Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Homemade Deep Rich Turkey Stock/Broth Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Homemade Deep Rich Turkey Stock/Broth

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2009

      I made this stock right after Christmas, could not pass up the inexpensive turkeys. I like to use as much of everything that I can. When I came across your recipe I thought that is so interesting, I never thought of roasting the caucus first with all the veggies the carcass looked so horrid next to all the veggies. After making the stock that smelled wonderful I froze it. So this is why the delay on the review. I just made cream of turnkey soup #115086 so here is my review. This is the best turkey stock that I have ever made. Bare with me most of you have seen Charlie and the Chocolate factory where little violet disobeys and chews the gum that has an entire dinner rolled up in one piece of chewing gum. Well this stock tastes like you are eating the entire Thanksgiving dinner rolled up in one, it has a wonderful roasted turkey flavor that is sublime! Recipe Zaar needs to add a sixth golden star for out of this world flavor this recipe deserves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Easy to follow. My first attempt at homemade broth turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Awesome recipe. I added a few more vegys that I had collecting in the freezer. I love the rich & tasty broth it makes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      This makes delicious broth! It's flavorful and hearty. I used our leftover Thanksgiving turkey carcass, left in the aromatics that were cooked inside the turkey (rosemary, sage, cinnamon stick, apple, and red onion), and added two bay leaves, more fresh sage, fresh rosemary, about 7 garlic cloves, baby carrots, celery, and a whole onion with the skin on (to color the broth). I just made a lemon turkey soup (Lemon Chicken Rice Soup) with it tonight, and it is amazing. Great directions Kittencal - thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      I loved how the roasting of the bones brought out the flavor and it was no trouble at all! After I refrigerated overnight, I skimmed off the fat and vacummed sealed the broth/stock and put it in my freezer. Perfect for soups, chowders and gravys all year long!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      This makes a WONDERFUL broth.. I remember my mother using the roasting method for her beef and barley soup, roasting the beef bones she got from the butcher. The only change I would make is to roast the bones and veggies (in batches) in the stock pot (mine is cast iron), so as not to lose any of the oils from the veggies or "brown bits" from the meat in the roasting process. Thanks for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Delicous! I agree, this is definetly a keeper. For years I followed my moms turkey carcas stock recipe & I honestly thought that it couldn`t get better then hers...but it just did!!! Shhh don`t tell her I said that LOL Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Wow this is a keeper. I used my turkey carcass from Thanksgiving and all the ingredients with the exception of the garlic as I didn't have any fresh on hand. I can't wait to make it next time with the garlic. Roasting the carcass with the vegetables really does make a difference and adds depth to the stock and my soup. Great recipe and will be using this one for future stock.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I used a chicken carcass but followed the directions as written. Great flavor and color. I now have 16 c. of stock in the freezer to be used in future recipes. Thank you so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I make my own stock often, but thought I would give this method a try. I can't believe the difference in flavor and colour! Thanks for sharing Kittencal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      Smells amazing. I can't wait to use this in many recipes. I think I will do the same thing to make chicken stock too. Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      This was absolutely fabulous! Best stock I've ever made. I'm so glad that I listened to you and browned it all first. The flavor is just delicious. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

    • on December 06, 2008

      I have always been a huge fan of Kittencal's recipes. I made this recipe for the turkey stock and loved the smell of the roasting carcass and then having it continue while making the stock. This was great! Thank you again Kittencal for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      As always, an awesome recipe. Roasting the carcass and veggies really made the stock smell and taste great. I can't wait to make soup from this stock. Thanks for another keepere!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      It is a deep family tradition to make turkey soup with the leftover carcass from Thanksgiving. What's brilliant here is the roasting method of the carcass & vegetables before making the stock. I will always use this step from now on & will pass it along through my family. My ingredient list is very similar: +sprig of fresh parsley, +2 bay leaves, no garlic (too strong; I really like the Turkey taste to come through cleanly), +ground pepper. For the soup we add the meat from the carcass (always way more than you think), separately cooked acini di pepe, & the onions, celery, & carrot are left in rather than discarded. I also take a cup of the stock out, run it through a sieve into an ice cube tray to freeze individual stock cubes for cooking with. Leftovers of the soup freeze well too for at least 6 months. Thanks Kittencal for bringing the roasting method to this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This is how I have always make my chicken/turkey stock, with the exception of caramelizing the onion first. Excellent addition of flavor. Will make that step part of my routine from now on. Added the garlic to the onions at the end of the onion caramelizing step, as well. Then put all in the pressure cooker for 35 minutes. After cooling, I do remove the bones with a slotted spoon, returning the meat to the pot. I do not strain the stock, leaving the residual onion, meat and garlic within. Makes such an excellent broth. No carcass is ever discarded in our house and the freezer is full of stock for many uses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I love the smell when this is cooking! I made the stock tonight and will freeze it in the morning when it's set. I also added a bunch of parsley stems. Thanks! Made for your tagathon. Get well soon! (((HUGS)))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Your gravy recipe is easy and very delicious. Thanks for this foolproof one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Homemade Deep Rich Turkey Stock/Broth

    Serving Size: 1 (4248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 16.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    71%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 23.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    turkey carcass

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes