I needed a sauce to just 'have on hand,' and this seemed simple enough. I'll admit, whilst I was making and tasting, I was not happy with it. I made it with the wine, not the best (but not the worst) 'chunky' crushed tomatoes (with garlic and basil), and about a can and a half of tomato paste. Simmered a good long while, but near the end .. I felt it missed that last little 'finish.' I dispatched a bit into a small bowl, and tried it with a bit of red wine vinegar. That helped. Then, the "AH HA!". I added about 1/3rd to 1/2 a cup of grated parmesan, and that was that.
BUT. The real deal was sealed the next day, after it had time to sit. THIS SAUCE IS SO [expletive deleted] SENSATIONAL! The depth with the wine, I can't even believe I made THIS sauce, it's so good. I'm eating it cold, out of the jar. I'm eating it as a dip, for my potato chips, I CAN NOT EAT THIS ENOUGH.
Make this sauce, indefinitely. But, my biggest advice is to MAKE THIS SAUCE, AHEAD, and give it a good few hours AT LEAST to let the flavors involve themselves fully with each other. You won't be sorry.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Froggus. August 19, 2011

Very good and easy. I've made this recipe with wine & it was very good. Tonight I didn't have wine on hand so I added about 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar which gave the sauce a nice depth.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shakahari May 22, 2010

My husband and I always make a double batch of this and keep it frozen in easy to use sizes. I usually freeze 15oz for the two of us, sometimes it is too much but it is never too little. On pasta night I start a big pot of water and another with one of these frozen containers plopped in and four meatballs. Everything is warmed and ready when the pasta is. It is a real weeknight time saver.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ronda K November 09, 2010

Wonderful flavor!! I used fresh tomatoes which I dropped in hot water for 30 seconds, let cool, then peeled and squeezed the seeds out and then chopped them. I made the recipe as stated but didn't use the full amount of the red pepper flakes. I did add cooking wine. You can't taste the wine, it just improves the flavor. I used just a dash of sugar and a dash of salt. Very yummy!! Great way to use up all the tomatoes I have been given.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawni August 11, 2009

This sauce was so good that I'm making it again tonight. I used it with eggplant parmesan last week and tonight I'm using it in my spincach lasagna. I don't know if I can go back to jar sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
West Coast Leah November 15, 2010

I have made this twice and waited to write a review until trying some changes. With my changes, this is a definite keeper in my book! The first time I used 1/2 the amount of onion you recommended, and it left a bad aftertaste. This time I left out the onion and used more tomato paste. This was the perfect flavor and consistency for us, I loved the thickness from the extra tomato paste! Thanks for another great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway October 10, 2010

Made this today with the manacotti. Delicious! Sauce was thick though. Used an extra can of tomatoe sauce which was perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dolcegirl September 23, 2010

I have made this before several times, and only got around to reviewing it today! YUM!!!! If you make just as written it is wonderful...I should say that I never add the wine and sub water or broth instead tho. Today I altered this one and loved the result! I added one can of tomato sauce, and omitted the sugar since I do not like a sweet taste. I also added 3 fresh basil leaves instead of dry. I chopped up green bell pepper really small and sauteed with the onion, I also added a can of mushrooms, YUMMY

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Beckman May 11, 2010

An incredibly easy, fast recipe to make. The only change I made was to add thyme and marjoram (fresh) to the mix. Everything else was as directed. I let it cool completely, then reheated and simmered another 10 minutes. The result is a thick tasty sauce that is full of flavor. A definite keeper. Thanks for yet another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BussBoss2 August 02, 2014

WOW!!! This is the best! I'll never buy pasta sauce again. I have made this several times and each time I keep making larger and larger batches. I freeze it in quart size bags and use over roast vegetables or chicken as I don't eat carbs. This has provided a great new option for eating all my veggies!! Thanks Kittencal - you never disappoint in your recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eric in LB March 11, 2014
Kittencal's Marinara Pasta Sauce (Vegetarian)