Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Italian Tomato Pasta Sauce and Parmesan Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Italian Tomato Pasta Sauce and Parmesan Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2010

      12/25/10 Update: Made this year in the crockpot after cooking onions on the stove. Topped sauce with meatballs and cooked on low for 12 hours. Fabulous. 12/25/09 Fantastic marinara sauce. I usually make Italian Meat Sauce for Pasta or Lasagna but wanted a veggie version for chick parm, so made this minus the meatball portion. Received rave reviews. I did not drain my second can of diced tomatoes, and very glad. It was a very thick sauce and I think if I had drained both cans would have been too thick, probably because of not doing the meatballs. Also omitted sugar and didn't miss it. It has made it to my best of 2009...just under the wire :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I have to add my voice to the group! Kitt, this is the best sauce! I have made this a few times now, and just love it! I make this in my slow cooker so I don't have to babysit it too much - low for 4-6 hours. The last time I made this I was completely out of red wine. I used Mirin (Japanese cooking wine) and it worked perfectly for this. However a good red wine is still best for this. I will never buy store bought sauce again! If you are looking for a little lower fat option for the meat try *Kittencal's Low-Fat Parmesan Turkey Meatballs* Delicious! Thanks Kitt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      Too strongly tomato flavoured and acidic for me. I used it with Kittencal's Italian meatballs (fantastic recipe!) and found this sauce totally overpowered her delicious meatballs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I made this 2 days before as suggested in the directions. I also made Kittencal's meatballs. I actually liked this sauce better the day it was made. It seemed a little sweet 2 days later and I didn't know how to fix that. I followed the recipe exactly so I am not sure what happened. It was okay, but I don't know that I will spend all that time and effort to make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Another satisfied customer! I made the full amount and put portions in the freezer, the taste is subtle and FULL of flavour. I made mine with fresh tomatoes and I will be making more soon - a wonderful recipe that will be my standard Italian sauce from now on! Merci Darllnk! ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Kitten - I am forever thankful for you and your recipes! My 85 year old mother had a homemade Italian spaghetti/meatball recipe which was unfortunately stored in her memory only. Mom was a TWA flight attendant back in the '40s and got this recipe from a passenger from Italy. Although mom's health and memory are still fine - recalling an exact recipe from 60+ years ago was an impossible task. I thought it was lost forever! So - I set out on a quest to attempt to find a recipe online that was as close to mom's as possible, based upon what few "clues" I recalled from watching mom make this as a teen. Those clues were: wine, sugar and bay leaves. Knowing that your recipes always rock, I started by looking through those....and BINGO! Believe it or not - this is EXACTLY the way mom's recipe tasted! Now my adult kids and their spouses have been able to taste 'real' spaghetti and have also become converts! NO other recipe will do from now on! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      What more can be said...This is absolutely delicious tomato sauce. For meatballs I had used Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs, cooked in the oven for about 20 minutes and then put them into the tomato sauce to simmer. Simmered the sauce for about 5 hours or a little more. Everything turned out yummy delicious. So glad it makes lots of sauce so I was able to freeze a few containers. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe Kitten

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Perhaps I made a mistake with the recipe, but I found it extremly hot. My family couldn't even eat it. I only used half the red pepper flakes the recipe called for and it was still WAY, WAY too spicy. Maybe if I had left it out, it would have been a good sauce. I tried adding more sugar to tone down the heat, but it didn't help. It was nice and thick though with a good flavor, but you couldn't hardly taste it for the spice. Maybe I'll try it again without the red pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2014

      I just made this today, all I can say is unbelievable! Kittencal you NEVER disappoint, I know all the recipes I get from you are wonderful. I am not a sauce person, however, I cannot stop tasting this sauce! It is so full of flavor, just fantastic. This is my first time making red sauce and I will never by jar sauce again. Thank you for sharing these wonderful recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      Perfect! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      I made this for one of my appetizers for my Christmas Eve crowd. I served it on a side roll that was buttered, sprinkled with garlic powder, and then toasted with some mozzarella cheese. It was yummy. I liked the sauce even more after it had set for a few days and we had the left overs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      Great recipe. I made it with the meatballs and both came out excellent. I found that it had a bit to much salt for my taste. next time I;ll start with 1.5 tsp and add more if needed. Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      this was soooooo good!!! thanks you for another great recipe! The meatballs were killer!!! best meatballs i've ever had :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Perfecto with your meatballs. A little too spicy for 1 of my kids. Next time I'll put red pepper on table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      I was originally going to give this recipe 3 stars but now I'm giving it 5 stars because the flavour improved IMMENSELY after sitting in the fridge for 3 days! I honestly didn't like the smell of it when I was making it, though. I thought that there was too much oregano. After I added Kittencal's meatballs to the sauce, the flavor of the oregano mellowed out a bit but it wasn't anything to rave about. I let it simmer for a few hours and then left it over night to cool. Then I put it in the fridge in the morning trying to figure out what to do with it. I'm glad it sat for several days. The meatballs became more tender and the sauce was over the top delicious. Tonight I reheated the sauce and meatballs and tossed it with penne pasta. My picky 2 and 3 year olds couldn't get enough of it! I had a second serving myself. I'm freezing the rest for my husband for when he gets back from his business trip in a few days. I will make this again (and use less oregano) and plan a few days ahead before serving. The only thing I did different is that I used fresh basil instead of dried and added it to the sauce rather than frying it with the onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This sauce is to die for good, and if I never try another recipe for sauce it won't bother me a bit, because I have found just the right one for us! Truly an awesome sauce with meatballs! I didn't add the sugar after reading the reviews and the flavor was second to none!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Delicious tender meatballs that melt in your mouth! The sauce was a little sweet, but everyone enjoyed it, hence the five stars! Served over linguine noodles, it's a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Fabulous. First rate. You've made my life long quest for the best spaghetti and meatballs recipe a reality. I can die in peace with a meatball in my mouth. Joe C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Super rich tomato sauce - simmered for 4 1/2 hours with the meatballs and it turned out wonderfully!! I omitted the red wine and added 1 can of tomato soup instead - I also added a little water - Do not pass this sauce up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Italian Tomato Pasta Sauce and Parmesan Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (363 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.3
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    96%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1052.2 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes