109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Another great recipe from the best chef on Food.com. Made as directed and did not have the problems other viewers had. Cooked on the stove in a little olive oil, blotted dry with a paper towel. Not greasy at all, just plain fantastic. I can see this being an appetizer and even taking the place of a veggie burger. They are that good. Thanks Kittencal for all you do!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nonie39 January 13, 2014

I didn't have mozzarella cheese, so used cheddar instead. Also baked rather than fried to cut down on fat content. I made my patties thin, putting them on baking tray lined with parchment paper, and baked 10 minutes per side at 400 - total baking time 20 minutes. Then I sprinkled freshly grated Parmesan on top and put under low broil for about 3-4 minutes until cheese turned golden brown. They were delicious! A wonderful way to use up summer zucchini.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vplefka_8281191 July 23, 2013

Oh my! Those are good. I can see that I'll be making these a lot while I have a surplus of zucchini and summer squash. I even forgot to squeeze the excess liquid out and they still came out beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi the grate June 08, 2013

Do heavily oil the foil or pan if you bake these. They are good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gail.lalumiere November 10, 2012

Great recipe. I was looking for a recipe that was different than other zucchini recipes for the zucchini I had left in the refrigerator and this recipe was the answer. I followed the recipe to the T. The patties held a lot of grease; but I just used a lot of paper towel to absorb the excess grease, other than that I really enjoyed them. I enjoy spicy foods so the next time I make them I will also use a spicy seasoning. Thanks for posting Kittencal. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tazygirl45 October 14, 2012

I finally got around to making these and they do taste great! Even my 9 yo who "hates" zucchini loved them. I do have to say, I followed the recipe exactly and apparently didn't squeeze out enough liquid. They seemed pretty loose when putting them on the baking sheet. I had to try this option first as I am trying to eat more healthy fare. They didn't come out as I had hoped (with a nice crunch on the outside) so I heated up some peanut oil and fried them ....after 20 minutes of baking. I am eating them as I type this and the taste is really awesome! Also, I didn't find them to be greasy because of the cheese. I did try it after baking and they just seemed soft. I only gave it 4 stars because I would prefer baking them but will definitely make them again!! I may even add a pinch of cayenne for a little heat :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goldenmom64 September 09, 2012

Best zucchini recipe in the world. Thank you.

Edit: Use only a few drops of oil in a nonstick pan and you will have no problem w/ the greasiness some have complained of.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah August 16, 2012

I made exactly as written except to add a dash of salt and bake them. I expected better based on the reviews and photos (granted - those were probably the fried version!). I don't think frying them would have made them much better. These were good but not great. Also took a long time to bake at 350. I think if I made them again I would add more seasonings and then bake them for about 20 minutes then broil them to crisp/brown them up a little more. Good use of my garden zucchini - took about 1.5 large zucchini to make.
Lastly - I think this makes more like 6 servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Romano-Clarke August 16, 2012
Kittencal's Italian Zucchini-Mozzarella Patties