52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So I've been gleaning from this site for several years now, and have never posted a review before. BUT, this pie was SO good, I'm "coming out of lurkdom" to give it yet another 5-star rating. Out of 11 people in my family, it gets 11 "thumbs-up". I topped it with sweetened whipped cream (cause I was in a sweets-making mood last night so had it made up for another recipe), and we used a different pie crust recipe just because that's the one my son is used to using. Our pies came out darker even though we did use the food coloring, because I only use turbinado sugar and it is naturally brown. I've noted our copy of the recipe so we won't waste food coloring again. I also didn't have any cornstarch, so we used flour instead (the conversion for that is 2x as much flour as cornstarch called for); this worked just fine. Since we used the whipped cream on top instead of the "reserved" cream cheese mixture, my daughter used some of that on her bagel for breakfast this morning and the combo is absolutely amazing! We will definitely be using this recipe again-- time after time! Thanks so much, Kitten (by the way, yours is one of my 'trusted names" when I'm recipe-hunting ;) ).

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Timedess February 07, 2011

Very delicious! I had no problems with it thickening up. I used a graham cracker crust due to personal preference. Thanks for this awesome pie!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggielover 1980 August 15, 2010

Made this for Christmas Eve. YUMMY!!! Used graham cracker crust as suggested below. Only thing I didn't like was I forgot I had leftovers...didn't taste the same after 2 days. Top was a little rubbery...so I suggest eating it all in 1 day!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Mom 28 December 29, 2010

This was the best lemon pie I ever tasted! The lemon filling came together really quick (under one minute once it started boiling). It was time consuming but well worth it! Really the only hard part was squeezing the lemons since I don't have a juicer at the moment. Thanks for another great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes September 12, 2009

This pie is delicious. My husband says it's the best dessert I've ever made and he loves lots of my desserts. I didn't reserve any of the cream cheese mixture for the top, I just added whipped cream. The kids love it, too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathyhart May 24, 2008

OMG!!! this was so amazing you cant just have only one piece! it was so good i had have 2 slices LOL thank u so much im so gonna make this again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleylovescooking55 June 29, 2012

When I see Kittencal on this site I assume it is a good recipe. This did not disappoint. It was fairly easy, very lemony, and pretty to behold. This is easier than a lemon meringue, but you get all the tart and creamy goodness. My one slight complaint with my pie was that the lemon layer did not set quite as firm as I had hoped so slicing was a bit messy. The flavor to a true lemon lover made this a non-issue in the long run though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Callu August 21, 2011

OMG. After being concered with lack of egg yolks for this recipe, i just went ahead and made it as noted. It is the best I have ever tasted. It took about 10 min to come to boil/thicken, but just be patient. It is well worth it. It is tart and sweet at the same time. Would be awesome for squares. I just made raspberry turnovers and put some warm lemon over them. Everyone is raving and asking for more.Will double to make pie next time. This is a keeper and a Christmas recipe. Thank you soooo much. All others are too sweet/tart.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grams cooking December 02, 2010

This is my favorite pie ever, I think. It couldn't be better. I made exactly as directed, except that I added some lemon extract because it was sitting in front of me, and I didn't take the time to garnish with the extra cream cheese mixture. I just put a dollop of whipped cream on top and died and went to heaven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SilverOpera November 20, 2010

Awesome LEMON pie! Too bad EVERYONE will not get a taste of this pie AT LEAST once in a lifetime! We have a dear family friend who is NOT a "chocoholic" like me... he loves lemon pie. I made this for him... and others in a supper club group... but mostly just for HIM! A year ago... and they are still talking about it, requesting that I do it for the group again! (I have done it for myself since then... just selfish, I guess. LOL) This pie is an effort... but WELL WORTH the effort. Make it with love for someone you know who LOVES lemon pie! It ALMOST makes me forget about chocolate! In all fairness, a good Key Lime Pie has a nearly equivalent effect on me... but this IS the lemon pie for the occasion that calls for "making a statement!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grantg June 06, 2010
Kittencal's Lemon Cream Cheese Pie