86 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was totally shocked at how delicious these crispy sticks tasted. Zucchini is not on my list of favorite vegetables and I buy it infrequently. But, I had some in the refrig and decided to try this recipe in desperation. My DH and I finished our portions and were disappointed that there wasn't more, so my advice is to make twice as much as you think you need. There wasn't a temperature setting for the oven written in the instructions, so I set mine for 375 hoping for the best. I got a phone call in the middle of the baking time and didn't turn the zucchini halfway through the baking time, and happily they were still perfectly crisp. And I used some panko dry bread crumbs which really helped make the little sticks crispy. Cornflake crumbs would be great too. Thanks for give me a recipe our family will enjoy for years to come.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema August 20, 2003

These were yummy! We cooked only 8 mins, or so, a side and cut them in thick coins. They were nice and crispy and not too soft for us. We thought maybe they could use stly more salt, so for next time. Also, we're going to go for 1/2 moon bite-size when we do them as a snack. Thanks Kittencal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo January 18, 2012

WONDERFUL!!!! We really enjoyed this recipe I added the cayenne and used Panko crumbs these were crispy and tasty little morsels..........I wonder if they are still considered low fat if you eat them all yourself in one sitting.....LOL I will be making these often...in my eyes they were better than fries:) Thankyou for posting!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Decadent1 May 23, 2010

This was fantastic!!!!!! My extremely picky three year old LOVED them. I did use ranch to coat instead of egg and liked the result. I will definitely make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Dockter April 27, 2010

I used some left over Italian seasoned breadcrumbs I had in the cupboard while sticking true to the other spices in this recipe. Came out swell.

Five stars to the recipe not only because it worked but also because it was written in a way to encourage the fact there's many different ways of making these, depending upon your own taste. I like that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Biscuits -n- Gravy June 10, 2012

I used cracker crumbs. Good and crispier than yhou would imagine from the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 04, 2011

I am giving this four stars, because I used this base recipe, but I changed it a bit. We thought these were great! I added 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour and I didn't use seasoning salt. I also added a bit more parmesan cheese and garlic powder. I used 2 eggs as well, because we had a HUGE home-grown zucchini to use up. I also sprinkled some cayenne pepper in there (just a dash) for a bit of a kick. I found the breading is easy to do by mixing the breading mixture in a Ziplock and tossing the egg-coated zucchini around in the bag (cleaner too). I baked at 450 on the middle rack, without turning, for 27 minutes or so. The crumbs were browned, and the zucchini was soft, but not mushy - kinda like steamed texture, but a bit more firm (it's hard to describe). I have served this with Salmon Patties and crescent rolls before, and also with Tilapia With Pimiento Sauce. Thanks for the idea...sorry I changed it around so much, but we really enjoyed this! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 June 02, 2009

Delicious! I love having a new way to serve zucchini! My toddlers loved them and so did Hubby and I. I recommend slicing them very thin, like shoestring fries, if you want them to get crisp. The thicker ones did not crisp much for me. Oh, and I did not take the peels off...I left them on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl May 12, 2009

Delicious! A good way to get my kids to eat some vegetable. I left out the cayenne but would like to try it next time. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore July 13, 2014

Delicious! I used panko breadcrumbs and followed the recipe exactly... I guess my zucchini were big because I needed to make another batch of the breadcrumb mixture and add another egg. These were a huge hit with my teenage daughter and her friends... and I loved them too! Thanks for a great recipe that I will surely be making again :^)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hollyism August 25, 2012
Kittencal's Low-Fat Oven-Baked Zucchini Sticks