135 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice marinade. Everyone enjoyed it. Used far less oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest March 13, 2013

Very good. Will make again. Quick and easy with ingredients I have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jagmichigan March 13, 2013

I've made this marinade for quite awhile now. I love it! It's one of those marinades where it tastes better the longer you let the meat sit. However, I sometimes only have a little bit of time and I think it still tastes pretty good! I will be keeping this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agiolam March 08, 2013

I am the latest review (128) and still felt the need to tell you how god it is. I bought 4 steaks and marinaded for almost 24 hours in this delicious marinade. I made it as written. It softened the meat, brought out flavor and was tasty. For my DH that loves seasonings he added Montreal Steak Seasoning as written and then again tableside. The key to this is using high quality ingredients. We used brewed balsamic vinegar and it proved to be well worth the pricey tag. Fresh garlic and high quality Dijon are important too. My family doesn't like Dijon but you can't taste it in this. We will make this again and again. It even got a non-steakeater to gobble it down. Thanks for posing Kittencalskitchen.Enjoy! ChefDLH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH July 30, 2012

A very good marinade. I used it on tri tip, marinading overnight. Great leftovers. I think I will cut back on the mustard a little next time though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steadysteps May 27, 2012

Excellent flavor and easy on-hand ingredients. I used whole-grain dijon and really liked the addition of the crunchy mustard seeds to the finished product. Flavorful and tender. I simply seasoned it with montreal steak seasoning and cooked it on the grill using indirect heat. I did use a whole slice of sirloin and not individual steaks. I then sliced it thin against the grain. Yum. Leftovers made an amazing sandwich the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen September 03, 2011

Our steaks turned out really tender, and really good! The steaks had been frozen, wouldn't normally freeze steaks, but my husband had to have surgery on his mouth, and did what had to be done. I was really surprised that the meat was so moist and tender afterwards. I made sure to do as the tip suggested with letting the meat come to room temp before grilling. Give this one a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amywindland August 24, 2011

Talk about flavorful and tender steaks! I halved the recipe and used it for 2 filet mignons which I marinated for 24 hours. I then wrapped them in bacon and we grilled them. They were a wonderful main for our anniversary dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs August 06, 2011

Yowza! This is the one! The marinade above all others! The steaks marinaded on the countertop for 24 hrs and were tender and flavourful. Added 1/4 cup red wine into the brew. Thanks, Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues July 13, 2011

Wow, Kittencal, this will be one on my favorites from now on! I used T-Bones, and threw in some mushrooms with the marinade. I put the mushrooms on greased foil, and grilled alongside the steaks. Served with grilled asparagus and the meal was perfect! Delicious flavor, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes May 02, 2011
Kittencal's Marinade for Grilled Steak