Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2010

      Really fantastic! I made it the day before and doubled it, so it had to cook a little longer. Very easy, and came out much better than any make ahead mashed potato recipe I've tried. Thanks for helping make Christmas Day dinner easier! Made again this year. Only put it in the crockpot on low for 2 hours and then reduced to warm. Did not do the paprika or cheese. Doubled the recipe, which should have been more than enough. People could not stop eating them! LOVE this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I made these yesterday for Thanksgiving. They were absolutely delicious, incredibly creamy and very rich. I made them exactly as instructed, mashed them smooth with my immersion blender and then put them in the crockpot on low for 3 hours before dinner. Right before we ate I gave them another quick blend and a splash of milk and transferred them to a serving bowl. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      What a great way for fix potatoes! I used the yesterday on our early Thankgiving meal with my son whos home from the service for a break. I loved the idea of preparing early in the morning and just popping them in the oven before serving.....FABULOUS!!! I am going to use these for our Christmas dinner when I have the whole gang here! Thank you so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      We made these WEEKS in advance while tripling the recipe. We froze them in quart containers and just defrosted for 3 days in the fridge and popped the taters out into a crock pot lined with a crock pot liner (with a tablespoon or two of water between the liner and the crock pot). Once they got hot, they seemed a little 'grainy'... but a little added warm milk and melted butter incorporated into it very well with a few good stirs. They were wonderful. Make extra because they'll be the first to go. Just delicious. Nice to know you don't have to be mashing potatoes at the last minute for your Thanksgiving feast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      I made this as part of a turkey dinner. I didn't make it ahead or bake it, just boiled the potatoes and added the rest of the ingredients. It was delicious; thick and creamy. I will certainly make again. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      We liked the onion powder and shredded cheese on this. Made it for Thanksgiving today and left out those out to keep it traditional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      These were I-N-C-R-E-D-I-B-L-E!! Rich and delicious and perfect for a holiday meal! I made them the day before Christmas to go with our holiday meal and they were a hit! I used Yukon Golds and cooked them in chicken stock and used light sour cream and skipped the cheddar cheese-so good! And the convenience of just putting them in the oven gave me the time with my family instead of being in the kitchen. I highly recommend making this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      i made these the day before thanksgiving & everyone LOVED them! i did add milk because they were too thick. i might not ever make mashed potatoes the same day ever again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      I didn't make exactly to recipe but I did it close enough. I added lawry's seasoned salt instead of the onion, but the rest was the same. These were awesome. Baked perfectly and it was nice that I could do the hard work the day before Thanksgiving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      Amazing. I didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      I have made these twice now (1/2 recipe) and they are way better than the way I used to prepare mashed potatoes. The only problem that I am having is trying to imagine how big one russet potato is. I can only buy the smaller white ones. I believe I used 6 and found the mixture to be too thick. Oh well, I will make them again and soon figure out just how many potatoes I can use. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      Great recipe but I found it difficult to reheat. I made it the day before and saved some for dinner that night. Much better the same day. Will definitely make again but eat it right away!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Kit's recipe and a few garlic cloves were perfet! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Kitten, as usual, you are a genius! I made these for Thanksgiving this year (and last year), and they were FAB-U-LOUS! I loved the fact that I could make them the night before and then just warm them up before leaving for my father's house. My sisters asked me to make something lighter this year, and so I said I made low-fat potatoes. When we were eating, they were "Mmmmming", and "OMGoshing", and finally, "I'm so glad you made these lighter because I just can't stop eating them!". Well, wink-wink, it's only once a year, and by the time we get done Christmas shopping, all that cream cheese and sour cream will be worked off!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This recipe worked great for our Thanksgiving dinner! I halved the recipe for our small group and successfully baked and served it in a beautiful souffle dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      These potatoes are so awesome with just the right texture and taste of a true mashed potato. I 1 1/2 x's the recipe to serve 12. Made the day b/f to put in the crock-pot on the following Thanksgiving Day. I didn't feel the need to add any more liquid as you had suggested in your forward. A definite winner/keeper and one I will go to again for large gatherings (or small).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      perfect. Made them a day ahead and they were just delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      love it!!! cut the recipe in half and skipped out on the cheese. this is a great recipe! i love the addition of onion powder. i think i'll make these for thanksgiving! thanks for another keeper, carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I made this dish for my Easter Dinner 2009. It went over very, very well with all my guests! I loved how easy it was to make, and the fact that I could make it in advance was fantastic. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      This was one of our featured recipes to an exchange student from France along with roast and gravy. We devoured this before getting a picture. Absolutely delicious. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 382.9
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    39%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 47.1 mg
    15%
    Sodium 392.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites