44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made these twice now (1/2 recipe) and they are way better than the way I used to prepare mashed potatoes. The only problem that I am having is trying to imagine how big one russet potato is. I can only buy the smaller white ones. I believe I used 6 and found the mixture to be too thick. Oh well, I will make them again and soon figure out just how many potatoes I can use. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 January 24, 2011

Great recipe but I found it difficult to reheat. I made it the day before and saved some for dinner that night. Much better the same day. Will definitely make again but eat it right away!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KAS in MN October 30, 2010

Kit's recipe and a few garlic cloves were perfet! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debhaag January 01, 2010

Kitten, as usual, you are a genius! I made these for Thanksgiving this year (and last year), and they were FAB-U-LOUS! I loved the fact that I could make them the night before and then just warm them up before leaving for my father's house. My sisters asked me to make something lighter this year, and so I said I made low-fat potatoes. When we were eating, they were "Mmmmming", and "OMGoshing", and finally, "I'm so glad you made these lighter because I just can't stop eating them!". Well, wink-wink, it's only once a year, and by the time we get done Christmas shopping, all that cream cheese and sour cream will be worked off!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tree luee dee November 28, 2009

This recipe worked great for our Thanksgiving dinner! I halved the recipe for our small group and successfully baked and served it in a beautiful souffle dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucifugous November 27, 2009

These potatoes are so awesome with just the right texture and taste of a true mashed potato. I 1 1/2 x's the recipe to serve 12. Made the day b/f to put in the crock-pot on the following Thanksgiving Day. I didn't feel the need to add any more liquid as you had suggested in your forward. A definite winner/keeper and one I will go to again for large gatherings (or small).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB November 25, 2009

perfect. Made them a day ahead and they were just delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 October 18, 2009

love it!!! cut the recipe in half and skipped out on the cheese. this is a great recipe! i love the addition of onion powder. i think i'll make these for thanksgiving! thanks for another keeper, carol!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD October 15, 2009

I made this dish for my Easter Dinner 2009. It went over very, very well with all my guests! I loved how easy it was to make, and the fact that I could make it in advance was fantastic. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Christmas April 21, 2009

This was one of our featured recipes to an exchange student from France along with roast and gravy. We devoured this before getting a picture. Absolutely delicious. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn February 28, 2009
Kittencal's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes