24 Reviews

I made this stock right after Christmas, could not pass up the inexpensive turkeys. I like to use as much of everything that I can. When I came across your recipe I thought that is so interesting, I never thought of roasting the caucus first with all the veggies the carcass looked so horrid next to all the veggies. After making the stock that smelled wonderful I froze it. So this is why the delay on the review. I just made cream of turnkey soup #115086 so here is my review. This is the best turkey stock that I have ever made. Bare with me most of you have seen Charlie and the Chocolate factory where little violet disobeys and chews the gum that has an entire dinner rolled up in one piece of chewing gum. Well this stock tastes like you are eating the entire Thanksgiving dinner rolled up in one, it has a wonderful roasted turkey flavor that is sublime! Recipe Zaar needs to add a sixth golden star for out of this world flavor this recipe deserves it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia February 06, 2009

Easy to follow. My first attempt at homemade broth turned out great.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can Cook January 24, 2010

Awesome recipe. I added a few more vegys that I had collecting in the freezer. I love the rich & tasty broth it makes. Thanks for sharing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 December 26, 2009

This makes delicious broth! It's flavorful and hearty. I used our leftover Thanksgiving turkey carcass, left in the aromatics that were cooked inside the turkey (rosemary, sage, cinnamon stick, apple, and red onion), and added two bay leaves, more fresh sage, fresh rosemary, about 7 garlic cloves, baby carrots, celery, and a whole onion with the skin on (to color the broth). I just made a lemon turkey soup (Lemon Chicken Rice Soup) with it tonight, and it is amazing. Great directions Kittencal - thank you for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Idealyst84 December 01, 2010

I loved how the roasting of the bones brought out the flavor and it was no trouble at all! After I refrigerated overnight, I skimmed off the fat and vacummed sealed the broth/stock and put it in my freezer. Perfect for soups, chowders and gravys all year long!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 December 03, 2009

This makes a WONDERFUL broth.. I remember my mother using the roasting method for her beef and barley soup, roasting the beef bones she got from the butcher. The only change I would make is to roast the bones and veggies (in batches) in the stock pot (mine is cast iron), so as not to lose any of the oils from the veggies or "brown bits" from the meat in the roasting process. Thanks for the recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan_caroll December 01, 2009

Delicous! I agree, this is definetly a keeper. For years I followed my moms turkey carcas stock recipe & I honestly thought that it couldn`t get better then hers...but it just did!!! Shhh don`t tell her I said that LOL Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chellelyru October 14, 2009

Wow this is a keeper. I used my turkey carcass from Thanksgiving and all the ingredients with the exception of the garlic as I didn't have any fresh on hand. I can't wait to make it next time with the garlic. Roasting the carcass with the vegetables really does make a difference and adds depth to the stock and my soup. Great recipe and will be using this one for future stock.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather in Ont, October 13, 2009

I used a chicken carcass but followed the directions as written. Great flavor and color. I now have 16 c. of stock in the freezer to be used in future recipes. Thank you so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 08, 2009

I make my own stock often, but thought I would give this method a try. I can't believe the difference in flavor and colour! Thanks for sharing Kittencal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Az B December 29, 2008
Kittencal's Homemade Deep Rich Turkey Stock/Broth