Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2009

      Kittencal, I love all your recipes. I never go wrong if I pick a Kittencal recipe and this one is awesome. Also, I think this is what the other poster meant instead of "mike and right" this makes more sense - "the only thing I changed was added a little MILK and right before serving I added more butter." Threw me for a minute too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Look no further for a mashed potatoe recipe these are it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I did not make these; however, I did enjoy the finished product at my daughter's this Christmas. They are very creamy and delicious. Makes a big holiday day spread super easy as they were prepared the day before and refrigerated overnight. In place of the shredded cheese the finished product was sprinkled with paprika. A very attractive dish. Thanks Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      OMG! These were soo good. What a time saver to be able to make these ahead of time and just warm up. Everyone enjoyed them, I think next time I might add a little milk but otherwise these were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      My kids hate potatoes (unless they are french fried). They loved these though even asked for seconds. I used low fat cream cheese and sour cream and added a bit of 1% milk to make them a bit creamier, but still delicious. Even the leftovers a couple of days after were great heated up. Thanks for posting this recipe. I will be using it for years to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Amazing Potatoes! Thank you so much for sharing the recipie. We had these for Thanksgiving and my husband and I both agreed they were the BEST potatoes we ever had. I am making these this week for my husband to take to a dinner work party- I am sure they will be a HIT! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Well, here's the scoop from Thanksgiving Dinner. My daughter, home from college for a few days, specifically requested Yukon Gold Mashed Potatoes. Anyway, I found 2 of Kittencal's recipes that sounded yummy (Kittencal's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes & Kittencal's Fluffy Mashed Potatoes) and I kind of mixed the 2 together. Basically I used the Kittencal's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes but made the following changes inspired by Kittencal's Fluffy Mashed Potatoes and it turned out A+++! I used the following: 1 49 oz. can Fat Free Chicken Broth instead of water to cook the potatoes, 10 Yukon Gold Potatoes instead of 8 large Russet Potatoes, 8 oz. fat free cream cheese, approx. 1/3 cup sour cream (perhaps a little more), I did not have onion powder so I left this out and I didn't use the shredded cheddar cheese. Anyway, the family absolutely RAVED about them! Thanks so much Kittencal for making my daughter mashed potatoes what she really wanted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      These are the best potatoes! I will be making these from now on in place of my "regular" recipe. I made these to go along with Honey Mustard Roasted Pork Loin. So delicious! Thank you Kitten! Dinner was a delicious success!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Apart from adding 1 chopped onion (in place of the onion powder) and 4 cloves of minced garlic sauteed until the onion had just softened and added to the potatoes in step 4, I made these potatoes exactly to the recipe. I used unsalted butter, and low-fat sour cream. I did top with paprika (which I love), but not with the cheese: seemed creamy enough without the cheese. I made this in 4 smaller dishes and at the end of step 6 put three of these in the freezer. One of these I've since brought out of the freezer at the beginning of the day, then proceeded with step 8 in the evening. Great make-ahead recipe; great stash-in-the-freezer to bring out when you need it recipe; and, when providing a meal for larger numbers, this will just be just be SO great in taking the pressure off at the time the guests are there! Thanks KITTENCAL for another super-star recipe! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      Wonderful mashed potatoes. We took them in to the nursing home for a delayed potluck Thanksgiving dinner for my 95 yo MIL and 8 others. Not a scrap left :( I did gild the lily a bit by tossing in some green onions (she loves them) and crumbled bacon but they were delicious before these add ins. You can make and serve these potatoes with confidence. Thanks Kittencal. (again)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

    • on October 19, 2008

      What I love about this recipe is the large amount of potatoes it provides and the fact that they are delicious! These whipped up into the softest and tastiest mashed potatoes ever. Fantastic recipe, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Very good recipe...no surprise...it's from Kittencal! Anyways I did serve it one night and reheated it the next night for dinner....still had the flavor and the "fresh" taste. One other item I can make ahead at Thanksgiving. Gosh..I'm going to really enjoy the holiday this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      A real time saver! I made these in the morning and refrigerated until dinner. It was such a great help to have this creamy, delicious side all ready to pop into the oven. Thanks for sharing Kitten :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      double YUMMMMMMMMMM!!!!! Kitty this is so good, didnt have enough russets so I used half reds and russets, used white pepper too, these are the best, thank you Kit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      I may never make mashed potatoes the traditional way again! These are totally delicious and easy. I halved the recipe, used garlic powder instead of onion, and added some milk for a creamier consistency. I have enjoyed the leftovers - they microwave beautifully. Keeper+++!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      My DH loved this with gravy and hamburger. I halved the recipe easily. Thanks for another winner Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Great! I had just popped a turkey in the oven and decided to make a different mashed potato dish when I ran across this recipe. I made them in the morning and then baked them for dinner. Very creamy and decadent. Thanks Kit for another great recipe. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      What a great holiday recipe! Kittencal scores again! I wanted to do as much for Christmas dinner ahead of time so I made this Christmas Eve and refrigerated. I took it out about an hour ahead of time and then baked. I had quite a deep dish and I found it took more time than indicated in the recipe (about 45 minutes and at that I raised the temperature for the last bit). They were nice and creamy, with a great flavour. I used a potato ricer and then stirred the other ingredients in by hand (I don't like lumps in my potatoes). I will definitely make these again, especially when I have a dinner like turkey with lots of other last minute chores! Thank you Kittencal, I know I can always trust your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Great recipe - Made these for the family on Christmas - I made it as states (except added a couple splashes of milk when I mashed since they seemed dry). I will definitely use this recipe again. I really liked being able to pre-make these. I hate to be stuck in the kitchen when everyone else is playing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 382.9
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    39%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 47.1 mg
    15%
    Sodium 392.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes