109 Reviews

These are AMAZING!!!! I used a vidalia onion, so there is some sweetness to the patties, and also added some mushrooms and cornmeal when I thought they were going to be too watery. Based on some reviews saying they were kind of greasy, I cut back on the cheese a bit and opted to bake them at 350 for 20 min, turning halfway, and they were perfect. The egg and cheese kept them moist and they browned up nicely. I will be making these again!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunana1 March 21, 2011

These were amazing! I tried them both ways: fried in olive oil, and baked in the oven at 350F in a pan lined with parchment paper. They turned out great both ways, so I think I will bake them in the oven from now on because it's the healthier option since it's oil-free.
They tasted great fried in olive oil as well, but they turn out a bit greasier than oven baked patties. I'll definatly be making these again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CuddleBug10k June 21, 2011

I had such high hopes for this...it smelled AMAZING, and seemed a delicious mix of ingredients. Unfortunately, it came out a greasy, disgusting mess. I followed the directions exactly, and was very disappointed in the result.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Martin KV June 28, 2009

Absolutely fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, only I poured all of the batter into an 8 in. square pan and baked it. Delicious! Everyone loved it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wncliz June 28, 2009

My son and I LOVE these! My wife is not a fan of garlic or onion. Even cooking these in oil, the ones that I made were not greasy - they were pleasantly moist from the water I was unable to squeeze out, Also, mine would have been less greasy because I did not use the flour (which would have helped hold them together but also would have soaked up the oil big time!) so if greasiness is your only complaint, either try baking them or cutting down or omitting the flour.

We ate them like hash browns - even without the flour they kept together somewhat as patties. We tried them plain, with ketchup, with relish - all GREAT! Like them even better than hash browns and SO MUCH HEALTHIER! (Removing the flour also makes these Atkins friendly and/or good for low glycemic index diets!)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denryu August 08, 2012

These were good. Different than I expected somehow. I LOVE fried zucchini and thought this would be a stepped up version of that. It wasn't, it was more like a potato pancake. Thanks for posting the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 13, 2012

These have such great flavor and the addition of mozzarella sets them over the top! Next time I am going to try to pair with marinara sauce for dipping. Thanks for another great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toohot4u August 19, 2010

These were delicious! I was looking for something to do with a couple of zucchini from a neighbor's garden and as soon as I found one from Kitten - I knew I needed to try it. This is definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aun0920 July 11, 2010

These are really good and fairly healthy if you use FF cheese!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleOnTheLake July 06, 2010

I prefer to bake these in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird July 22, 2014
Kittencal's Italian Zucchini-Mozzarella Patties