111 Reviews

These were a big hit with the family tonight. My 6 year old niece decided they were the best food she ever had! We cut back on the onions due to picky eaters and increased the zucchini because the garden is very fruitful this year. Maybe more garlic next time and try variety of cheeses to mix it up. This is definitely going in the book. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.lipe July 12, 2010

These were yummy! (Per DH.) Made as stated except halved the recipe for us two and added some fresh parsley as one reviewer suggested, and used a combination of both vidalia onion and green onion. Served with sour cream and ranch on the side. In-laws even want the recipe after hearing how good they were!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meekocu2 July 05, 2010

Kittencal, these are great. Made on short notice and didn't have time to go the store, so I had to alter a bit. Halved recipe, omitted onion, and added 1/4 cup of cornmeal. Served with warm marinara sauce for dipping, and they disappeared super quickly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovely_apron June 21, 2010

These zucchini cakes were excellent! We loved the parmesan and mozzarella cheese in them. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn June 07, 2010

KKittencal, you have another amaaazing 5 star recipe!!! I needed to find a side dish for a vegetarian cookout and I wanted something that would be a little out of the ordinary. Since I didn't have half the fresh ingredients on hand (aside from the zucchini and eggs!), I had to make some substitutions: I used a pinch of salt, garlic powder, onion powder, lemon pepper, ground nutmeg, ground ginger, and a dash of paprika. I also used 4 small zucchinis and about 1 cup of flour. Two eggs were perfect for binding. I used grated Parmesan and shredded Italian 5 blend. I also ended up frying my patties in a mix of olive oil and vegetable oil (about 3:1 ratio). The results were incredible and delicious! As you said, it is a VERY forgiving recipe! Thank you so much for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick May 30, 2010

These were very good, but they did have a hard time staying together in the pan. My dh who doesn't like veggies said they good. so I guess this recipe is a keeper. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bittersweetened May 19, 2010

These are so yummy!I have to admit that I am the only zucchini lover in the family, so I cut the recipe down just for me. These are so very easy to make, and they take no time at all to cook.We just down-sized recently by purchasing a Fry Daddy. We retired our big commercial size deep fryer because for just the two of us, the large one just isn't feasible.Not only is it too heavy, it spatters oil all over the place. So, with just the right deep fryer, these came out great!I'd grated a little too much zucchini, so after I'd cooked them all, I placed some squares of waxed paper between them and then froze them. I took some out a couple of days ago and thawed them, making sure to really get the moisture out, then deep fried them as I'd done the original day I'd made them. They were ever as good as the first ones! Thanks so much Kit for another winner! Made for a Green Event at KK's new site!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER March 27, 2010

What a gooey mess!! The flavor was ok, if I do these again, more garlic, and less pepper. I was making these for company, and based on the reviews, doubled the batch. They do not look pretty at all when deep fried, because they do not hold together well. However, instead of throwing half the batch out, I baked them at 400 on a greased cookie sheet, flipping 1/2 way through. That gave them the consistancy of shape that I wanted to serve to guests. thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage February 26, 2010

Taste fantastic! I thought they were a bit too fatty/greasy but ate them all anyway ;o). Will def be making again. YUMYUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamaDlicious February 13, 2010

My new favorite zucchini pattie recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andtototoo! December 26, 2009
Kittencal's Italian Zucchini-Mozzarella Patties