Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Low-Fat Oven-Baked Zucchini Sticks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Low-Fat Oven-Baked Zucchini Sticks

    Average Rating:

    86 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 86

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2003

      I was totally shocked at how delicious these crispy sticks tasted. Zucchini is not on my list of favorite vegetables and I buy it infrequently. But, I had some in the refrig and decided to try this recipe in desperation. My DH and I finished our portions and were disappointed that there wasn't more, so my advice is to make twice as much as you think you need. There wasn't a temperature setting for the oven written in the instructions, so I set mine for 375 hoping for the best. I got a phone call in the middle of the baking time and didn't turn the zucchini halfway through the baking time, and happily they were still perfectly crisp. And I used some panko dry bread crumbs which really helped make the little sticks crispy. Cornflake crumbs would be great too. Thanks for give me a recipe our family will enjoy for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      These were yummy! We cooked only 8 mins, or so, a side and cut them in thick coins. They were nice and crispy and not too soft for us. We thought maybe they could use stly more salt, so for next time. Also, we're going to go for 1/2 moon bite-size when we do them as a snack. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      WONDERFUL!!!! We really enjoyed this recipe I added the cayenne and used Panko crumbs these were crispy and tasty little morsels..........I wonder if they are still considered low fat if you eat them all yourself in one sitting.....LOL I will be making these often...in my eyes they were better than fries:) Thankyou for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This was fantastic!!!!!! My extremely picky three year old LOVED them. I did use ranch to coat instead of egg and liked the result. I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      I used some left over Italian seasoned breadcrumbs I had in the cupboard while sticking true to the other spices in this recipe. Came out swell.

      Five stars to the recipe not only because it worked but also because it was written in a way to encourage the fact there's many different ways of making these, depending upon your own taste. I like that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      I used cracker crumbs. Good and crispier than yhou would imagine from the oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I am giving this four stars, because I used this base recipe, but I changed it a bit. We thought these were great! I added 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour and I didn't use seasoning salt. I also added a bit more parmesan cheese and garlic powder. I used 2 eggs as well, because we had a HUGE home-grown zucchini to use up. I also sprinkled some cayenne pepper in there (just a dash) for a bit of a kick. I found the breading is easy to do by mixing the breading mixture in a Ziplock and tossing the egg-coated zucchini around in the bag (cleaner too). I baked at 450 on the middle rack, without turning, for 27 minutes or so. The crumbs were browned, and the zucchini was soft, but not mushy - kinda like steamed texture, but a bit more firm (it's hard to describe). I have served this with Salmon Patties and crescent rolls before, and also with Tilapia With Pimiento Sauce. Thanks for the idea...sorry I changed it around so much, but we really enjoyed this! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Delicious! I love having a new way to serve zucchini! My toddlers loved them and so did Hubby and I. I recommend slicing them very thin, like shoestring fries, if you want them to get crisp. The thicker ones did not crisp much for me. Oh, and I did not take the peels off...I left them on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2014

      Delicious! A good way to get my kids to eat some vegetable. I left out the cayenne but would like to try it next time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Delicious! I used panko breadcrumbs and followed the recipe exactly... I guess my zucchini were big because I needed to make another batch of the breadcrumb mixture and add another egg. These were a huge hit with my teenage daughter and her friends... and I loved them too! Thanks for a great recipe that I will surely be making again :^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      These were excellent! Crispy and flavorful. I used panko and I recommend you use that. I turned them once and they were perfectly crisp. I dipped them in a cucumber dip and they were sooooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      These were wonderfully crunchy. I cooked them a bit longer than directed but I was very happy with the results. I will definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      Yummy, yummy, yummy. I'll be making this all summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      I didn't really love this, I didn't really like the panko coating option that I used, if I make it again I think I'd prefer the regular crumbs. And I'd also add less black pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      Great recipe, zucchini was on sale at the supermarket so I bought a lot of it and looked for something to do with it when I got home. It is easy and really tasty. We have had it twice this week now. It goes really good with tzatziki.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      I love Zucchini but I'm a little tired of having it grilled or steamed, this was a nice change of pace. Thanks Kittencal for a great and simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      Wonderful! I ended up making two batches of eggs and crumb mix for my 1 regular and 1 super-large zucchini. I had to use Emmenthal instead of parm because it's what I had but I really liked it! I peeled them before finding this recipe but they were still great. Watch them after 20 minutes so they don't burn. Thanks for the keeper Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      Kitten does it again! I just love her recipes. Yumm-O!!!
      This was absolutely delicious. The entire family loved it.
      For those who are interested I calculated Weight Watchers Points Plus calculation is 11 points for the entire batch. Not that I...ahem...could eat an entire batch, well...maybe. :) (the nutritional information listed doesn't calculate correctly for some reason on food.com but I used nutrition labels and added up the recipe)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      All I can say is YUM! These were amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Healthy appetizer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Low-Fat Oven-Baked Zucchini Sticks

    Serving Size: 1 (726 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 8.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    30%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 3.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 25.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites