Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    951 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 951

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2014

      These came out perfect. The best meatballs I have ever made, actually. I used 2Tbsp of Lawry's seasoned salt, and will probably opt for another brand or non-seasoned salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      Dropping the uncooked meatballs into the sauce is the KEY. It resulted in moist, flavorful meatballs and added to the flavor of the sauce. These were fantastic and this is the way I will make meatballs from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      These were really yummy! I did brown them first as a matter of preference but didn't change anything else. I loved the flavor and the moistness and they were better the next day as leftovers. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      I made these today but had no milk and so used some extra sauce instead... yum!!!!! Baked them and then popped them into the sauce that was heavy on basil and red wine, simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      This is the best meatball recipe that I have tried. Everyone in my family loved it!!! I made them as written except that I used half ground beef and half ground Italian sausage. I also baked them in the oven before putting them into the sauce. Thanks for posting! This will be my go to meatball recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      I needed a recipe for meatballs for a party, and knew I could rely on KittenCal to come to my rescue. My only caveat was I wanted to accommodate my one gluten-free guest, without singling them out, so I had to substitute the bread crumbs in this recipe. If you cook GF all the time, you probably already have a go-to solution for this, but I really only need to go GF on the rarest of occasions, such as this event. At any rate, I came upon a safe alternative* by pulsing some organic whole grain oats (oatmeal) in the food processor until they were the consistency of bread crumbs, then substituted them in equal measure. I also increased the milk ever so slightly. The result was *maybe* a little more "solid" of a meatball than I would have liked, but it seemed to have little to no effect on the flavor. In fact, of all my party foods for the evening, the meatballs (in Appetizer Grape Jelly and Chili Sauce Meatballs or Lil Smokies) were the ONLY dish to completely disappear! Everyone raved about them, several asked for the recipe. I think next time to alleviate the texture issue, I may go for a ground beef with a slightly higher fat content (I'd used 90/10), and perhaps cut back a bit on the oats as they do tend to absorb a lot of the moisture. But other than that, it was (as I expected!!) smooth sailing and a great result. *NOTE: for me it was a "safe alternative" because my guest does not suffer from celiac disease, but merely suffers from upper respiratory congestion when consuming gluten. if you need a truly GF alternative, be sure to pick up some CERTIFIED GLUTEN FREE whole oats to use in your meatballs [but you likely already knew that. I'm just sayin' for those of us that aren't fully aware.]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      I fixed these for supper,with pasta and garlic bread.They r wonderful.I followed the recipe,except i pan fried my meat balls,til browned on both sides,then stuck them in the oven,pour a can of spaghetti sauce over them and cooked for about 20 minutes on 350.Turned them once and popped them back in the over for 15 minutes.I think next time,i will add more spices,but overall,delicious,ty for the recipe:))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

    • on January 04, 2014

      Amazing meatballs! I made this recipe with ground turkey.......D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      Another 5 stars from this family. I liked the idea of cooking these in the sauce, which saved another dirty dish. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

    • on December 15, 2013

      These literally do melt in your mouth. Great flavor with the parm. I had to add a bit more bread crumbs to get them to stick together but otherwise, this is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2013

      Meatballs were great. The first time I used seasoned bread crumbs and it had too many different spices, liked much better with plain bread crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      Great recipe. I use fresh oregano and didn't need the milk as my ground beef was a little fatty. I made both hamburger patties and meatballs - which I stuffed with a little cheddar. Made all ahead - they froze, defrosted and cooked up beautifully. The burgers were very tasty and juicy. I used the meatballs in your tomato sauce recipe over pasta. A great make-ahead recipe - thank you Kittencal :) Update: I made a huge faux pas and defrosted my frozen burgers prior to baking and ended up with a soggy mess! Will try baking the next batch from frozen :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Delicious with or without sauce. I made these last night w/ Kittencal's pasta sauce. Not all of them fit into the sauce pan so about a dozen were baked in the oven. Both were moist and tasty for kids and adults. We made our gluten free (gf bread processed into crumbs) and dairy free (Daiya mozarella shreds) due to food allergies. Best meatballs recipe we've tried yet. Will no longer seek out new recipes for meatballs. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      yummy yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      I made several modifications for taste and because certain things I didn't have at home. For taste instead of salt I used 1 1/2 seasoned salt. I used 1 pound ground beef and 1/2 pound Italian breakfast sausage (because I wanted to try this combo for meatballs). I used 1 1/2 garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon basil because I didn't have any oregano. I also added about 2 tablespoons of chopped onions. I then used 2 teaspoons of dried parsley because I had no fresh. I baked them for 20 minutes at 350. Then I put them in the sauce. Before putting them in the sauce, I tried a small one. It was delicious. It was the best meatball I ever had. You may say I changed the whole recipe. What was changed was the flavor, but the moist comes from the right amount of meat, milk, cheese, breadcrumbs and eggs; Which is what I was looking for. Now I have a meatball recipe that's edible and moist. I was tempted to not put them in the sauce. The are not dry at all. Thanks...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      These were wonderful! I used one pound beef, and half of a pound of venison pork sausage, panko for the bread crumbs and Parmesan out of the little green canister! I baked them then covered with sauce and baked a bit longer. Perfect for our meatball sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      Yum. Family loved, hate that I can't drain the grease.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2013

      Well Kittencal you've done it again (as if there were any doubt :) ) My DH loves meatballs with his spaghetti - me, I don't care for meatballs and never make them, but he's been bugging me for a loooooong time to make meatballs for him - when I found your recipe I knew it would be excellent, and it is - even I ate them. Thank you again for being such a wonderful chef and sharing your recipes with the rest of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (928 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1312.5
     
    Calories from Fat 757
    57%
    Total Fat 84.1 g
    129%
    Saturated Fat 34.9 g
    174%
    Cholesterol 469.3 mg
    156%
    Sodium 2615.6 mg
    108%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 107.1 g
    214%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes