Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Marinade for Grilled Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Marinade for Grilled Steak

    Average Rating:

    135 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 135

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2007

      This steak is awesome. Very Flavorful. I think I would rather eat this steak than have sex.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      I used this marinade on top sirloin steaks. I let them sit for 24 hours and then rinsed them and patted them dry. I was hoping for something that would soften the meat with a slight touch of a 'something' that works with the beef flavor but still lets the beef taste be the forefront. That's not this recipe. It smells garlicky, but it tastes like vinegar and soy. Not much beef taste. They were still eaten, but it was agreed that it wasn't what we wanted. (like a steakhouse marinade). I will stick with salt, pepper and a pat of butter. Thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      I was really looking forward to this, but it was kind of disappointing. I did it exactly as written except I didn't have enough Dijon mustard. So I used yellow mustard for the remaining amount needed (about 1/2 tsp I think). I don't think the mustard was the problem tho. I think for me, the balsamic vinegar gave it too much of a sweet taste. I think next time I'll try omitting it or maybe try a different vinegar. It wasn't gross or any thing. It just wasn't very tasty to me, as the sweetness ruined the other good flavors that were going on. My fiance really enjoyed this dish, so I'm giving it four stars. I will be for sure trying this again, just a little differently. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      I put this marinate in a ziplock bag with a sirloin steak and took it on a camping trip, so it ended up in there for about two days before it was cooked. Turned out great! I never ended up putting more salt on it. The salt already in the Worchestershire and soy sauces turned out to be enough. The marinade really complimented the flavor of the beef without overpowering it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      Great marinade!!!!!! I did double the black pepper but will definitely be increasing it more the next time around. Might try upping the W sauce too. But definitely a keeper! Thannnxxxx :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      Well, based on all the rave reviews, we did a Kittencal-only dinner tonight. Unfortunately, I must disagree with this being the "perfect" steak preparation. Turning it four times kept any true searing from occurring, so the steak ended up being just sorta beige-y - no grill marks to really speak of. Between the worcestershire, soy, and dijon mustard, it was way too salty for our tastes, and the vinegar just introduced a really jarring note to the whole thing. Sorry, but it was a disappointing steak.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      Excellent marinade! I always have this when we have steak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      Nice! Enjoy all of Kittencal's recipes. The one knock I saw in the comments may be accurate for some -- perhaps a bit too acid. I like it, but I guess you could reduce the acid (vinegar) a bit, but it's the acid that helps tenderize the meat. If you don't care for steak sauce at all, then you probably will think it's too tart. Otherwise, I think it eliminated the need for any sauce at the table. (We set some out but nobody used any.) I had a shorter time available than recommended, so I went with poking the meat a bit with a Jaccard tenderizer to help the tenderizing and let the marinade penetrate more quickly. Seemed to work just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      I substituted red wine vinegar for the balsamic as I didn't have any and cut back a little on the garlic but kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I marinated some rump steak for around 24 hours in the fridge before bringing it to room temperature as suggested. It was the best steak I have ever made. Thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      We used your marinade recipe on some T-bones we had the other day. This marinade makes them even more tender and delicious. We used our normal steak seasoning on them and grilled for a delicious dinner. Thank you very much Kittencal for this great recipe. I loved the balsalmic vinegar in this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      Very nice marinade. Everyone enjoyed it. Used far less oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      Very good. Will make again. Quick and easy with ingredients I have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      I've made this marinade for quite awhile now. I love it! It's one of those marinades where it tastes better the longer you let the meat sit. However, I sometimes only have a little bit of time and I think it still tastes pretty good! I will be keeping this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      I am the latest review (128) and still felt the need to tell you how god it is. I bought 4 steaks and marinaded for almost 24 hours in this delicious marinade. I made it as written. It softened the meat, brought out flavor and was tasty. For my DH that loves seasonings he added Montreal Steak Seasoning as written and then again tableside. The key to this is using high quality ingredients. We used brewed balsamic vinegar and it proved to be well worth the pricey tag. Fresh garlic and high quality Dijon are important too. My family doesn't like Dijon but you can't taste it in this. We will make this again and again. It even got a non-steakeater to gobble it down. Thanks for posing Kittencalskitchen.Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      A very good marinade. I used it on tri tip, marinading overnight. Great leftovers. I think I will cut back on the mustard a little next time though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      Excellent flavor and easy on-hand ingredients. I used whole-grain dijon and really liked the addition of the crunchy mustard seeds to the finished product. Flavorful and tender. I simply seasoned it with montreal steak seasoning and cooked it on the grill using indirect heat. I did use a whole slice of sirloin and not individual steaks. I then sliced it thin against the grain. Yum. Leftovers made an amazing sandwich the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      Our steaks turned out really tender, and really good! The steaks had been frozen, wouldn't normally freeze steaks, but my husband had to have surgery on his mouth, and did what had to be done. I was really surprised that the meat was so moist and tender afterwards. I made sure to do as the tip suggested with letting the meat come to room temp before grilling. Give this one a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      Talk about flavorful and tender steaks! I halved the recipe and used it for 2 filet mignons which I marinated for 24 hours. I then wrapped them in bacon and we grilled them. They were a wonderful main for our anniversary dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Yowza! This is the one! The marinade above all others! The steaks marinaded on the countertop for 24 hrs and were tender and flavourful. Added 1/4 cup red wine into the brew. Thanks, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      Wow, Kittencal, this will be one on my favorites from now on! I used T-Bones, and threw in some mushrooms with the marinade. I put the mushrooms on greased foil, and grilled alongside the steaks. Served with grilled asparagus and the meal was perfect! Delicious flavor, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Marinade for Grilled Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.2
     
    Calories from Fat 329
    87%
    Total Fat 36.5 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1234.1 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes