73 Reviews

Holy man is this good, takes a while but is sooo worth the time. I followed the recipe exactly & would not change a thing. The pork makes this recipe so do as Kitten says & don't leave it out. After 3 days in the frig we had it with your meatballs over penne pasta & even my non-pasta loving husband said it was really good. High praise indeed. I simmered the sauce for 6 hours, did not use the optional sugar & did not add the salt as I am supposed to cut back on it. Thank you for another winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SammiCat March 22, 2009

I had an unsmoked pork hock and didn't know what to do with it. So......recipezaar to the rescue. I found your recipe and knew I wanted to try it out. So glad I did, it was very good. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 02, 2009

I ove all your recipes! I come from an Italian household. My family doesnt like my mothers sauce. I made this and it was a hit! thanks! I didn't use any other meat besides the meatballs from your recipe. We are not big beef eaters! Still was great. Can't wait to try the leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsciog2 February 10, 2009

OMG! This sauce is amazing. This is sauce is better than the sauce at our local fabulous italian restaurant. I just made this today so it hasn't sat in the fridge for a couple days yet but even without sitting this sauce is fantastic. I just couldn't wait to post the review. I can't wait to taste it in a couple of days!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiger7lady February 01, 2009

Great sauce recipe. It was completely delicious, and I am a sucker for anything with a long simmer time. As an added bonus the whole house smelled yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethy Boo January 31, 2009

This sauce was so rich and flavorful. I only made half a batch and it made LOTS! If I would of made the whole batch I would of needed to make it in a dutch oven because my large skillet was full! I didnt have a pork hock so I just threw in a couple pieces of bacon to get its flavor in. I simmered for around 4 - 5 hours. It thickened up ALOT. It almost turned into a paste so I had to add a lot more water to thin it out a bit. It turned out to be so good and flavorful without letting it marinate a day. We used it on Divine Meatball Sandwiches. I had some leftover sauce, so I froze it. Cant wait to try the rest after its marinated for awhile.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* December 22, 2008

Delish!! I followed the recipe exactly and DH says I'm never to buy pasta sauce from the store again. My son found it a little too spicy toward the end of the meal so I may cut down the red peppers next time. I think I'll also try adding some mushrooms next time to give it another layer of flavor. Definitely let it rest in the refrigerator...it just gets better and better. Thanks Kittencal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Croft Girl October 07, 2008

I've made my sauce like this for years. People always wonder why I would use pork ribs, until they taste it. I also use Sweet Italian and Hot Italian Sausages. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SwissItalian September 17, 2008

Yummy! i have made this 3 times with Kittencal's melt-in-your-mouth meatballs and they are so good. DH has requested these for when family comes tomorrow. I obvisouly dont change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Australian Wife - Learning August 17, 2008

Outstanding! Can I give 10 stars?!?!? So simple to make! My family is raving about what a great cook I am! (I just slid your recipe into the silverware drawer!!) SShhhh! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SecretIngredients June 04, 2008
Kittencal's Italian Tomato Pasta Sauce and Parmesan Meatballs