53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Kittencal, this is a wonderful recipe. I put a 6.5 lb. turkey breast in the crockpot Wed. around 10 p.m. I followed your recipe and poured about 3/4 cup of chicken stock over the breast. I set the crock pot on high for an hour and then turned it on low until 6 a.m. Thurs. After letting it cool, I wrapped it in foil. About an hour and one half before dinner, I put it in the oven, temp at 325 degrees, took it out after one hour. We didn't eat until 4 p.m. and I was a little worried that it might dry out. But this is by far the BEST turkey I've ever made and eaten. The rest of the family thought so too. I strained the liquid and made about two cups of the best turkey gravy ever. I put some flour and water in a shaker and slowly poured it in the boiling liquid and cooked it a few min. Added a little pepper, it was already salty enough. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. This is a keeper! UPDATE: I made this again for Christmas dinner yesterday and it was again wonderful--moist and flavorful. Gravy made from the liquid was also wonderful!! The family ate almost all of this 6.5+ lb. turkey. Thanks again for this fantastic recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nathan's Nana December 26, 2008

This was great! I love having turkey without having to heat up the kitchen in this weather. I omitted the oil, and added about a cup or so of water in the bottom of the crockpot. The 7 1/2 pound bone-in breast was done after 1 1/2 hours on high and 5 on low. The drippings made a nice gravy, as well. Served with mashed potatoes and Lemon Glazed Baby Carrots. Looking forward to hot turkey sandwich leftovers, too. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC September 02, 2010

My entire family said it was GREAT! I did use a previously frozen boneless breast, but I had NO complaints! I cooked it on high for 1 hour and then on low for about 5 1/2 hours. I was skeptical, but now this will be the way I cook turkey breast from now on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fedexlisa December 01, 2009

This was good and easy to make. My turkey breast was only 3 1/2 pounds but I kept the other ingredients the same. I cooked it for 4 hours but it was a bit dry but I think I just cooked it too long. This had a wonderful flavor to it. I put red potatoes under the breasts and cooked everything together. Very nice. Thanks again Kit and get well soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 28, 2007

We thought this was quite delicious and the prep was very easy. With our 100+ degree weather, it was a bonus to not have to use the oven. The meat was very moist and tender and we loved the oniony flavor. Cold left-overs made great turkey sandwiches. Thanks, will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' June 22, 2010

Seriously Kitten, I just love your recipes. This was another great one. The turkey was moist and delicious and super easy. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee October 20, 2009

I brined my 4 1/2 lb breast. Forgot to rinse it and so a bit salty. The turkey itself was perfect! Cut with a fork and non of the dryness associated with white breast meat. Cooked fast and do yourself a favor by investing in a probe thermometer. It told me exactly when it was done. Mine barely fit in the pot but I had a pyrex bowl that would have made a great dome lid! Just a tip!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Craig1952 February 13, 2009

I followed this recipe-- except I used butter instead of oil . I also poured some chicken broth -- about 3/4 cup-- over the breast. WONDEFUL!! I will never make a turkey breast again in the oven-the turkey was very moist and the gravy was delish! Thanks kittencal for another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover August 23, 2008

This was excellent, and still is 4 days later. My turkey did not fit in the crockpot, and I put foil over the top like a reviewer suggested and cooked it in there the first hour and a half. I then wrote Kitten that that's what I was doing, and she was nice enough to hold my hand, and guide me thru roasting it the rest of the way in the oven instead (yes, I'm 60, and this was only my second try at fixing a turkey breast). I was told it would probably take 2 1/2 hours in the oven, BUT remember it had started cooking in the crockpot. I tested after about 1 1/2 hours or so, and it was done. I put it back for just a few minutes to brown, but was afraid it would be too dry. It was absolutely moist and delicious upon coming from the oven. I let it cool slightly, and put it in the fridge, so I wouldn't forget it and let it totally ruin. I warmed some pieces the next day, and it was delicious. I can't wait to get a larger crockpot. I want to try it exactly as written, BUT I can assure you if you put it in the oven, in a pan, and let it cook in there until it's done (like 2 1/2-3 1/2 hours for a 6 lb. turkey), it will be wonderful. Thanks, Kitten, for all the help on this one. I love(d) it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ November 25, 2007

The best turkey breast I've ever cooked or tasted! A thousand thank yous!!! ; )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mz j. November 28, 2014
Kittencal's Juicy Crock Pot Turkey Breast