Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2011

      I love this one! It has such a rich and decadent flavor, but it's a great lower calorie option. One of my favorites, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      I loved this recipe! Not only was it delicious, it was also amazingly easy to make! Which is important when you have a two year old who wants to "help Mommy"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      This is really excellent! It's easy and the flavors are lovely. I added some cooked chicken for a fuller meal. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

    • on March 28, 2010

      I tried this using some homemade broth and loved it. Skipped the parmesan cheese but otherwise made it true to your recipe. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      I am so cold today and this was exactly what I needed! I loved the orzo with lemon and liked the Parmesan addition as well. Bet it will taste even better tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      This was wonderful! I think it might become my new favorite soup. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

    • on January 14, 2009

      I made this using Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option) which, of course, made it absolutely fabulous! And I *really* appreciate the tip on how to add the egg without curdling it; this is a tip I'll be able to use for other things. Thank you once again, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      another 5 stars for kittencal!! is this soup similar to avglemeno soup?!!?? Avegelmeno soup is my favorite soup and this tastes very close to it! My husband and I enjoyed this sooo much! i will absolutely make this over and over again. We ate it tonight w Kittencal's meatball recipe made into hamburger patties! with a side of greenbeans! Another fantastic kittencal dinner at the Pesoli household!! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This is a good soup. I didn't have any chicken broth so I used chicken bouillon, and I also used rice. Next time I will use orzo and maybe add another lemon or cut back on the broth. It wasn't quite lemony enough for us (maybe our lemon was a dud). The soup has a really nice texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      delicious! I chopped up some baby carrots and a chicken breast to cook in the broth. The egg makes a nice creamy soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Hubby and I loved this soup. The lemon juice is the secret that brings out the flavors. I followed the recipe exactly (using Orzo) and I wouldn't change a thing. This is another winner from Kittencal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I added garlic, celery. and extra lemon and spice.. So much better the next day.. Absoutly outstanding.. Better than eating out

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      Loved this subtly flavored soup. I did add a little extra lemon juice and some dill for color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Flavor was delicious and unusual. I used commercial organic chicken broth, and I think I will add a touch of garlic next time. I agree that it was almost creamy. It was even better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      My daughter loves a local resturant's Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup, and I really thought this was just too easy to taste the same, but tried it anyway. Glad I did - my daughter loved it (skipped the cheese, too). Recipe was quick, easy, and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      Wow...this was SO good! I, too, left off the parmesan cheese and felt it didnt need it. The soup seemed almost creamy though it had no cream. Thanks for another winner Kitten!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      Because I've never seen parmesan cheese in Greece or in a Greek restaurant, I left the parmesan cheese off, and the soup was wonderful! I appreciate knowing how to add the lemon and egg without it curdling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      DH had some dental surgery yesterday so I made this soup for him. I added some leftover shredded chicken and spinach. You don't need salt in this if you are using canned chicken broth. The lemon is a very different taste in soup for us. Thanks for posting, Kit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (558 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 311.1
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    21%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 124.0 mg
    41%
    Sodium 2041.0 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 22.8 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites