136 Reviews

This steak is awesome. Very Flavorful. I think I would rather eat this steak than have sex.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gvnsmom22 June 09, 2007

I used this marinade on top sirloin steaks. I let them sit for 24 hours and then rinsed them and patted them dry. I was hoping for something that would soften the meat with a slight touch of a 'something' that works with the beef flavor but still lets the beef taste be the forefront. That's not this recipe. It smells garlicky, but it tastes like vinegar and soy. Not much beef taste. They were still eaten, but it was agreed that it wasn't what we wanted. (like a steakhouse marinade). I will stick with salt, pepper and a pat of butter. Thanks anyway.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow January 31, 2011

I was really looking forward to this, but it was kind of disappointing. I did it exactly as written except I didn't have enough Dijon mustard. So I used yellow mustard for the remaining amount needed (about 1/2 tsp I think). I don't think the mustard was the problem tho. I think for me, the balsamic vinegar gave it too much of a sweet taste. I think next time I'll try omitting it or maybe try a different vinegar. It wasn't gross or any thing. It just wasn't very tasty to me, as the sweetness ruined the other good flavors that were going on. My fiance really enjoyed this dish, so I'm giving it four stars. I will be for sure trying this again, just a little differently. Thanks for sharing :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cypress August 08, 2010

I put this marinate in a ziplock bag with a sirloin steak and took it on a camping trip, so it ended up in there for about two days before it was cooked. Turned out great! I never ended up putting more salt on it. The salt already in the Worchestershire and soy sauces turned out to be enough. The marinade really complimented the flavor of the beef without overpowering it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neohippie October 22, 2010

Great marinade!!!!!! I did double the black pepper but will definitely be increasing it more the next time around. Might try upping the W sauce too. But definitely a keeper! Thannnxxxx :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seeprats August 23, 2010

Well, based on all the rave reviews, we did a Kittencal-only dinner tonight. Unfortunately, I must disagree with this being the "perfect" steak preparation. Turning it four times kept any true searing from occurring, so the steak ended up being just sorta beige-y - no grill marks to really speak of. Between the worcestershire, soy, and dijon mustard, it was way too salty for our tastes, and the vinegar just introduced a really jarring note to the whole thing. Sorry, but it was a disappointing steak.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette October 07, 2005

This is my go to for steak marinades! I substituted Bragg's apple cider vinegar for the balsamic and used spicy mustard since I did not have dijon. It came out fantastic!! My husband and I both agreed that the steak came out the best we have ever made at home. Very soft, tender and just perfect. Thanks Kittencals for this awesome marinade!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly C. July 18, 2015

Excellent marinade! I always have this when we have steak!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Garden February 08, 2014

Nice! Enjoy all of Kittencal's recipes. The one knock I saw in the comments may be accurate for some -- perhaps a bit too acid. I like it, but I guess you could reduce the acid (vinegar) a bit, but it's the acid that helps tenderize the meat. If you don't care for steak sauce at all, then you probably will think it's too tart. Otherwise, I think it eliminated the need for any sauce at the table. (We set some out but nobody used any.) I had a shorter time available than recommended, so I went with poking the meat a bit with a Jaccard tenderizer to help the tenderizing and let the marinade penetrate more quickly. Seemed to work just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MNGoldenBear November 16, 2013

I substituted red wine vinegar for the balsamic as I didn't have any and cut back a little on the garlic but kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I marinated some rump steak for around 24 hours in the fridge before bringing it to room temperature as suggested. It was the best steak I have ever made. Thanks Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook August 13, 2013
Kittencal's Marinade for Grilled Steak