Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Italian Tomato Pasta Sauce and Parmesan Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Italian Tomato Pasta Sauce and Parmesan Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2009

      Out of this world good. I made both the sauce and the meatballs. I made the sauce 2 days ago (simmered for approx. 4 hours) and refrigerated. Yesterday morning I made the meatballs. I chose to bake them (tasted one fresh out of the oven and could have eaten them all - so good!). I added the baked meatballs back to the sauce and then slowly brought it all back to temperature. Served over pasta w/ a green salad and garlic toast. A GREAT dinner that will be made again and again,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      All I can say is WOW! This combination of sauce and meatballs are wonderful... thank you Kittencal. I made both on a Thursday night. I used 1LB Hamburger and 1/2LB mild sausage. I made the sauce and let it simmer for about 15min in the pot, then dumped sauce into my crock pot and submerged the meatballs. Turned on low to simmer overnight with the timer to turn off at 4am. By the time I got out of bed the house smelled awsome and the crock was cooling down to room temp. I covered the crock with plastic wrap and into the fridge it went until Sunday. Letting the flavors mix is absolutly a must, if you have the time do it... This is an easy make ahead meal and it is terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      This is an absolutely perfect recipe. Very spicy much to our delight (so faint of heart- be cautious of the red pepper flakes). Hubby said is the best sauce he has ever had- and that was still 3 hours after dinner. We cooked for 1-2 hours- had one meatball (that we cook at 350 for the 'time'). The let it cool place in refrigerator- had the next night- OH MY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      10/10 - perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Truly the best pasta sauce I have ever made! For years I have made my mom's spaghetti sauce and it has served us well. However, I was having company for dinner recently and in the group there was one vegetarian I wanted to feed as well as everyone else. I made a double batch of this recipe, took some out for my vegetarian friend when it had simmered appropriately and then dropped in a full recipe of #69173 (Kittencals own "Italian melt in your mouth meatballs) and let it finish pretty much exactly as the recipe suggests. Served the next night with homemade spaghetti noodles and sourdough bread slathered with fresh garlic butter and had people rolling out my door at the end of the evening! I have since made another double batch of the sauce with meatballs and frozen in meal size containers for busy nights. Absolutely fantastic recipe for a fragrant, flavorful, chunky and rich textured pasta sauce. oh and the meatballs were truly "melt in your mouth"! Thanks again kittencal for another winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      There should be some legislation that declares it illegal to make on of these without the other. Seriously they are that perfect together!. It was also my lesson in why kittencal is the maestro that she is. Deeming 1/2 cup milk to be a bit too much for the meatballs (considering that there was no egg too) I cut it down and regretted it when the meatballs turned out a bit tough. I think I have learned my lesson quite well for the next time. thanks yet again for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      This sauce takes some time but it is well worth it. I made it with Kittencal's meatballs recipe and they pair perfectly with eachother. The red wine gives the sauce a great depth. I would be careful with the amount of salt I use next time that flavor intensified over the long simmering time but sugar will help balance that if you find that happens to you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      I cooked this sauce with the meatballs and it was wonderful. I even made my own homemade noodles and bread to go with it. My whole family loves it. My M.I.L. told me that I am in charge of the sauce now and she makes some killer sauce. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe. I am going to play with this a bit just because but it really is wonderful just the way it is. And next time I will make 2 seperate batches....one with spice and one without because my DD and MIL don't like spice so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Kittencal's instructions were right on the money -- as usual!! The first day, this sauce was good, but in a very average, 3-star sort of way. The next day, it had improved somewhat but was still far short of outstanding. But on Day #3, it suddenly reached the "Wowzer!" stage, exactly as promised. I added a lot more basil and oregano than called for since I was using fresh herbs. I also decreased the garlic a little and increased the red pepper flakes to suit our personal tastes. Basically, though, I followed the recipe very closely. The result was a sauce so thick and rich that even my omnivorous crew agreed it could stand alone without the addition of meat. Another big winner out of Kittencal's kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This was an exceptional spaghetti sauce! I am so glad you pointed out the recipe to me Kittencal! I did add more wine but otherwise followed your recipe. This was enjoyed by my whole family. With some garlic toast and a nice salad it was a meal to be remembered!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Holy man is this good, takes a while but is sooo worth the time. I followed the recipe exactly & would not change a thing. The pork makes this recipe so do as Kitten says & don't leave it out. After 3 days in the frig we had it with your meatballs over penne pasta & even my non-pasta loving husband said it was really good. High praise indeed. I simmered the sauce for 6 hours, did not use the optional sugar & did not add the salt as I am supposed to cut back on it. Thank you for another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I had an unsmoked pork hock and didn't know what to do with it. So......recipezaar to the rescue. I found your recipe and knew I wanted to try it out. So glad I did, it was very good. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I ove all your recipes! I come from an Italian household. My family doesnt like my mothers sauce. I made this and it was a hit! thanks! I didn't use any other meat besides the meatballs from your recipe. We are not big beef eaters! Still was great. Can't wait to try the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      OMG! This sauce is amazing. This is sauce is better than the sauce at our local fabulous italian restaurant. I just made this today so it hasn't sat in the fridge for a couple days yet but even without sitting this sauce is fantastic. I just couldn't wait to post the review. I can't wait to taste it in a couple of days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Great sauce recipe. It was completely delicious, and I am a sucker for anything with a long simmer time. As an added bonus the whole house smelled yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      This sauce was so rich and flavorful. I only made half a batch and it made LOTS! If I would of made the whole batch I would of needed to make it in a dutch oven because my large skillet was full! I didnt have a pork hock so I just threw in a couple pieces of bacon to get its flavor in. I simmered for around 4 - 5 hours. It thickened up ALOT. It almost turned into a paste so I had to add a lot more water to thin it out a bit. It turned out to be so good and flavorful without letting it marinate a day. We used it on Divine Meatball Sandwiches. I had some leftover sauce, so I froze it. Cant wait to try the rest after its marinated for awhile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Delish!! I followed the recipe exactly and DH says I'm never to buy pasta sauce from the store again. My son found it a little too spicy toward the end of the meal so I may cut down the red peppers next time. I think I'll also try adding some mushrooms next time to give it another layer of flavor. Definitely let it rest in the refrigerator...it just gets better and better. Thanks Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      I've made my sauce like this for years. People always wonder why I would use pork ribs, until they taste it. I also use Sweet Italian and Hot Italian Sausages. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Yummy! i have made this 3 times with Kittencal's melt-in-your-mouth meatballs and they are so good. DH has requested these for when family comes tomorrow. I obvisouly dont change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Outstanding! Can I give 10 stars?!?!? So simple to make! My family is raving about what a great cook I am! (I just slid your recipe into the silverware drawer!!) SShhhh! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Italian Tomato Pasta Sauce and Parmesan Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (363 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.3
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    96%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1052.2 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes