Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    949 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 949

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2010

      These really are amazing! I come from a large Italian family and it's frowned upon to use anything other than the "old family recipe", which frankly, wasn't very good! Everyone I've made these for (including my dad who still compares everything to his mom's cooking) were skeptical, especially about putting the meatballs in the sauce raw, but they were instant converts after dinner was served! My entire extended family claims these are the best meatballs they've ever had. And that's actually a little funny since I also used turkey instead of beef, which the men in my family generally refuse to eat because they claim ground turkey tastes like cardboard. However, they loooved these even after I fessed up! I've made them using just ground turkey, and when I can find it, I use turkey sausage as well. I also use store bought sauce (another sin in my family!)because it's easier, and the sauce ends up tasting so great that no one has ever complained! My aunts now think I may not be such a failure in the kitchen after all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      I made these meatballs up early this morning following the recipe exactly except I added 1 small onion chopped finely into the meatball mixture. I popped them in the crock pot and added 1 can tomato sauce and 1 can chopped tomatoes and juice. I added onion powder, garlic, Italian seasoning, salt and freshly ground black pepper. I cooked on high for about 1 1/2 hrs. to bring it to a boil, then lowered it to low for another 7 hrs. The meatballs were delicious and so tender and yummy. They are easy to throw together and the crock pot didn't heat up the house! Thank you for sharing this winner of a recipe Carol. I can't wait to share the recipe with my family! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Awesome - If I could have given this recipe 15 stars I probably would have. Only deviation I made was I put a small cube of mozzarella cheese in the middle before I baked them. My family scarfed them up. They raved they were the best meatballs ever. Will be making again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Very good recipe, my family flipped over this meal. My only issue is that if you cook the meatballs in the sauce you must use a higher grade ground beef like 93/7 otherwise the sauce will be very greasy. Just my two cents worth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      I did basically EVERYTHING wrong in attempting to assemble these, yet they STILL turned out to taste like pure heaven! I seem to have garnished a terribly bad habit of not following measurements, at all (generally because I mostly cook for just myself, and the scaling can be unnerving), so I'm positive that I used too much of one thing, and not enough of the other. I also went the severly-slacking route and heated some doctored-up jarred pasta sauce, but HOT DANG! these were (and still are, after having been frozen and thawed) the most moist, flavorful meatballs that I have EVER tasted. I honestly still cannot believe that I made them, myself. Thank you so much, kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I think this is the best thing i've made from a recipezaar recipe!!! The meatballs are so juicy and savory. And they are incredibly easy to make! I will definitely be making these meatballs frequently :) YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      I baked my meatballs in the oven then added them to the sauce. I taste tested one before they all went in the sauce, and it was delicious. So, moist...not chewy at all. Now I'm hard-pressed to keep my mind off the meatballs (simmering on the stove-top) and that wonderful Italian Meatball sub I'll be enjoying for supper in a couple of hours. No more searching for the "perfect" meatball recipe. I've found it. Many thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      I have made these so many times I don't even have to refer the recipe or even measure ingredients anymore. I cant believe I haven't reviewed them until now. They are super yummy!! I always bake them or do a quick pan fry as my family prefers them a little crispy. Either way they are magically delicious and well worth making over and over again! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      I used one pound of ground beef and half a pound of Italian sausage. Great texture and the cheese mixed into the meatballs made them really good. I baked my meatballs to drain off some of the fat. It made a big batch, so I froze the leftover meatballs and will try simmering them in pasta sauce to reheat them. I can see this being my go-to meatball recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Awesome! I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 pound italian sausage, 2 1/2 pounds hamburger. I also used dried minced garlic, fresh oregano and parm/asiago cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      My Italian husband said they were the best meatballs he had ever had! I made a double batch and used 1 lb lean ground beef and 1 lb sweet Italian sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Perfecto!!!! Made with your sauce. Hubby's asked if I'd be making it again tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Very good meatballs. I halved the salt and in place of milk I had heavy cream to use up. Worked great. I baked the meatballs for 25 minutes and then cooled and froze them individually on a cookie sheet and then put them into Zip style bags in the freezer. Love the fresh parsley. Next time I think I'll use a little fresh basil, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Very good with jo mamas getti!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      Excellent recipe a juicy and tender meatball. The only change I made was to stuff them with a cube of provolone cheese. Recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Really, really good! I baked the meatballs in the oven to save time. I used all ground beef and italian flavored bread crumbs. Thanks for another amazing and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      I froze these overnight and them put them in the crock pot with some spegetti sauce in the morning. My family said that these were the best meatballs ever!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Kittencal reminds me of an episode of Emeril, where Emeril tastes his dish to test for seasoning adjustments, turns to the camera and says, Might try doing this for a living, or something along that line. Any newbies reading this be aware, Kittencal means business. Personally, I did a 2/3 beef to 1/3 sausage, sweet italian, and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! Added a little extra garlic because our family LOVES garlic and substituted masa flour for the breadcrumbs to make this gluten-free. Besides that, followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      I decided to fry/cook the meatballs on the stovetop first and let them brown on each side. Then I removed the meatballs and sautéed some chopped onions in the grease. Drained the excess grease and then simmered some canned spaghetti sauce before adding the meatballs. It was my first time making meatballs, and they turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 48

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (928 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1312.5
     
    Calories from Fat 757
    57%
    Total Fat 84.1 g
    129%
    Saturated Fat 34.9 g
    174%
    Cholesterol 469.3 mg
    156%
    Sodium 2615.6 mg
    108%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 107.1 g
    214%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites