Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Italian Tomato Pasta Sauce and Parmesan Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Italian Tomato Pasta Sauce and Parmesan Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-72 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2007

      Very good sauce. I added an extra Tablespoon of fresh garlic (personal choice), 1/2 c grated parmesan, and 1 extra Tablespoon of sugar. Perfect sauce. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      I usually make my own pasta sauce, but decided to give this a try, as I was making your meatball recipe( #69173 ) for dinner last night. This is an excellent pasta sauce and I love the touch of heat the dried chili flakes give it! I couldn't find any pork hocks ( and I know ham hocks would give it a different flavor ) in the grocery stores I went to, so I added about 1 pound of baby back pork ribs to the simmering sauce along with the full recipe of meatballs. I also used a medium whole onion and 1 cup of merlot in the sauce. This fed four of us, I gave two servings to my son who was headed back to school, and still have plenty for leftovers ( I'm looking forward to the fall-off-the-bone rib meat) or for freezing. Thanks for sharing this,Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      I'm always on the lookout for a great sauce recipe and this one ranks high! The ham hock added some very nice flavor, as did your meatballs, which I simmered in the sauce. Overall, it may have been a touch more acidic than I would ultimately like, but it was still good, good, good! I halved the recipe and still had plenty left over for the freezer. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      You are by far my favorite chef here on zarr....This was wonderful and I used it with your meatball recipe....It was perfect....I didnt have to add a thing which is very unusual for me....I always add something.....thanks, sharon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Just fabulous, didnot have pork but used bacon instead and was superb but I will use pork next time as this wonderful Chef is exceptionally talented. Well done

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      Wow Kittencal, Thank you for posting this recipe. This is a wonderful sauce. I went all the way with the cup of wine and had a glass for myself. I didn't have the pork hock so I left it out but it was still excellent. I used a chipotle chile instead of the dried chiles and I cut up four cans of Italian stewed tomatoes instead of the crushed and diced tomatoes. I didn't have four hours to cook this down so I added an extra can of tomato paste. It was "really good" my dad said. This was so easy to make and so were the terrific meat balls, Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs I added in with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Scrumptious! And I'm sure that the pork hock and the long, slow simmering had a lot to do with the wonderful flavour. I made this - a double quantity - to use in KITTENCAL’s Spinach & Four- Cheese Manicotti Kittencal's Spinach & Four-Cheese Manicotti (Vegetarian). The only changes I made were to omit the dried chilies and the tomato paste (personal taste preference), and I did use a bit more wine. I used merlot. This was absolutely THE best pasta sauce I've made so, needless to say, I'll be making this often to use in various recipes. I didn't include the meatballs but I am really looking forward to making those on another occasion - soon. Again, KITTENCAL, thank you for sharing another fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Made this sauce to go with Kitz's parmesan meatballs #69173. This is a really tasty and easy sauce, albeit it takes a while to make. I made the whole sauce, but freezed the other half with the other half of the meat balls. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      I'm going to call this a "triple header" review! I made this delicious sauce 2 days ahead & used some on your Baked Hamburger Patties With Pasta Sauce (132819). Last night, I served the sauce over spaghetti noodles for dinner - topped with your Meatballs (69173) which I had previously made & frozen. I was light on the chilies but rather heavy on the red wine. I omitted the salt entirely because I removed the fat from a small slab of salt pork to use instead of the pork hocks. I'm so glad this recipe makes a lot of sauce because I've now got some in the freezer to enjoy another day! Thanx Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      WOW this pasta sauce IS AWESOME! I made it a day ahead as suggested, and yes it was even better the next day. I used a pork hock and also KITTENCAL'S Parmesan meat ball Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs and just threw them in the simmering sauce. This recipe does make tons of sauce so I froze some for another meal. This is a new favorite sauce recipe that I will make from now on! thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      This makes alot of sauce! You didnt write when to add the wine, so, I drank one glass and added one. :) Toward the end I figured both should have been added to the sauce as it was pretty thick so I did. I love the color it gives the sauce. Sort of the same color as my cheeks after two glasses. Great stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      Awesome!This is the best pasta sauce i`ve ever tried,i also made your meatballs,thanks for agreat recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Italian Tomato Pasta Sauce and Parmesan Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (363 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.3
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    96%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1052.2 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites