Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Jumbo Bakery Shop Blueberry Sour Cream Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Jumbo Bakery Shop Blueberry Sour Cream Scones

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2010

      These scones are WONDERFUL. I am enjoying one right now. I made them exactly as described (with the glaring error that I forgot the 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar). It did not seem to make any difference. I live in Jamaica where very cold butter doesn't stay very cold for long once it leaves the fridge, so I cut into very small cubes worked it in with a pastry blender and then finished mixing quickly with my fingers. Blueberries are hard to come by so I used orange flavoured craisins and I am sure I will try other variations. Forming the dough into a ball and cutting into wedges was very easy and they came out perfectly shaped, perfectly sized and perfectly delicious. No problem in handling at all. The texture is exactly what I expected and they are wonderful with a little lemon curd-another British delight-spread on them while still warm. I will definitely make these again and with any luck there will be some left tonight when my husband gets home.. Thank you Kittencal-wonderful, as always

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      These are delicious! Great crust with a moist and fluffy middle. I took some to work and several people weren't familiar with scones at all; I would describe as a cross between a biscuit and a muffin. Mine crumbled slightly as I was eating but was moist enough I could squish the crumbs together with my fork and pick them up. I used about 1 1/2 cups of craisins and the zest of 2 lemons instead of blueberries and omitted the cinnamon but otherwise followed ingredients. Not quite enough cranberries or lemon for me so next time I'll double it or put in a cup of something else like white chocolate chips! I've never made scones but after looking at some other recipes another change I made was to put all of the flour mixture ingredients in the food processor and then pulse with frozen cubes of butter till it resembled meal rather than flour. The dough for me was very wet (could be preparation?) and resembled a thick muffin batter. Didn't even bother attempting to roll or knead it as it would have required adding a substantial amount of flour. I divided the "dough" and shaped triangles by hand on parchment paper. I baked half of the batter and am freezing (in triangle shapes) the rest to bake later. The six I baked were very large (one barely fit on a standard saucer) as they spread quite a bit in the oven. Unless the frozen ones don't spread, next time I'll make 16 scones from this recipe (or perhaps 18 as I plan to add another cup of ingredients).**UPDATE** Frozen scones were wonderful! I made 8 scones from the frozen dough (1/2 batch) and they were still large scones. I didn't change the oven temp but did leave them in the full 15 minutes. The frozen scones didn't seem to spread as much in the oven as the fresh ones but since I changed the size perhaps it just wasn't as obvious. One tip when freezing, they are still somewhat soft and sticky when fully frozen so if you want to stack them be sure to use wax paper between layers. I put mine in a single layer in freezer bags.***Update*** Made them for Christmas as cranberry lemon and used a large cookie scoop to portion them for goodie trays and baskets--of the dozen baked items, this was tied for first!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I was so concerned with over mixing the dough I don't think I mixed it enough.Because of this my dough was quite crumbly and it was hard to form into a nice round dough,my fault.But I managed to stick it all together and form scones.I had some strawberries that I needed to use up so I subbed them for the blueberries.I also sprinkled a cinnamon/sugar mixture on top before I baked them.These are very tasty,even with my crumbly dough.The almond extract is really nice in these also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Yay Kittencal! Once again, I am very pleased to give a 5 star review to one of your recipes. These were light, fluffy, tasty and, most important to me, not disgustingly sweet. I made these for a "tea party" on a cold, rainy day with my 3 year old son and his friend. They helped with the mixing and grating the frozen butter (a tip I got from Cook's Country magazine.) After tasting one, my son told me I was the "best cooker in the world." Thanks Kittencal for making our tea party tasty. :o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Delicious! I added 3/4 bag of coconut and 3/4 bag of chocolate chips and they turned out great. I also kneaded the dough before rolling it out and it was super easy to work with. Will definitely make these again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2014

    • on February 07, 2014

      Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      Wonderful! Better than the bakery. I used frozen blueberries, thawed and patted dry, then flour them before adding to the mix. Had to use a bit more flour in the mix also to keep it from being too soft due to the moisture in the blueberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      Devine...especially served with Devonshire cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      I used to make cream scones, but only had plain yogurt on hand today, so found this recipe. It worked wonderfully. My favorite part was substituting sucanat for sugar, baking with the butter, provided this carmelly crust that made these unbelievably great. This is my new scone recipe. Kittencal scores again! (I also used dried cherries instead of blueberries, which weren't the best addition, so next time it will be blueberries for sure)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      These are fantastic! I've made them with blueberries and with blackberries. They were both wonderful, though the time I made them with blackberries they were a little more moist than would be ideal. That was fine though. They still tasted lovely. Every time I make them I use your glaze. These are loved by everyone who tastes one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      We LOVE this recipe! I've been making it for a couple years and always get rave reviews. The only thing that I do different is instead of the vanilla glaze I use a lime glaze... just powdered sugar, a little butter, and lime juice. It really sets off the blueberries and gives it a sweet and tart taste. I've also used yogurt or buttermilk instead of the sour cream and it works just as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      WOW, I had never made scones and am not much of a baker. My niece and I had a contest on whose scones were better, mine won hands down by a panel of judges(friends and family) she even liked them better than hers. I made cranberry orange scones.Great recipe, followed to the T, am making them as Christmas gifts this year!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      Yet another of your great recipes!! My 12 year old daughter made these to enter into the county fair this year and she won a state fair blue on them!!! We did not use the glaze just put on powdered sugar. She had a little trouble with some of them keeping their form and could be because we used frozen blueberries but the taste was outstanding. This is by far a great recipe and I will insist she keep working on them---hehehe so that we can still eat them :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I have made many scones in my life, and these are a gem. I only made a half recipe, and got one dozen scones out of the batch were a; they were a perfect size for my kids. In my opinion, the scones are plenty sweet without a glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      These scones were perfect!!! Thank you for yet another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      They were absolutely delicious! I made half of them blueberry and half apple. My mother said the blueberries popped like a flavor explosion in her mouth. I loved the apple. This recipe definitely has made my book as the only scone recipe that I'll need. Thanks for another great one Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      These scones are AMAZING! I have been making them for a local cafe I work at a few times a week and they are selling faster than I can make them! I have used this recipe for rasberries as well and they are a hit! I added my traditional glaze to them (vanilla, milk, powdered sugar) and it puts them over the top! I divide the dough into two circles and cut them into 8 scones each circle... like a pie. This gives me a total of 16 scones. Great recipe. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

    • on August 16, 2010

      Very good scone recipe. I made them for an engagement party brunch and they were all eaten. I just wished they were a bit easier to shape and had browned up a little more because they were not that eye pleasing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Jumbo Bakery Shop Blueberry Sour Cream Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.4
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    44%
    Total Fat 19.9 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 66.1 mg
    22%
    Sodium 531.8 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 18.7 g
    74%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites